We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Bahia Lodge
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Lisbon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but can be better”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Pestana Bahia Lodge is a new and beautiful building next to the old Pestana Bahia. So all the reviews that almost scared me, claiming that this is an old and decaying hotel, don't apply here (I must say that I only saw the old Pestana on the outside and the common areas like pool and restaurants seemed quite old and asking for a rapid intervention from the managing, so probably these reviewers were right...).
In the new building however I found myself in a beatiful loft with an amazing view from the balcony. The decoration is a bit cold and even here signs of passage of time are starting to appear and for a place with 6 years it could be much better. The breakfast is perfect though! You get to eat in a quite small restaurant over the sea and by the pool, listening to quiet Brasilian music while you eat a very good food (try the cheese tapiocas, the best I had in my 3 weeks in Brazil, and believe me I had a lot!). For me this was the top of the hotel.
Staff in reception is regular and I can't say I had the most warming arrival or check out ever. Also one day I arrived at my room by 17h and it had not been cleaned.
About location the hotel is located just next to the Mercure and the Ibis hotels, in a quiet and nice neighborhood with some nice places to eat nearby. It is a 30 minute taxi drive to the city center though. I used taxi only once and did the rest of my journeys by bus (there is a stop about 200 meters from the hotel), what I thought I was safe by day.
At the end I was quite happy with the hotel, although I think somethings like service, maintenance and cleaning could definitely improve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ullises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidónio d, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Pestana XXX Hotel and for the feedback regarding your last stay with us. We were very sorry to learn that you experienced some inconveniences. In the meantime, your comments helped us to identify and improve the mentioned deficiencies. Hoping to welcome you back soon, so that you can fully enjoy the hotels facilities and services, we remain grateful for your understanding.

Kindest Regards,
Sidónio de Freitas Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    407
    334
    186
    166
See reviews for
387
406
57
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Only good thing about this hotel is the view!
Rooms are old, staff couldnt be any more rude, there arent enough sits on restaurants for breakfast...
My experience was even worse: i came to Salvador for working purposes and despote being ery clear on the need for internet connection available they put me in a room with very poor wireless signal.
Staff was really rude and lazy on the internet situation and also on any other interaction i had.
During breakfast, not only i had to switch restaurants without any help due to lack of tables available in one restaurant, but also there were several dirty tables in the other one due to the lazyness of the staff. I had to have my breakfast on a dirty table since no one would appear to clean it up.
Last, but not least, was the rusty shower that did not allow me to control water pressure and temperature. I had to take extremely hot showers and water pressure was either too weal or too strong that hurt the skin.
Dont stay here!!! This hotel doesnt worth the fortune it costs and will make of your trip to salvador, either if it is for vacations or for work, a hell!!!!
:(

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clthiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidónio d, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Bahia Lodge, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. Your opinion is of great importance to us, as it helps us to monitor our performance and improve our services. Experiences like those you described are not part of our company service standards. For our better understanding, and to be able to take the necessary corrective measures, we would appreciate if you could contact me on the following e-mail address: quality.pestanabahia@pestana.com, and share more details regarding your stay. We remain most grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back, and to offering you the service you expected to find.

Best regards,

Sidónio de Freitas Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salvador hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in early October. Got an excellent price on hotelclub.com.au. Room was fabulous, big loft room with 2 big TV's 2 bathrooms and a balcony with views to die for. All the staff were friendly, breakfast was great - by far the best we had in Brazil.
There are quite a few eating options within an easy walk of the hotel. I absolutely loved Salvador - in fact my favourite place in Brazil and would definitely stay here again when I come back to Salvador ( which I will ).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleDazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidónio d, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Lodge as your destination, and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Sidónio de Freitas Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
0.7 mi away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#20 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#27 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
3.6 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo
Pestana Convento do Carmo
#28 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#30 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Bahia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bahia Lodge

Property: Pestana Bahia Lodge
Address: Rua da Fonte do Boi 216 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-360, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pestana Bahia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Bahia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bahia Salvador
Hotel Pestana Bahia
Pestana Bahia Lodge Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing