We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort and quiet”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel is very welcoming, clean and with a wonderful view over the sea, including a small private beach (guarded by a security). The hotel staff is very professional and friendly and the breakfasts are an unforgettable experience, beginning and ending in the landscape and typical dishes of Bahia, as the exotic fruit juices, the hot cheese rolls and the 'beiju' (tapioca pancakes with chocolate, coconut or cheese) made by a Bahian dressed rigorously and very nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex0103072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    1,036
    240
    46
    22
See reviews for
393
761
176
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel was nice. The rooms were a bit bland, tiny and not extremely cozy, but it was perfect for a weekend trip. Was working in Sao Paulo for three weeks and came here for a weekend and since I didn't spend too much time in the room anyways, the hotel was just fine. The pool was awesome, felt like you were on a cliff in the water on a beautiful beach. Breakfast buffet was good as well. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. Went to a beach recommended by the staff that was about a 10 minute bus ride away which was tons of fun - filled with locals who were very friendly! Hotel was definetly a good value and would recommend if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lea5834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I traveled to Salvador in February for Carnival. I went with my cousin to party and we got a room at the hotel!
The hotel is afortable, comfortable, cozy and the more important: very clean. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, specially after getting back from more than 12 hour non stop party dayly.
All I needed was to get into that beautiful pool and admire the fantastic view! I must say it. The view is really impressive. I am actually thinking about going back just because of it. Plus, we had all kinds of these tropical drinks with exotic fruits and there were these cute girls laying by the pool as well, so perfect.
Well, even if you are a couple, or a solo traveller I would recommend you the hotel due to its fair price and the amazing view. There is no mistake if you want to go to Salvador.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeMarco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel will not disapoint you. Here you will find the most professional and kind staff you can ever expect. My compliments to the chef. I tried many dishes at the restaurant, and I was delighted with each meal. The exceptional service of the restaurant staff complemented my dinning experience.
The hotel is very well managed, with highly trained members. The place is extremely clean, the rooms are comfortable and beautiful.
The breakfast service offers a great variety of typical brazilian cheeses, breads, cakes and tropical fruits.
My stay at Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho was remarkable, and I am very grateful too all it's staff members.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibrianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I´ve been here for a couple of days, in a Deluxe room, and it´s great, perfect AC, great beds, huge TV, plenty of closet space, and a useful desk facing the window so I can see the ocean and palm trees. Internet service is included, they don´t have wifi, but provide an internet cable. It is a small hotel so you see more people walking around, but is still quite private. The gym is well equipped, they have and infinity pool and serve drinks in cute green coconuts, the pool area is small, so you end up right next to .. everyone, but as most guest are brazilian no one seems to mind. The service is very good, and everyone is extremely friendly. There are always taxis outside (with meters) and a doubledecker tourism bus (Salvador bus) comes around every few hours. There is a free shuttle service to Salvador Shopping and many small shops and pharmacies close by. Room service hasn´t been to my liking, but the minifridge is pretty big so you can fill it up with other things. There is a small beach, that fills up with fishermen in the morning, but later in the day some guest give it a try. 220V

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed at the Mercure for three nights in September to sightsee in Salvador and to enjoy some pool-time. It's around a 30min drive from the airport and the same from the old town.

We booked a superior room with an ocean view and the view was the best part of the hotel. It's situated right on the coastline alongside the Ibis hotel and very close to the Pestana. You overlook the pool and the crashing surf from the room window. There are small beaches on either side but these were not especially inviting and empty when we were there. The pool area was nice with plenty of sunbeds but no drinks service or other amenities.

The hotel itself is typical Mercure. The room was small and brightly furnished - perfectly comfortable but nothing special. The reception staff were unwelcoming and apart from them, very little English was spoken. It was tough to even order a cup of tea in the bar one afternoon - our fault for not learning Portuguese but surprising nonetheless for a hotel serving the tourist trade if indeed that's what it intends to do? When we were there the hotel seemed to be mostly used by conference and meeting delegates. There was no tourist information on display and our request for information on tours seemed to meet almost with surprise.

Breakfast was quite good with a wide choice, but service was lethargic, tables were not always clean and you didn't really want to linger.

The hotel is in a strange area. It's quite busy, lots of traffic, and didn't feel 100% safe to us the first time we walked out looking for a restaurant - although we became more comfortable with it as the days passed. We ate dinner in the Pestana one night - they offered a good buffet for apx BrR45 per person - after a disappointing club sandwich in the Mercure on our first night we didn't want to eat there again.

We also took the complimentary 'Salvador Shopping' shuttle to a mall apx 30 mins away. There's enough shops there to fill a couple of hours of your time if that's your thing.

Overall there was nothing really bad about this hotel and for a couple of days it's probably fine. Next time I think I'd stay in the old town for more atmosphere - or head out to Costa de Saupe for a better choice of more upscale accommodation.

  • Liked — Pool area and view of the ocean
  • Disliked — Lack of welcome
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

There are not many good hotels in Salvador and many of them are quite far away from the city centre. I think this is a very good option there. It is very new, modern, clean and with a beatiful swimming pool. The luxury rooms has a very nice view of the ocean and it is not a big diference. The location is quite convenient because it is not far from all the attrations and also you have a lot of buses and if you use a taxi for less than 20 "reais" you can get everyplace (pelourinho, cool restaurants....)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nacho280472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Golden Tulip Salvador
#27 of 111 in Salvador
1,220 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#29 of 111 in Salvador
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Gale Salvador
#22 of 111 in Salvador
1,469 reviews
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,341 reviews
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho

Property: Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Address: Rua da Fonte do Boi 215 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-360, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#3 Business Hotel in Salvador
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#9 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel offering 175 rooms. The Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho hotel is located 15 km from the city center and 20 km from Luiz Eduardo Magalhaes airport. The hotel features a restaurant, two bars, a business center and Internet connectivity. Additional features include a fitness center, pilates classes, swimming pool and parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho Hotel Salvador
Accor Salvador Rio Vermelho
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing