We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad smell of humidity in the rooms - the towels, the sheets, the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very bad smell of humidity in the rooms - the towels, the sheets, the room”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Good location if you want to stay close to the airport - not good for tourism.

Despite a nice hotel the rooms smell horrible with a mold and humidity smell... the bed liners, the towles, and even your clothes smell mold - next time will try another hotel.. would not stay again here

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiselaPinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    789
    110
    25
    13
See reviews for
597
420
48
786
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Nice comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. Slow internet is free. Location was convenient for work and did not use the guest services.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surret
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Not a bad place to stay - it used to be the Sofitel and a lot of taxi drivers still know it as such. English is spoken by the reception staff but not by many others.

Clean comfortable room, lovely pool that was not crowded - plenty of sunbeds, great gym which can get crowded as it's not only for hotel guests, 350m running/walking track, nice lobby bar with some nice staff - a few who speak English.

Nice breakfast with all the usual stuff - egg station, bacon, sausges (no baked beans, tomatoes or hash browns though), pastries, cakes, cold meats, cheese, lots of healthy eating options and plenty of fruit, yoghurts etc.

Breakfast is served from 6am - 10am but don't leave it till the last minute as staff begin to clear away VERY promptly. If you are sitting down already you will get a few minutes warning to let you know that they will be clearing away soon.

Location - it was fine for us, but it is miles away from the Barra or Pelhourino districts - it would be about R$70 - R$80 in a taxi. This didn't bother us as we had already visited those areas.

There are a few restaurants in the area but not many (we went to Boi Preto which cost R$44 in a taxi - the hotel has vouchers for a free drink for this and other restaurants). There is a small area of restuarants in a nearby square (not walking distance though) and taxis can be expensive especially from the hotel - it would be very difficult to flag down a regular taxi anywhere near the hotel.

There is a petrol station within walking distance that has a ATM and a small shop with cold drinks/beers etc if you can't afford the hotel prices!!

There is a small beach nearby with a few beach bars which do beer and simple food only during the day.

A taxi to the airport was R$39. Gin and tonic was R$16. Burger and chips R$17. Pizza R$23. Beer R$6. Coke R$4.50.

Free wi-fi, but this is terminated as soon as you check out, which would only be a problem if you have a very late flight - we argued with reception and got it re-instated! Any late check out (up to about 6/7pm) will cost half a days rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliaicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel Deville is located close to the International Airport from Salvador da Bahia (10 minutes drive by car).There is no noise from airplanes .The hotel is not located on the beachfront.There is a golfcourse around the hotelgrounds and the beach is one block behind the golfcourse.
You can walk to the beach in 5 minutes.the beach is nice and there are some places ,where you can eat and rest. The people told us not to go walking at the beach after sunset-not safe!
The hotel is a good mixture of Business- and Leisurehotel.There are 9 floors,the rooms are spacious and each room has a balcony.After a longdistance flight the best experience is a confortable bed and peaceful sleep- that´s what we got.That might be a reason why a german airline has there crewmembers sleeping in this hotel. The garden is tropical and there is enough space for everyone around the pool.In the week they offer massage open air next to the pool.
The frontdesk is very friendly and supportive and speaks english, which is not always the case in Brazil.The Deville has a nice restaurant -pretty terrace- with a mix of brazilian and international cuisine.
While I was planning our stay in Salvador ,I wasn't sure if it would be better to stay in the old town of Salvador or close to the airport. We enjoyed our decision: the hotels can arrange shuttles to the oldtown and there even is a free shuttle to the biggest shoppingcenter of salvador.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My experience of the hotel previously known as Sofitel Salvador is tainted by the fact that I know the operations manager and was awarded at least a small amount of VIP status – or rather, my daughter received chocolates every night and we got a very good, quiet room on one of the top floors at a very fair price.

But I think we were not so “VIP” that everyone did anything really different from their routine service – and what I found was excellent service.

Why stay?

Very nice landscaping, good area for kids. Pool is nice (not great), though could be better filtered.
Well-served breakfast, included in most rates. A little inconsistent on tapiocas, but not anything serious.
Great bathroom – shower, not bath tub, but very strong shower, easy to operate. Very adequate bathroom products. Cleanliness is evident.
For me location was great – we wanted a place close to Salvador, but also close to the airport and to the touristic area north of Salvador. We had a rental car and parking was not charged.
Restaurant has excellent dinner menu – a bit of Brazilian “fusion” cuisine. Quantities are very adequate for not-too-hungry an individual. Price is high, but reasonable considering the level of the cuisine.
Some animals running freely really attractive to some kids - iguanas, peacocks, ducks - though some children afraid, my daughter loved it. I had unusual of stepping on an iguana, but it didn't get too scared.

Why not stay?

For some guests the distance from traditional tourism areas is a downside – public transportation is not plentiful near the hotel and requires a bit of a walk. Any taxi ride to Pelourinho or Barra not cheap - between R$ 70 and R$ 80 (over US$ 30).
Though lobby has cozy areas, hotel seems more a business hotel, which may put off some guests.
Prices of mini-bar and room service perhaps the norm for the level of the hotel, but it is off-putting. Fires at R$ 20 at pool also much more than I would usually pay anywhere else.
Though it’s great to have free wi-fi covering all of the hotel, signal was very inconsistent most of the time, so it lead to more frustration than satisfaction.
Pool at times had some people in swim class who were not guests.
Sauna not attractive.
TV signal not always consistent and unfortunately ESPN not included, so missed some great American football during bowls and last rounds of NFL.

Unfortunately most of the time not enough children to fairly judge work of kid entertainment team, but my daughter had her first experience fishing in the pond near the pool area, which makes for a strong positive memory.

Recommendation for those who carry a notebook – ask for one of the rooms with a new safe, which easily holds a laptop. Maybe, by the time you stay at this hotel, this will already be in all rooms. During my stay, it was only on 8th floor rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielBrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I have spent 3 nights with my husband at this hotel. It has been bought by Deville group Last month and they have already refurbished everything. It is now a very nice 5 star resort.
The restaurants are great, all the staff, the leisure areas and the gym, not to mention that it stays just 2 blocks away from the beach.
It is located just 15 min from the airport and about 40 minutes drive from Salvador downtown. Since the best beaches are located nearby the hotel (Flamengo, Itapuã and Stella Mares). I recomend anyone to stay away from Salvador downtown because it is not a really safe area. It is nice to spend a day visiting, but that is all. The best places in Bahia are not there, believe me! Go to The beaches I have mentioned above, plus Morro de São Paulo, Praia do Forte...
It is worth the visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbeduschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My trip to Salvador on the 22nd of August started off with a disaster; I missed my flight to Sao Paulo in Paris and spent the time in Charles de Gaulle airport changing arrangements to meet friends, transfer flights and hotels. I finally arrived after 38 hours travelling. We stayed at the hotel Vila Gale in Ondina for the 1st night. We arrived at night and, although we knew the sea was outside our window, it was not until the next morning when we opened the curtains to be greeted by a spectacular view of the Atlantic and the rocky coast below. Excellent hotel but no beach. We transferred to the Sofitel in Itapua. Again excellent hotel at reasonable price with an excellent pool and park (there was a 9 hole golf course as well but I wouldn't recommend this - perhaps as I am from Scotland, I have been spoiled for golf courses!).
To begin with, we found the nightlife poor. Monday and Tuesday nights we found it difficult to find anywhere open after midnight. Apparently not a party town! This luckily changed towards the end of the week and I would recommend 2 places - Bambarra, a bar/restaurante with "musica ao vivo" not far from Rio Vermelho and Santissima, another bar/restaurante/"casa de show" near Itapua. The night we visited Santissima was an amazing night. We ordered the seafood platter which was excellent although a little expensive at R$120 for 2. However, the capoeira show at Santissima was superb. This was not a simple supper show but a very professional, energetic and incredible event. I have paid good money to watch similar shows, for example, at the Edinburgh Festival but this was more engrossing, authentic and breath-taking. Definitely not to be missed.
Itapua is around a 40 minute drive to the historic centre (Pelourinho). It is still a must to visit however be prepared to be badgered constantly by trinket salesmen and persistent offers to act as guides. Walking round the "cidade baixa" (Mercado Modelo) was tough going and we rode the Elevador Lacerdo up to Pelourinho and strolled around for a couple of hours. After a poor lunch (unless you know somewhere specific in the area, it would appear difficult to eat well), we headed down the Barra do Farol to do a bit more sight-seeing. The lighthouse is worth a visit but R$15 entrance was a bit much - small museum, not much more of a view from inside than walking around the outside.
We were not huge fans of the city beaches, rocky in places, hard-sell by kiosk people. We found the "praia de Flamengo" (approx. 15 minutes by taxi from Itapua) and this was a much better location - wide, open and Atlantic facing, local families and beach vendors (distinctly more relaxed than the city!). The kiosks close around 6pm because after dark, the area is not the safest. However, to spend the day on a beach like this was a treat.
On our last day, we had arranged an excursion to Morro de Sao Paulo, an island in the Salvador bay. From the cidade baixa, it was a 2 hour crossing and a bit boring - take something to read as once the coastline disappears from view, there is not much else to do. Morro de Sao Paulo itself is beautiful. A small town up from the jetty with sand streets and porters with wheelbarrows with "taxi" written on them. We went to the second beach on the island (no names, just numbers - "praia segunda"). Lovely beach, soft clean sand and nice spot to spend a relaxing time.
Overall, Salvador is much more than just the historic centre. To get the best out of it, it is best to explore the coastline from Barra do Farol up to Flamengo.

Helpful?
2 Thank merward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,057 reviews
Catussaba Resort Hotel
#40 of 111 in Salvador
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deville Prime Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deville Prime Salvador

Property: Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Address: Rua Passargada, Salvador, State of Bahia 41620-430, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Itapua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#1 Business Hotel in Salvador
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#5 Family Hotel in Salvador
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#5 Green Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Deville Prime Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands out for being amid a park with a large green area and its beautiful architecture integrates totally with the natural beauty, the lawns, the lakes, native vegetation, trees and birds. It is also strategically located, one block away from the famous beach of Itapua, close to some of the best beaches in the city and only 15 minutes away from the Salvador International Airport. 02 children up to 12 year stay for FREE at same room (only for double twin beds rooms) as parents, the hotel does not provide extra beds. Check in from 2 pm Check out until 12 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deville Prime Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deville Salvador Hotel Salvador
Sofitel Salvador
Salvador Sofitel
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing