We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pousada, our highlight of Salvador” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme
Ranked #4 of 145 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic pousada, our highlight of Salvador”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Casa da Vitoria was a wonderful find (much helped by others' reviews here) - we can only reiterate what others have said. The location is on a small street in a nice part of town, with a nice view out to sea, and the building is as lovely as the photos. Perhaps the highlight is breakfast which is quite incredible - three or four courses and different every day, hosted in the beautiful main room on a large table, this is the best that we have ever experienced (equalled only by a very nice hotel in Barcelona). The owners were very helpful with advice and arranging most things that we needed.

Perhaps the only slight concern was the noisy neighbours who, when we were there, also had a tendency to throw rubbish on the street after arriving by car with music blaring. However, there's not much that the pousada can do about this, and it wasn't a major issue and this certainly wouldn't stop us returning.

Overall, highly recommended. As an aside, we would also suggest heading out to Morro de Sao Paulo if you have the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
101
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hidden behind a walled property in the upscale neighborhood of Vitoria, this small pousada is a haven of style, charm, comfort--and safety. The breakfasts are delicious works of art. I adored eating off lace tablecloths. The rooms and common areas are immaculate. Air conditioning in the rooms, though no clocks or telephone. Staff are friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

CharmIng hotel in residential area of Salvador, which is much more relaxed than frenetic Pelourinho but still with a slight edge to it Very friendly and thoughtful service, with great attention to detail and making guests feel at home. Breakfast very good, with several courses, though perhaps a bit too formal for some tastes. But, all in all, a great place to stay for a few days to enjoy the delights of Salvador.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Casa de Vitoria is beautiful! We truly enjoyed our stay and the hospitality of Augusta, the owner. The breakfast was fantastic (elegant and delicious in a relaxed atmosphere). The B& B is very well located in an older neighborhood, and easily accessible and very safe. The staff was knowledgeable and always helpful (they even found us a driver who took us to our next port of call) The sitting room has great books on Bahian art. We very much want to stay at Casa da Vitoria again. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Casa da Vitória is certainly a great choice in Salvador! The staff is warm, polite, very friendly and kind and make you feel at home since your arrival. The house itself is very well decorated (combining pieces of craftmanship/wormanship with modern art) and breakast is trully delicious and a gastronomic experience. It has also a good library with very interesting books about Brasil, Bahia and some of its artists and traditions. Although it is not right on the historic centre, it is not far from it and very close to the most interesting museums and to Praia do Porto da Barra, a popular beach where you can eat delicious "acarajé" or "queijo no espeto" (a cheese spit) or drink a refreshing "água de coco". Later on, we stayed in a much more expensive hotel (supposedly full of atmosphere) in the storic centre and I assure you that we definetly regreted not having stayed at Casa da Vitoria again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrojord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont Victoria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This boutique Bed and Breakfast was a very pleasant surprise. From the moment we arrived at the door until the time we said goodbye, we were made to feel so welcome and were pampered during the entire stay. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, spoke good English and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were fit for a King! Beautifully presented, gourmet, great variety every day. We were informed of local attractions - where to go, where not to go etc. We felt very safe in this neighbourhood and definitely recommend this little oasis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethy641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything positive here: beautiful house, nice room, very friendly talks with Augusta, good location in residential area between Pelourinho and Barra, reachable by bus,... The breakfast is more like a three course brunch, wonderful! The three rooms in the main villa seem the nicest, so book there if you can.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#35 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.9 mi away
Marazul Hotel
Marazul Hotel
#39 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#23 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#32 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme

Property: Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme
Address: Rua Aloisio de Carvalho 95 | Vitoria, Salvador, State of Bahia 40081-300, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa da Vitoria is the result from the adaptation of a 60's residence carefully transformed into a charming guest house. Seven suites with air conditioning, minibar, safe, TV, solar heating and free wireless internet. Casa da Vitoria provides a family atmosphere with personalized service by owners and have spaces in their terrace overlooking the sea, reading room and library brasiliana focusing on history and art of Bahia. We offer a delicious breakfast carefully prepared with homemade and regional products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Vitoria Pousada De Charme Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing