We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme
Ranked #5 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very special”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

a very good hotel in Salvador, an oasis in the very bussy city! you can walk to the beach and the owners can organise a good taxi driver to visit a lot of things, good restaurant just next door...we did a special architectural tour and the owner explained the taxi driver where to go!great!
The rooms are really good and you feel at home! and then , the breakfast!!! woooo, a michelin star!really fantastic....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
103
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A recently opened Pousada in an old villa in the leafy suberb of Vitoria.
We had the master suite which is beautifully furnished and spacious including a balcony. The "open window" in the bathroom is not a problem because it is screened.
Augusta is a charming and attentive hostess whose breakfasts are wonderfully inventive and beautifully presented. My only problem was that I could not persuade them to give me a cup of coffee first!
Not much in walking distance but the busses are easy to get to Barra where there are bars and eateries or go futher along the coast road to Vermelho and the excellent Fogo de Chao.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was a love affair that began over coffee (I spilled hot milk on the pristine white table linen). I cut a warm bread roll in two and waited for slathers of real, salty butter to soak in before dolloping jam, one side with guava, the other with jambo (red as strawberry but with a wider flavor spectrum). One course in and I knew: I want to make this woman my wife. Does "omelete" adequately describe the vision set before me, a pale cushion of oil-drizzed love, weighted with tomatoes and shredded basil, popping with red peppercorn-passion? The miniature pão de queijos that warmed my lips like savory kisses tempered the sweet perfume of guava-pineapple juice. I tried to hold back, to pace myself, to savor each mouthful because I knew as I devoured the final course, a bosom of banana ice cream pressing up against firm banana cake--both reeking of cinnamon and temptation--that it would all soon be over. The fact that she was already married lingered over the table like the last bitter drops of coffee on my tongue. So I licked out the jam pots.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights/4 days. We had an amazing time in bahia, but this family hotel was absolutely fabulous. It is very pretty, clean, quiet and the owners Augusta and Thales are wonderful, the maids are also very nice and helpful. I loved the rooms, the breakfast was delicious that was provided every morning it consists of a 3 course breakfast. It is very unique in every way. We stayed in one of the regular rooms because I had read the master suite had an open window in the bathroom, not sure how I would have felt about that. The regular rooms are very cozy and clean. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is a decent size. The only small issue I would say about these rooms is since they are sort of out in the opening there is a very noisy neighbor with a really loud tv, so its possible this may disturb your sleep. Although this didnt happen every night, just the first night we were there. We really enjoyed our stay and if I ever return to Salvador this is the place I will stay at again. The location is also very good. In between barra beach and Pelourino, which are the 2 popular locations, also safe area. Casa da Vitoria is the best!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsepulveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed at Casa da Vitoria for two nights and had a very relaxing time. In fact, I now think my stay was too short to fully enjoy the place and I plan to return. Still, I would like to point out that my nights at Casa da Vitoria were recharging: after a long day enjoying Salvador, it is great to return to Casa da Vitoria to relax and rest. And when you wake up, after a good night sleep because the rooms are confortable and quiet, you have a delicious breakfast carefully prepared and well thought - fruits from Brazil, juice, warm and sweet food, everything yummy and detailed crafted for your taste. Once you have the feast, you are again prepared to have fun in Salvador!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucarotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

One of the best guest houses I have ever stayed in my life! The house has been beautifully decorated and is set in the lovely and very safe Vitoria neighbourhood. The guesthouse runs as clockwork, thanks to the efforts of brother and sister Thales and Augusta. Both are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, cool and very clean (like the whole house). There wasn’t even a mosquito in sight, even though all communal areas had their doors opened ajar. Breakfast was exquisite (one of the best I have ever had) and very plentiful. As it is brought to the table, rather than a self-serviced buffet, the surprises of the wonderfully presented dishes just keep coming (how about ice cream over tapioca pudding served on half a coconut shell?). As I wasn’t feeling too well one morning, Thales came round and offered me some tea, so that I could rehydrate. We ended up interacting more with Thales than Augusta, as he was there at the same times we were going in and out. We had some great chats with him, which made the experience all the more enriching. Wi-Fi was available everywhere in the guest house and is very fast. I would absolutely recommend this guest house to anyone going to Salvador and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koyasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a family stay for 2 nites during carnaval. Safe area for the ones worried by this topic. Excellent service and breakfast. Rooms are different and the "outside" ones are very simple and were noisy for us with the neighboor tv. It is much better than hotel stay for us . Price was really high as it was carnaval.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#32 of 111 in Salvador
402 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#29 of 111 in Salvador
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
529 reviews
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 111 in Salvador
2,341 reviews
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme

Property: Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme
Address: Rua Aloisio de Carvalho 95 | Vitoria, Salvador, State of Bahia 40081-300, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa da Vitoria is the result from the adaptation of a 60's residence carefully transformed into a charming guest house. Seven suites with air conditioning, minibar, safe, TV, solar heating and free wireless internet. Casa da Vitoria provides a family atmosphere with personalized service by owners and have spaces in their terrace overlooking the sea, reading room and library brasiliana focusing on history and art of Bahia. We offer a delicious breakfast carefully prepared with homemade and regional products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa da Vitoria Pousada de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Vitoria Pousada De Charme Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing