We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great staff”
Review of Laranjeiras Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laranjeiras Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is located in the heart of the old city. We were there during the world cup games and we felt really safe going outside during the nights.
The bus stations are only 5 minutes walk.

The staff knows english and were allways glad to help.

There is a nice kitchen and common room with TV and hammocks.
Breakfast is a nice with lots of fruits,coffee and cakes. Better then the rest bread and butter in south america.

The only downside were the bathrooms that needed to be cleaned more than twice a day (but still were ok..).

Great place in Salvador.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank idodomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Laranjeiras hostel is right in the centre of old town. The are lots of people on the streets and police around, so it is very safe to go out, even late at night. The staff is very helpful, speaks perfect english and makes you feel really welcome.

Only major downside to this place is the noise. We stayed here two times: the first time we had a room overlooking the street. The streetnoise was ever present, but within managable proportions. The second time we stayed in a room above the kitchen, overlooking the tiny garden. In this room preparations for breakfast are almost sure to wake you up long before sunrise. Fortunately we had to get up early anyway so it wasnt a big problem, but if you want to sleep in, make sure to bring your best earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joppertopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

After traveling all the north of Brazil and sleeping in many HI HOSTELS by far this is the best one!!! Friendly staff was always helpful and well informed. You can see they like their job.... Good free wifi even in our room in the 2nd level. Many of the international hosteling hostels charge you between 3 - 5 reals for 30minutes of bad wifi!!!! Great location in the center of Pelourinho on a busy street near a percussion school and many bars.... I love music, so for me the drums just help me to sleep. The street becomes very quiet at 12am so the noise is not really a problem. Close to all the sightseeing, 15min walking to the World Cup stadium!!!! They even have a restaurant in the first floor with a big tv where you can watch the games. Basic breakfast with fruits, good bread, cheese, cakes, coffee, tea, milk, juice... If you miss eggs you can cook them in the kitchen. Our private room with fan but not WC was marvelous!!!! We had 2 little balconies with big doors you can open plus a window!!! Great view of the center!!!! Bright, fresh and clean.... We didn't need the fan in the night. The rooms are cleaned every day. The bathrooms outside are clean but only 3 showers in the girls and the same in the boys room, it's not a problem in low season but may be in high season it could be..... Great deal price value!!! Highly recommended!!! Keep doing a great job!! This is an example of what youth hostels should be like.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laranj, Gerente at Laranjeiras Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Patricia, thanks for the comments. We really are passionate in hospitality industry and always to improve our service based on customers feelings is priority. Pelô is musical spot neighbourhood where Afro percussion's schools takes places, so drumming is part of the atmosphere.

The breakfast offered is basic but varied and we are trying some different stuff in alternate days, eggs for example. Indeed our common kitchen and living room index is a facilitie for guests get together for meals or just to chat. Cleaning during high season is a concern and usually we hire additional free-lancers to the staff temporarily. We'll try to be even better if you comeback someday.
Enjoy your trip, muito obrigado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights in this pleasant hostel in the heart of the historical center of Salvador. Good services offered. Staff seemed a bit confused sometimes at providing information regarding buses ( to go to Iglesia do bom fim quite the touristic spot ) or a supermarket. The area is known for being well garded by the military police and it was indeed. Very clean. Good breakfast. The hostel is a restaurant as well so if you re lazy go ahead ! The only down thing would be about the laundry option : quite expensive 35 reals and you can t do it yourself for a cheaper price ( hand washing is free haha ). Water fountain. Clean showers. Working air conditioning ! Overall happy too bad I couldn't relax fully as I found Salvador a bit stressful !

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank geraldong1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well located hostel.
Plus are:
- location
- big and clean double room
Minus are:
- breakfast not good
- rooms need to be refurbished
- wifi was not working in our room
Good enough for few nights stay in the historical center of Salvador.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

An ok hostel in the central Salvador historic area. The hostel has all the necessary functions, kitchen etc and we stayed in a decent double room. It is located near to the big plazas and several restaurants. All in all an average stay with a basic breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Ok, to begin, the hostel forgot to arrange the airport transfer, however, we ended up booking our own taxi within the airport which worked out to be the same price anyway.
This was all pushed aside when we drove through the streets of Pelourinho and saw how amazing the location of the hostel was. On first appearance, the reception and "common area" are lovely, as were the staff who were so friendly and helpful. When we went up to our room it was ok...a little dark and the lockers were situated outside in the corridors which were not assigned. There was one shared bathroom for the entire floor and it could be cleaner and bigger. The breakfast was average but it did the job, could do with a bit more variety.
It may not sound like it, but this hostel turned out to be perfect and we ended up staying longer than expected. There are some excellent restaurants along the road, and there are so many things to do whether by walking or by bus (there is a nearby bus station). The only thing I would say is that there should be wifi in the bedrooms rather than just the reception area, as that should be used for socialising as opposed to people coming down just to use the internet.
I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.6 mi away
Salvador Business & Flat
Salvador Business & Flat
#53 of 110 in Salvador
223 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#19 of 110 in Salvador
2,399 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bahiamar Hotel
Bahiamar Hotel
#44 of 110 in Salvador
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Ibis Salvador Aeroporto Hangar
7.9 mi away
Hotel Cocoon
Hotel Cocoon
#72 of 110 in Salvador
305 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laranjeiras Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laranjeiras Hostel

Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira 13 | Pelourinho - In Front of Olodum Afro Percussion School, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 308 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range: $11 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Laranjeiras Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1994 the Laranjeiras Hostel offers dorms and private rooms in a XVIII baroque portuguese colonial house. Laranjeiras combines colonial style with modern facilities for backpackers travelling around Brazil. Friendly atmosphere to meet people from all over the world. Come join us for a unique experience on accommodation. We are located in the heart of the Historic Center of Salvador. 24h service and a staff that will do anything to make your stay delightful. Free Wifi, own restaurant and many facilities a few steps from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laranjeiras Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laranjeiras Hostel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing