We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Pousada des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada des Arts
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Great location in historic center of city. Beautiful rooms and balconies. Eric the owner and staff were extremely helpful in arranging sightseeing, providing information, and overall very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ryoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    48
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
32
91
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
434 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Lovely renovated pousada. Good size rooms. Balconies available in rooms for extra cost but the pousada itself has two lovely balconies overlooking the sea where you take breakfast and can sit and relax. The breakfast particularly is worthy of mention. Really delicious with home baked local goods, fresh fruits and juices and great coffee. The other highlight is the great service and friendly staff and owner. The location is good and safe, about 10 mins from the centre of Pelhorino so not too noisy at night. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Proprietário at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Good morning,
We are very happy you enjoined our small hotel,
We hope to receive you again,
Best regards,
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Bright and colourful, the interior really adds to the stay in Salvador. Artwork adorn the walls everywhere and the owner and all of his staff were very attentive and very happy to help us with anything we needed.

Room was beautiful and had a 4 poster bed with a nice balcony to watch the sunset. A hammock as well makes this great to relax at the end of the day. Rooms do smell a little damp, but i think it's like this because of the humidity in Salvador and beacuase the buildings are so old.

Best breakfast in all of Brazil. Freshly baked brazilian goodies along with great coffee and and juices. Eggs cooked how you like them too.

Would def recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richsmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I went to Salvador in April 2010 (low season) with my brother and I thought it would be nice to stay in a nice hostel near Pelourinho, which is the main historical site in the city. Pousada des Arts was a great choice: very charming, colorful and cosy, and the staff is always willing to help you. The location is great as well, but you have to be careful at night. You dont see a lot people in the streets after a certain time of the evening, mostly locals, no tourists, even though the police is there all the time to give you a sense of security. It is also a bit far from the best places to go out at night.

I booked only one night at Pousada des Arts and we liked it right away. We had a room facing the historical center for R$ 200,00 (which I think is a bit expensive, especially because you cant really see anything interesting from the room window), since the room that I really wanted (the one facing the bay area) would be R$ 350,00 (which is way too expensive in my opinion). For my surprise, the owner offered us an upgrade if we decided to stay one more night: we could have the room facing the bay area for R$ 200,00. So it fitted our expectations perfectly. My brother and I left for a walk and when we returned to the hostel, our luggage was already waiting for us in our new room. That was very nice.

All considered, I thought the hostel was a bit overpriced, but I would still certainly reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Beautifully restored colonial house. Loved the decor. Great location a quiet neighbourhood but only a short walk to Pelhourino. Eric the owner is an extremely convivial host and speaks excellent english. His staff are all delightful. Gneilson who works on reception also has a tour company, Bahia Tropical Tours ([--]). He organised our transfers to and from Barra Grande which is quite a complicated trip, everything ran like clockwork and the cost was extremely reasonable. Eric and his staff can also advise on day trips etc. Great breakfast. We stayed twice in rooms 5 and 6 (6 is slightly bigger but both were fine for us and two children) Children loved sleeping in the loft. All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartslang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at the Pousada des Arts as part of a Carnaval package in 2010. The pousada itself is beatiful with quite a bit of work having been done on it and a focus on art. The owner is French and you can see some of the influences in it's decoration with some classic French influences in an overall very Bahian decor. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly during our whole stay. They even hooked us up with a private driver who took us to one of the better beaches and basically turned into our own private guide for the day. We then used him to get us into some of the Carnaval parties the following day. Breakfast was very good each day with the staff constantly looking over the spread to make sure nothing was out or low. They even had fly nets over everything to prevent flies. Small touches that go a ways. The only minor grievances were centered around the bathroom which had a strong odor of the sewage system and the shower which we could never really control the flow of hot/cold water properly. Also the curtain on our balcony let in copious amounts of light at sunrise which was a bit tough at 6am after a night out in Carnaval. Finally we did pay a fair amount but truth be told it was Carnaval so what could we really expect. Not sure what the rate would ahve been during lower season. All said - we would definitely stay here again assuming the rates were reasonable enough outside of Carnval. The pousada is located in a great part of Pelourinho which was our favorite part of Salvador.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gethaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is a newly finished hotel, where you can see the attention given to every detail. Original artwork is on display in the rooms and throughout, giving it a distinctive Baiano style and feel. The room itself was spacious and impeccably clean. The bed was large and comfortable and hung with a pretty mosquito net. It had a generously-sized bathroom, with a good, hot shower. Breakfast was included and was delicious, offering a wide variety of sweet and savoury dishes with different fresh juices every day. For us, what made this stay unforgettable was the rapport with the staff. We had originally booked a room in another hotel owned by the same congenial French-Brazilian couple, and were moved to Pousada des Arts when we asked them for a room upgrade, which wasn't available in the first hotel. Eric, the owner, was incredibly helpful with this move and offered us a free upgrade to a beautiful room with its own private balcony and hammock overlooking the bay. His love for Salvador and this central area in particular is evident and contagious. He gave us lots of tips and even offered to arrange a sunset sailing trip on his own catamaran. We were very well taken care of by the hotel manager, Sergio, a charming man who speaks great English and handled every request of ours - from booking taxis to arranging a laundry service - with warmth and efficiency. It felt like staying with friends. All the staff did much more than just offering a basic hotel service and seemed to derive a genuine pleasure in welcoming guests from all around the world to Salvador.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PabloandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Solar do Carmo
#66 of 111 in Salvador
193 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#46 of 111 in Salvador
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#86 of 111 in Salvador
64 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 111 in Salvador
554 reviews
Pousada Villa Carmo
#84 of 111 in Salvador
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada des Arts

Property: Pousada des Arts
Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 90 | Alem Do Carmo, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada des Arts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural centre with art gallery and panoramical view on the bay,Excellent tropical breakfast. Free wi fi. Ecoturism activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Pousada des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Des Arts Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing