We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks a lot better on the website”
Review of Pousada des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada des Arts
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The photos of this pousada lured me in booking it however on arrival although very colourful, it isn't as polished as it looks on the website. Although on the main road it's almost at the end therefore it is a 10 minute walk to the old town. The look of the room has been focused more so than the practicalities of it. Five lamps/lights were needed to be switched on at night before there was decent light, the shower head spluttered water all over the bathroom regardless which direction you turn it.
On the website you have a choice of the view being the old town i.e the street which runs from the old town 10 minutes away or the sea i.e the sea and factories.
Breakfast is nice although exactly the same each day.
The staff are nice and hekpful. Even those that couldn't speak English tried to help as much as they could.
It was ok but I'd try elsewhere if I returned to Salvador.

Room Tip: The street gets noisy in the mornings which can be heard from rooms with the "old town" vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Owner at Pousada des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hello,
It is the first time someone says that it looks better in the website. It has been 54 years of work to fix this very old house which was in a very bad state.
We always try to decorate and let the Pousada beautifull. For the problems of lights in the rooms thank you for your review, we fixwd everything,
Best regards,
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here last April. It is a beautiful pousada, authentically decorated and probably one of the nicest places to stay in quite a delapidated city. If you want to experience 'real' Brazil in Salvador than this is a good choice of accommodation - average priced, but worth the extra money and within easy walking distance of all the key sites/attractions.

The only thing which slightly spoilt our stay is an arrogant owner who was disputing costs with us and didn't seem to grasp the concept of customer service. However, the rest of the staff were lovely and the breakfast spread was excellent.

I'd say it is a particularly good choice is you want to stay somewhere safe in quite a dangerous city - the pousada has gates and the reception is always guarded.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotusflowerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Don´t miss it! Great location and view. Definitely I´m going back. Having a good companie can be much better!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarinaLeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Owner at Pousada des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pela sua resenha tao gentil,
Foi um prazer receber los e esperamos ter em breve este prazer de novo,
Atencisosamente,
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

we have been travelers for many years,but this is the first time we have put up in a hotel of very poor quality.Breakfast was awful too,our bed was not a double one, it was rather a large single bed.The owner Rosemeire was rude and bossy,unworthy to head up a tourist business..................................

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roberto b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Owner at Pousada des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hello,
I think there were a big mistake in that booking, I remember you booked throw an Italian travel agency, and they said to you you will stay on the beach. This was not our falt.
We gave you back the monney what we normaly had to arrange with the agency wich booked for you.
Best regards,
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

By far the best, pousada/hotel we have been in Brasil. From the very first moment, when we have been welcomed with a fresh made mango juice, to the last moment, when the 4 of us were very sorry to leave.
Perfectly safe (whole Brasil tourist areas have become much safers lately, with strong federal police presence), we never felt unsecure, although I was travelling with my girlfriends and my 65 years old parent, we have been coming back home by night walking.
Breakfast is superb. Rooms are amazing. The attention to details is incredible. The Rooms with the view on the Bahia are absolutely worth the price difference.
The whole point is that it is at the same time comfortable and really characteristic. In one word: beautiful.
One of the owner is not Brasilian, so we were afraid that this could mean less genuinity. Paradaoxically it was quite the opposite. Since the love he has for the Bahia, for which he moved there 20 years ago, makes him particulary good in underlining the beauty of this amazing city; specially for his particular point of view.
I strongly suggest to follow advices, since this allowed us to avoid most touristic spots (and time).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gegecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Warm welcoming, nice rooms with view on the bay. Fresh homemade breakfast.
Refinded arty design and nice patio + terrasse.
4 rooms om the street and 4 on the bay. We had one on the bay, which was very nice with a privative terrase. Inside, the patio gives a lot of light.
The staff and proprieraty give a warm and personnal attention to the hosts.
The pousada also eased the organisation of a trip to Boipeba, with good address there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ced b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I booked one night at Pousada des Arts before taking a boat to Morro de sao Paulo but i did not feel properly treated.
I booked a transfer from the airport but none came to pick us up , and another disappointing aspect as been that they charged me a local phone call I asked them to make for me: if you are not a hostel traveller , a local phone should be free, and actually it has been in any other hotel i stayed in brasil.

But for this , the hotel is nice and has character.
Rooms are simple but confortable.
Breakfast is great and it is in a convenient position.

They should just work more on the training of their staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liberty1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Owner at Pousada des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Good morning,
I am sorry for the taxi problem, you booked on Booking and ask the taxi via their site, it has normaly to be reconfirm directly to the hotel, reason why we did not send it, sorry.
For the fone call, we pay all the comunications, even locals, so we charge it to our custumers.
The Wi Fi is free in all the hotel. All hotels charge fone comunications.
The is the only low reviewa we have in 3 years.
Sorry again,
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Pousada Colonial
#47 of 110 in Salvador
223 reviews
Pousada do Pilar
#59 of 110 in Salvador
140 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#21 of 110 in Salvador
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Villa Carmo
#83 of 110 in Salvador
53 reviews
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#80 of 110 in Salvador
65 reviews
Solar do Carmo
#64 of 110 in Salvador
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada des Arts

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 90 | Alem Do Carmo, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: $46 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada des Arts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural centre with art gallery and panoramical view on the bay,Excellent tropical breakfast. Free wi fi. Ecoturism activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Des Arts Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing