We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, exotic, beautiful, friendly and great food”
Review of Pousada des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada des Arts
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, exotic, beautiful, friendly and great food”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

If you're going to Brazil, don't miss Salvador. It's a 2 hour flight from Rio. As the first city in Brazil it's got great Portuguese colonial architecture, crafts, and ancient streets. As the home of Afro-Brazilian culture-- this was the port for the huge African-Brazilian slave trade-- it is rich in hybrid Potuguese-native-Afro-Brazilian culture and arts. Think: African drumming and chanting in a gilded Portuguese Catholic church, with communion.

There are also beaches, boat trips, and a terrific mercado for crafts things.

This hotel was perfect. it's a small beautiful restored 18th century house, with striking traditional and contemporary arts all over the place. It's walking distance from the center of the old city. Eric, the French-Brazilian owner, speaks English and is generous with his time and recommendations. He took some of us to the huge vegetable/fruit market one morning. Excellent breakfast on a terrace overlooking the bay-- lots of fruit and local pastries. Tons of coffee. Lots of common space to hang out. And wireless internet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateRous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Front Office Manager at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you.
Always come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    48
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
32
91
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just a perfect welcome delight. The staff were tremendous and the view is incredible. The rooms were clean and impecably presented.

But the most amazing thing is the the way that this place has been decorated. It is the Salvadorian style and the ceramics, art and colour are just amazing.

The breakfast is wonderful too. especially the fresh juices.

Felt safe out walking and had a great time in the local bars and restaurants. Caught a taxi home one night but otherwise walked everywhere. Felt really safe even though guide books say to take care. Lots of Police and locals were very friendly and at ease. Saw nothing that made me remotely worried.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Gerente de recepção at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for your comment. we are very happy and proud to get this return conveying the best comfort to our guests.
always come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Great location in historic center of city. Beautiful rooms and balconies. Eric the owner and staff were extremely helpful in arranging sightseeing, providing information, and overall very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ryoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
434 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Lovely renovated pousada. Good size rooms. Balconies available in rooms for extra cost but the pousada itself has two lovely balconies overlooking the sea where you take breakfast and can sit and relax. The breakfast particularly is worthy of mention. Really delicious with home baked local goods, fresh fruits and juices and great coffee. The other highlight is the great service and friendly staff and owner. The location is good and safe, about 10 mins from the centre of Pelhorino so not too noisy at night. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricGougui, Proprietário at Pousada des Arts, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Good morning,
We are very happy you enjoined our small hotel,
We hope to receive you again,
Best regards,
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Bright and colourful, the interior really adds to the stay in Salvador. Artwork adorn the walls everywhere and the owner and all of his staff were very attentive and very happy to help us with anything we needed.

Room was beautiful and had a 4 poster bed with a nice balcony to watch the sunset. A hammock as well makes this great to relax at the end of the day. Rooms do smell a little damp, but i think it's like this because of the humidity in Salvador and beacuase the buildings are so old.

Best breakfast in all of Brazil. Freshly baked brazilian goodies along with great coffee and and juices. Eggs cooked how you like them too.

Would def recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richsmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I went to Salvador in April 2010 (low season) with my brother and I thought it would be nice to stay in a nice hostel near Pelourinho, which is the main historical site in the city. Pousada des Arts was a great choice: very charming, colorful and cosy, and the staff is always willing to help you. The location is great as well, but you have to be careful at night. You dont see a lot people in the streets after a certain time of the evening, mostly locals, no tourists, even though the police is there all the time to give you a sense of security. It is also a bit far from the best places to go out at night.

I booked only one night at Pousada des Arts and we liked it right away. We had a room facing the historical center for R$ 200,00 (which I think is a bit expensive, especially because you cant really see anything interesting from the room window), since the room that I really wanted (the one facing the bay area) would be R$ 350,00 (which is way too expensive in my opinion). For my surprise, the owner offered us an upgrade if we decided to stay one more night: we could have the room facing the bay area for R$ 200,00. So it fitted our expectations perfectly. My brother and I left for a walk and when we returned to the hostel, our luggage was already waiting for us in our new room. That was very nice.

All considered, I thought the hostel was a bit overpriced, but I would still certainly reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Beautifully restored colonial house. Loved the decor. Great location a quiet neighbourhood but only a short walk to Pelhourino. Eric the owner is an extremely convivial host and speaks excellent english. His staff are all delightful. Gneilson who works on reception also has a tour company, Bahia Tropical Tours ([--]). He organised our transfers to and from Barra Grande which is quite a complicated trip, everything ran like clockwork and the cost was extremely reasonable. Eric and his staff can also advise on day trips etc. Great breakfast. We stayed twice in rooms 5 and 6 (6 is slightly bigger but both were fine for us and two children) Children loved sleeping in the loft. All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartslang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Solar do Carmo
#66 of 111 in Salvador
193 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#46 of 111 in Salvador
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#86 of 111 in Salvador
64 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 111 in Salvador
554 reviews
Pousada Villa Carmo
#84 of 111 in Salvador
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada des Arts

Property: Pousada des Arts
Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 90 | Alem Do Carmo, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada des Arts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural centre with art gallery and panoramical view on the bay,Excellent tropical breakfast. Free wi fi. Ecoturism activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Pousada des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Des Arts Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing