We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador
Ranked #73 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my third stay at this hostel and it continues to get better and better. The staff is very friendly, and they continue to make improvements to the facility, including the breakfast/bar area. Many languages are spoken, and they are very accommodating.

The location, right across from the beach, can't be beat. Close to shopping, bus stops and many nice restaurants. It's clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We travelled in several place of south america and always stayed at one of the Che Lagarto hostel as we would never be deceived. That hostel in Salvador is probably the worst place ever...EVER. It was expensive for a hostel and everything was broken from the dorm door (!) to the beds, bathroom, fans etc. To make it even worse it was dirty with bed bugs and every other shower room/toilet was out of use so you had to share one with about 30 people.
If you can stay somewhere else, you have plenty of other hostels in the same area (Barra) and much cheaper: we decided to leave CHe Lagarto and moved to the Alpha hostel in Rua Eduardo Magalhaes and we paid 15 reais per night in a very well kept premise, very clean. You also have other hostel in the Pelourinho area which are very conveniently located since the action happens there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our room was dirty - the tap kept running as it was broken. The price was out of order and the place didn't have anything great around - just a beach in front, a few bars including 1 gay club (off). Rio Vermelho is where you want to be to party - for cultural and food stuff stay in the pelo. For an awesome beach try busca vida in Salvador. Some of the other guests woke up with ticks...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Great staff and atmosphere! Delicious breakfast, the best in Brazil. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingaklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hostel is good located but it has a poor structure. The room hasn't window and there is only one key to each room. The bathroom hasn't lock. The power AC sockets didn't work, the DVD player and TV wasn't working... It is the worse hostel I've known ever.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willemarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The room I stayed in was really not nice, there was no window (to outside), no lock on the bathroom, the fan we had on to keep us cool dried my throat out and gave me a cough. The staff were generally not very friendly or helpful. The location is OK but you would be better in the town. However there is loads of outdoor communal space, which was great as I met some brilliant people here. The chain Che Legarto however is quite good, although the breakfasts are pretty basic. I went to Che Legarto Morro do sao paulo and this was brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Overall the location and facilities of the hostel are good. Free comps, cool rooftop terrace. But you pay extra for the location (about 10$ more then Hi) and the rooms are pretty dinky and kinda dirty. The breafast is below avg for the price. The worst thing about the hostel is the bed bugs. I switched rooms a few hours aftet arriving as i saw thd little buggers and my roomate who had arrived 2 days earlier was covered in bits. I thought switching rooms would improve but after one night i was covered in bites! I asked around and other rooms had the same problem. Head down the road for the new HI ondina( near shopping barra) its cheaper, cleaner and has a better bfast.

Its worth noting that the ppl (except some) at che were very nice and helpful...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaniCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.6 mi away
Marazul Hotel
Marazul Hotel
#39 of 110 in Salvador
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahia Prime Hostel
Bahia Prime Hostel
#4 of 315 in Salvador
190 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acai Hostel Salvador
Acai Hostel Salvador
#6 of 315 in Salvador
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Hostel Salvador
The Hostel Salvador
#2 of 315 in Salvador
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
To em Casa Hostel
To em Casa Hostel
#9 of 315 in Salvador
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laranjeiras Hostel
Laranjeiras Hostel
#5 of 315 in Salvador
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador

Address: Av Oceanica, 84B, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-130, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range: $21 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estamos ubicados en Av. Oceanica 84 - Salvador, sobre la principal avenida de la ciudad, frente a la principal playa, Playa da Barra. Con solo cruzar la avenida estas en la playa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing