We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, if in Salvador, stay here”
Review of Open House Barra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Open House Barra
Ranked #26 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, if in Salvador, stay here”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is excellent. We stayed during the carnival in Feb 2012 and had a great time. All the staff were so welcoming and good fun. The parties they put on were great and the free drinks each night were awesome. Fantastic atmosphere, you must stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vsm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
32
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very nice clean hostel. Friendly owner & decent location - 5 minutes to beach, supermarket & shopping centre close & near buses to take you to the centro etc. Breakfast was nice but the same everyday. Would stay again & recommend if you want to stay in Barra (seemed very safe)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjreddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Having travelled round South America for the last 12 months we think this is probably our favourite hostel! As soon as we arrived we felt at home! Alex, the owner made us very welcome and when my husband had to seek medical assistance, he stayed with us at the hospital to translate and even sent supplies while we waited! Nice breakfasts; Jaqueline's cocktails and Samba class are not to be missed either! Its in a great location, safe, clean and quiet but close to all you need. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendypitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and absolutely LOVED IT. What makes this hostel tick most though is the host, Alex. Probably the kindest guy out there. There wasn't a thing he wouldn't/couldn't do for us. We had a massive room downstairs that usually hosts big groups which was just fab. The breakfast is just delicious with fresh juices every day. I would reccomend having your fan on all night directly facing you as it gets super hot and also there are no screens on the windows to stop the bugs (mosquitos/sand flies). Alex offered us copius amounts of Caiprihinas and this gorgeous coconut shot thing i can't remember the name of at all times. The location is great, literally you are on the Port's doorstep with easy access to town via bus. We met great people at the hostel too, who we ended up catching up with in LA later on in our travels. The last amazing thing is the Bosa music Alex plays at the hostel. I haven't stopped humming it since we left and thanks to Alex, i can now listen to it back at home as he was kinf enough to send us a file. OpenHouse is definitely the place to be

Room Tip: Keep the fan on all night to stop from getting too hot and also to stop the bugs from landing. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGinFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It has a good atmosphere, the staff is really friendly (except the owner's girlfriend) and helpful with useful information. I will recommend people to stay here when they visit Salvador!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed in the hostel two times and both i had so much fun. Very friendly staffs and guests and a wonderful place. The hostel are very colorful, clean and the localization is the best because is near to the beach, bars, supermarket, etc.. I met diferent and interesting people and had so much fun!!! There are in this place a lot of caipirinhas, music and dance..I love it! I recomend the OPEN HOUSE BARRA because is the best hostel in Salvador!!!

Room Tip: I like the private room that has a balcony and is very beautiful and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandramgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The location is great, the owners are beyond friendly, and the house is beautiful. My friend and I stayed here in November, and we pretty much had the house to ourselves, as there were no other guests staying there at the same time. We had our free caipirinhas every night, a samba lesson, and even a jam session on drums with Alex :) We stayed in the private room with bathroom, and everything was clean and cozy.

I definitely recommend staying here if you are going to be visiting Salvador! It's close to 2 different beaches, and a short taxi ride away from all attractions, including the historical center.

Great place, great people, great atmosphere, what more could you want?!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAA1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 mi away
D'Boa Hostel
D'Boa Hostel
#30 of 154 in Salvador
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Marcos
Pousada Marcos
#40 of 154 in Salvador
51 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Pousada Salvador
Hotel Pousada Salvador
#7 of 154 in Salvador
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Salvador
Hotel Porto Salvador
#14 of 294 in Salvador
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bahia Flat
Bahia Flat
#19 of 294 in Salvador
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Prime Hostel
Bahia Prime Hostel
#4 of 294 in Salvador
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open House Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open House Barra

Property: Open House Barra
Address: Rua Comendador Bernardo Catarino 137, Salvador, State of Bahia 40130-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ran by Artists cozy house, close to the nicest Beaches and Carnival parades. We offer samba classes and free drinks happy hour. Best mood in Salvador Bahia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Open House Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open House Barra Hotel Salvador
Open House Barra Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing