We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Igor & Tula! stay here for a taste of the real Bahia!”
Review of Pousada Poesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Poesia
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon in July, before joining an Intrepid tour. My husband and I are simple, no fuss travelers and were looking for a good priced hotel on the beach--and the Pousada Poesia did NOT disappoint!

Our room was simply furnished and very clean, and we could not have been more pleased!
The breakfast was traditional Bahian fare (note: mostly breads and fresh fruit, variety of drinks as well) and the manager Igor is delightful! We also met his dog, Tula, a sweet girl!

This is a quiet residential beach and neighborhood; not touristy at all, so a real taste of the state of Bahia! You can watch the local fisherman going about their work and teens playing soccer on the beach. There are very few hotels nearby, so this is a great place for a quiet retreat. At the same time, the small town, a few restaurants, and a supermarket are all within walking distance, so your basic needs are met. Also, you would never know you're just a 1/2 hour cab ride away from the center of Salvador.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rioNbella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The pousada is perfectly located directly to the beach. It has a small garden with a nice and clean pool, guests can also make churrasco / bbq in the garden.
The pousada is not in the center of Itapoan, even not directly to a big street so it is a very quiet and nice place to relax. Around you can reach a supermarket and some restaurants and bars within 10 minutes walk. Transfer from the airport is about 15 minutes by taxi, which cost around 30,- RS.
Rooms are very cosy and clean, all of them have a veranda, some of them with a stunning seaview.
Breakfast is a mix of european and tropical (various fruits and juices). Breakfast is served on the public veranda, which also allows a fantastic view on the sea.
Staff is very friendly and available for any of your needs, some of them even speak English. The reception is always staffed , also durig the night.
The beach is nice, you will find sand, palm trees and a reef there. Distance to Farol de Itapoan is about 5 minutes by walking on the beach, same as Praia de Sereia. It is a very nice place to relax in a quiet neighbourhood, the historic center Pelourinho can be reached by bus in 45 minutes (5,-) R$ and Praia do Forte will take one hour by bus (10,- R$).

I promise, I will return in 2013!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

we stayed here for our final few days in brazil so we were near the airport. the pousada was really clean and quiet and rooms were comfortable. the pool was like a lovely and refreshing. the staff were helpful and friendly and the caiporinias fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Enjoying the skyline of Salvador with the tranquility of this neighbourhood is possible. All you need is around so you can easily relax. Sea, clean beach, swimmingpool and also good restaurants and supermarket. Just perfect if you want to visit the old center (1hour car drive) but not want to stay there (eg with small children). Rooms upstairs with balcony are comfortable, clean and with great seaview and Salvador skyline.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lianne_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed with three friends in this pousada on our holiday to brazil. I was welcomed by a lovely man named Igor, who helped us in every way to make our stay at the Pousada and Salvador a great one.
We had a great room which was very spacious and accomodated us well, we were up graded to the sea view room which also had a large balcony. The breakfast were great, with fresh juices each morning and freshly baked cakes and pastries.
Igor made us feel like part of the family and drove us to the centre and made our last night memorable by the BBQ he cooked on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We booked 5days in Salvador on our whirlwind trip of brazil for an ideal relaxing beach break. The Pousada was delightful, bohemian and bahian in style. We got a beachfront room with balcony. The room was spacious clean and perfect for a beach chill holiday ( reminded me of byron bay) lots of wood and african/bahian style decoration.A Safe, free wifi, beach towels, dining table, sink, shower ( solar powered - gets my vote!) plenty of wardrobe space and nothing was too much trouble for Igor and Rodregees. Like other people have said you could be completely left alone if you wished but we actually drilled Igor for as much information as possible about the area as we were a little nervous, but he gave us good advice. One day when it was raining Igor actually drove us into Salvador as we were worried about the bus ( we didnt need to be - we got the bus home no worries!) Another day we met Igor on the beach and we joined in a typical bahian bbq and watched the sunset!. The pousada is right on the beach so perfect distance to get to and from and 200m from the nearest shops and bank. Like anywhere in Brazil, Salvador is the 4th largest city and is very poor - that is obvious as you drive in and see all the tall walls and electric fences. That shouldnt put you off though, if you do what we did, just be safe sensible and dont put yourself at risk. We had a very enjoyable experience thanks to igor, and rodreges they were like an old married couple! breakfast was simple but perfectly brazilian, lots of meat, lovely bread, cakes, fresh fruit, and always freshly squeezed juices thanks to lucianna. On the day we left they even got up and did us a really early breakfast and booked our taxis. Thumbs up and thanks again from claire becky and whan ( jonathan) x

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank works4thejollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is the third time my partner and I have stayed in this Pousada....it is a lovely little place directly on the beach with clean spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff, pool with lovely terrace with views of the beach where you can sit and enjoy a cold beer or breakfast of freshly baked cakes, fruits, juices, cheeses etc....
Itapua is a little town with white sandy beaches running along the coast and the perfect place to come and stay if you want to relax and escape the noise and bustle of Salvador city. We have stayed in many Pousadas in Bahia, Rio, Pernambuco and can highly recommend a stay here.....The hospitlity of the people here makes it feel like coming home and we hope to come back again very soon.....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
IARA Beach
#31 of 110 in Salvador
92 reviews
Pousada Stella Tropical
#46 of 110 in Salvador
157 reviews
Hotel Cocoon
#71 of 110 in Salvador
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
1,077 reviews
Hotel Verdemar
#14 of 110 in Salvador
243 reviews
Hotel Praia da Sereia
#73 of 110 in Salvador
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Poesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Poesia

Address: Rua da Poesia 118 | Farol de Itapoã, Salvador, State of Bahia 41640-485, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Salvador
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $51 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Poesia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Pousada Poesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Poesia Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing