We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel in very poor area..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in ! . The reception, restaurant and rooms all need redecorating and cleaning. The shower was filthy, curtains discusting and the air conditioning unit hanging out the wall!. Breakfast was a farce with all tables full of dirty plates with one poor waitress left trying to cope.We found a coffee shop rather than eat in here. The location is very poor as its an old fashioned tired resort in a somewhat dodgy neighbourhood. There is a beach area which is dirty and there are very few restaurants in the area. Salvador itself is an amazing place and so worth a visit but I would stay closer to town and avoid this area and especially this hotel at all costs !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busycitybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

On the whole this hotel is quite mediocre. Rooms have a good size, but there is no table or desk. Bathroom would be ok but it needs a refurbishing. The swimming pool is just for kids, but the area around is quite nice, and the barman fixes good caipirinhas. Air conditioning is very noisy. Breakfast is quite good - I only blame coffeee which is really bad. The personnel is quite nice, the only drawback is that only at the reception they can speak some English or Spanish. It is quite noisy: if your room is on the sea side, you hear noise from the busy main street in front of the hotel, if you are on the back, you hear people talking loudly already at 6 am. Too expensive for what it delivers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouBeeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days and I really like it. It was very clean and had a large and various breakfast buffet with lots of typical dishes. Every day they change some of the typical dishes so we can taste different ones. The staff was very helpfull and polite. The beach near the hotel has lots of natural pools (between 11:00 and 14:00 hrs) we can see little crabs and fishies, the children loves it. I don´t think it was a dangerous beach but I always went there just with my “canga” and never take my camera with me. it was so nice that we did´t go to the hotel pool during the day, (only at night and drinking a caipirinha). It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carioca_girl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fernanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prefira os quartos mais altos e com vista para o mar
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#27 of 110 in Salvador
2,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondina Apart Hotel
Ondina Apart Hotel
#52 of 110 in Salvador
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#22 of 110 in Salvador
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#29 of 110 in Salvador
847 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Victoria Marina
Sol Victoria Marina
#75 of 110 in Salvador
641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel

Address: Av. Oceanica, 2275, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: $47 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Ondina Praia Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing