We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Spread for Breakfast, More Upscale Outward Appearance, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porto Salvador
Ranked #14 of 300 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Big Spread for Breakfast, More Upscale Outward Appearance, Great Staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The entrance and common areas here have a more trendy or upscale feel than most other hostels I stayed in. The dorm was a typical dorm, but not bad in any way. This was also just a block from the beach, and across the street from the grocery store so the location was very convenient.

The Pros: 1) Great (relatively- this is South America afterall) breakfast included a slew of different breads and spreads, ham, cheese, several types of juices, fruits. 2) The dorm room we stayed in (6 beds) also had an ensuite bathroom. 3) The staff members were ALL really friendly and gave great advice for where to go and what to do, etc. 4) Common area had a pool table and piano which made for good socializing.

The Cons: 1) You are allowed to use the kitchen to cook for yourself, but to cook what? There is only a microwave and small toaster oven, extremely limited cooking utensils and definitely not a stove. We ended up eating out more than we planned. Kitchen is fine for making sandwiches and stuff but if you´re here for more than a few days you´ll be craving a cooked meal. 2) While we were there the internet was constantly in and out, and the staff didnt really seem all that concerned about trying to fix it, which was kind of annoying since we had just arrived and needed to have some communications with back home. 3) No air conditioning in the rooms, just two fans. The lucky ones got the fan facing their bed at night... the others just suffered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
47
72
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Regarding the hostel itself - the title says it all.
I must say that the staff was very very helpful and this is what made my experience here a positive one. They did everything in their power to help with whatever we needed and they are all very proficient in English.
The room was very basic, old but relatively clean (the plasic curtains sometimes gave me a feeling like I am in the butcher shop).
The hostel is nothing like the official photos you can find on the link when you open the gallery! Do not be fooled!
It is cheap and bearable for a day or two....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salvador hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Fantastic staff..reasonable breakfast..all good quality though..and served with fantastic friendliness...clean dorms/beds..shower room regularly and thoroughly cleaned..good advice..24hr desk..free internet + wifi..3 min walk to beautiful beach and 1 min to supermarket..security guard nights...for 30 reals.....superb...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDevlin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

overall a good experience. great breakfast. clean rooms. and the staff help a lot in tips and directions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This place was average. Great location. The private room was ok and did the job however you were overlooked by other windows so you would have to shut the curtains to get ready. Also the curtains were not big enough so they did not cover the whole window! Very annoying!

The main problem was the staff- they were so rude that we hated being in the hostel. The only nice people were the manager, the cleaners and kitchen staff and the door man. The staff at reception were the rudest people we had met our whole trip (we'd been travelling for 3 months!). They were always on the computer and didn't even lift their head to acknowledge you when you walked past. They were not helpful when you asked questions and made you feel as if you were bothering them. On many occasions if the phone rang when you were speaking to them, they would ignore you and take the telephone call!
We would not recommend this place to anyone travelling and looking for a friendly and fun hostel. There were no activities either and they were not helpful in telling us what was going on in the area. We found out the local activities by talking to locals and using the internet.
Don't go here, there are nicer friendly and more helpful hostels next door!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I went to Salvador last week and in the search for a hostel, I kept one thing in my mind : Salvador's transportation system is awful, so I must be next to the most important places. So I begun to search for hostels in Barra. The area near the Pelourinho is quite dangerous at night and near Rio Vermelho (the bohemian neighborhood) is too far away from everything else.

So I chose Barra and ended up finding this hostel. What a nice surprise! Fair priced, my double private en suite room was cool, clean and quite trendy. All the employees were extremely helpful and spoke English reasonably well with all the guest who needed. Breakfast was quite nice for a hostel, with two types of juice, tea, coffee, ham, cheese, bread, cake and 4 or 5 typical Brazilian fruits.

Just a walk away from the Farol, Cristo and Praia do Forte. There is a bus from the airport which drops you basically at the entrance of the street (R$3,00). And there's a market in front of the hostel. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucianaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

It's the best option of hostel in Salvador. It's in a good location, near the beach, supermarket, restaurants and bus stops. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are large, safe and well ventilated. The beds are very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willemarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#21 of 111 in Salvador
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#32 of 111 in Salvador
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#28 of 111 in Salvador
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marazul Hotel
Marazul Hotel
#35 of 111 in Salvador
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Barra
Hotel Sol Barra
#36 of 111 in Salvador
956 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#29 of 111 in Salvador
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Salvador

Property: Hotel Porto Salvador
Address: Rua Barao de Itapoan 60 | Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 300 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porto Salvador 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By far the best location! See for yourself why we are a top rated Hostel. Our rooms are newly renovated, clean and comfortable. We just added a new Game Room, Gym and Coin Laundry Machines. Offering a fantastic complimentary breakfast and free WiFi internet. Private suites and dorm rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porto Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porto Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing