We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Pelourinho”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahiacafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bahiacafe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place in Pelourinho”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found such a lovely hotel in the old centre of Salvador. It felt clean, safe, cosy and the breakfast ("café de manhã") was great. Beautifully decorated. The nice Belgium owner Michel was very helpful, so was the rest of his staff. Nice caipirinhas in the bar and dnot to forget the delicious acaí. It was great to finally find good wifi connection in the room.Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanniedepannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    260
    54
    8
    16
See reviews for
79
294
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in the room for few nights and asked to move to another one because I thought they might have a better one but I was told that this is the standard room.
Pros: 1. Excellent location,
2. The hotel staff courteous and efficient.
3. Interesting renovation of an old building.
Cons: 1. No elevator and the stairs are quite steep.
2. No closet in the room. Just two very small shelves, one taken by the minibar products and the other one is 2 meters high.
3. The room door is old (probably original) with two wings, one of which closed with latches so the entry and exit from the room is through a margin of about 35 cm.
4. Very small bathroom, the small shower is half open (everything gets wet when used).
5. The bathroom door (in front of the lavatory seat) is again an old two wing shutter door which is not really closed.
6. The sink is in the room (the bathroom too small!) and has only cold water (little difficult to shave).
7. Breakfast is quite modest (compared to other hotels).
8. Dark linoleum floor drenches your feet if you walk barefoot.
9. The room's window is looking into the shaft of the sewer and water pipes and you cannot open it due to odor and noise.
10. There is no full size mirror in the room (just a small one above the sink).

Room Tip: Check the room's window before!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehudwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent just a night at Bahiacafè last august. Everything was perfect: excellent breakfast, with a large choice of fruit and sweets, clean and comfortable rooms, kind staff. The building is a typical bahian house (just mind the stair especially when you bring up your case!) with original pavement and furniture. Closed to the city center, it's a good choice for a quick visit of Bahia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated hotel in the heart of the historic city centre. Walking distance to main sites of interest, great shops, elevator (mercado modelo), restaurants, and live music. Hotel staff speak English and are helpful, although information can be vague so be specific about what you want to know. Room sometimes smells like a dirty mop after initial cleaning. Breakfast buffet is excellent for selection and flavour. Beach and nightlife is accessible by bus or taxi. I would definitely recommend this one and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I could give this hotel a 2 star were not consider the front desk guy who is very helpful and dedicated. The hallway smells and the room is small, dark and smell funny. The stairway to clime to the room is quite steep; I was quite nervous every time I used it. There is nobody to help us on luggage on the day we check out; I have to drag the luggage down the stair step by step. No coffee maker in room, no screen on the window and have to shut them all day to avoid the mosquito. If you want to have a local map you have to pay. Pelourinho is very depressing and I felt I am the prisoner since tourist police guard every corner of the square to don’t let tourist side track to the alley, which I was told is very dangerous! I will stay at Barra instead of the old town, which has much better and affordable hotel and not facing poverty 24 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liaohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Terrific position, decent and a little arty rooms and valuable breakfast. Bahiacafe is a fantastic medium budget choice for those want to explore the heart of pelourinho. No elevators, so pay attention to the stairs if you're staying at the second color. The guys at the concierge were very helpful and arranged a pick-up car to Praia do forte at a reasonable cost, far less than what the tourist offered. Enjoy salvador and boa sorte.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Satie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I feel a bit sorry to give such a Bad review for this hotel but during our several stays in south
America we never had such a noisy, smelly room, noisy hotel.
We had the room nr one which is the worst one you CAN get, ever, it should not be rented, or not at that price.
In the first floor, in between the all area and close to breakfast room, so every moring be sure to be
Awake at 5-5 30, plus all the gest walking and shouting in the corridor makes your mornîng quite horrible.
Even late at night gest are arriving and shout in all floors, while the doorman just say
Nothing for them to be quite for sleeping customers
In addition of that, lots of work in the hotel, so all day noisy and horrible gutter smell invade all the room and floors.
BF was ok , location is perfect i should say, and welcom was very good, evening one, nice Guy, rendy to help, but please ask guest to S up when coming late at night!!!!
Troom are quite small, hotel is a nice colonial one.
City is nice to visit two days, thats all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexfrombrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#6 of 111 in Salvador
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 111 in Salvador
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahiacafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahiacafe Hotel

Property: Bahiacafe Hotel
Address: Praca da Se 22 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40020-210, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#18 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahiacafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahiacafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahiacafe Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing