We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road hotel”
Review of Mar Brasil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mar Brasil Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Middle of the road hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Location: The hotel is located near the airport in place called Itapua. It is far away from the city centre, and the historical places,about 1 hour by car and 1,30 by bus. The beach is across the road from the hotel. The beach is very nice but restaurants and shop are at least 10 minutes by bus.



The hotel is build in the grounds of Vinicius Moraes house,which is there as a kind of museum. The building is only a 2 storey block with sea view rooms or garden view rooms. I had a sea view one and can be a bit noisy due to the traffic of the main road.



Facilities: The hotel has 2 small swimming pools, lovely gardens and children play ground. Has also a business centre with free internet and free WiFi all around the hotel. There is a small restaurant reasonable priced that save you go go out to find the nearest one.



Rooms: I had a sea view one on the ground floor. The room has a small fridge a good size flat screen TV, air condition and safety box. As a welcome they leave a big bottle of mineral water. It´s a shame that they do not extend the courtesy to at list a small bottle a day since the is no drinkable water.



Breakfast: very good selection of fruits, breads,cakes, some hot sausages and cold meat. Scrambled eggs not made with real eggs but edible, juices, yogurt, cereals, etc. There is something for everyone.



The hotel won the trip advisor awards in 2012, and although is nothing wrong with it, just getting a bit tired and need a bit of modernization specially in the reception area, it is just no so special to deserved the award. The staff is great but still the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and not so peaceful if you choose a sea view room.



I will define the hotel as a middle of the road one, very good for families with children but no so sure for those looking for action or the ones who want peace and quiet. I wander how the hotel copes with those 2 small swimming pools at high season, or when the hotel is full.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your complete review that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

We hope to be able to serve you again.

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    433
    88
    14
    9
See reviews for
361
382
33
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good Hotel in Salvador, good place and good stuff , good location, relaxation and very good Hotel ,Good Hotel in Salvador, good place and good stuff , good location, relaxation and very good Hotel, i was in Salvador about 5-9 Aug 2012 for conference ,

Room Tip: pool view room in very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nader1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear friends,

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and staff. And thank you for your evaluation.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went there with my parents in Sep/2012. From the reviews and since it was an award winner I was expecting much more.
The rooms are clean and big but they seem to be a little bit old. The breakfast is good including fruits, cereals, egg, tapioca, etc. The hotel area is also great.
There is free wifi which I could only use at the reception.
If you want to go to Salvador and stay near the beach on a calm area, this hotel is OK. Otherwise, look for a locations near "Farol da Barra", which there are good beaches and is not far from the historic center (Pelourinho, Elevador Lacerda,...).
The taxi from the airport to this hotel was about R$40,00.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corvolho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr Corvolho,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sowf-eest London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for a week or so a few years back. We had three rooms (myself, wife and then toddler son, parents in law and brother-in law and wife). Actually our ground floor room was more like an apartment. We arrived in Salvador and stayed our first night in a dive of a place just around the corner which we had booked in advance (actually an Apart-Hotel which probably could be good, and maybe is now, but was sloppily managed then). This was a few years back so I have no idea why we hadn't found the Mar Brasil in advance - I think the internet age had dawned - anyway that shouldn't be an issue now.

We were there in June (I think) and we felt like the only guests there although we had had to stay in a third hotel nearby for another night while we waited for this one to have the three rooms we needed (that third hotel was much better than the dive we stayed in the first night but just not as nice as the Mar Brasil). Incidentally, June is out of season for Brazilians (Xmas/New Year, "Carnaval", Easter or July, but not August, is high season there). Breakfasts were good being Brazilian pastries, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal, coffee and juice.

It's a fair distance, 30 minutes or more in a taxi, from the Historic City centre. However, there are excellent and famous beaches right on the doorstep (Itapua - immortalised in song too) and if you don't want the city there isn't really any need to go there. However we did, several times, by taxi. Brazil was still cheap then (R$5 or more to a UK £) and getting about by taxi was not a problem logistically or for the budget. The latter is probably not the case now (2012 about R$3.2 to a UK £, however, it was about R$2.6 to a £ not long ago so it's not as "bad" as it has been). For the adventurous +/or confident there are public buses and also, I think, private mini-buses. For the very adventurous and budget conscious there are motorbike taxis. Of course you could hire a car.

Although well outside the city proper the local area is still fairly urban and there are many places to eat - both on the beach during the day and in the evening on the seafront or local streets. We ate out mostly - there is (was?) an excellent and inexpensive (then) but quite chic Italian restaurant nearby. The city has shows, attractions and reputably a vibrant night time economy though I was too old (and married) even then to experience that personally. They say "carnaval" here is more participatory than in Rio. There's a couple of decent football teams too.

For the Hotel I think the pictures tell the story more or less and the rates are still competitive at about £50-£60 a night - though probably much more at high season and particularly at "carnaval" (personally I think "carnaval" over-rated anyway but then I'm old and grumpy as well as married).

I have no idea whether or not they speak English as my wife is Brazilian and even I speak the lingo too. , They probably do, a bit.

Room Tip: Worth getting a ground floor room with direct access to the pool and grounds if you have kids with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank androo235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken your time to produce this complete evaluation which offers a complete review of the neighbourhood to the next visitors.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here on our way from Salvador to the airport. They allowed us to checkin early and we had a nice day at the beach and the pool. The rooms were fair but very clean and the restaurant was fine.
The only issue we had was that we were charged for an executive room with ocean views - I don't know what type of room we had but I wouldn't have thought it was executive and it certainly didn't have ocean views! However when you are struggling with the language it is difficult to say that you think you are paying for something you didn't get!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kamema,

Thank you for your evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service. We hope to be able to serve you again and have the opportunity to talk to you personally (in English)!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Liked:
Location for airport: good, just 15 min. by taxi so great for the night before an early flight.

Location for beach: good, just across the road from Itapua beach - a very pretty beach, good for surfing though can be dangerous for swimming.
Rooms spacious and comfortable and good breakfast.

Location for meals: a couple of nice local restaurants nearby, just past the petrol/gasoline station. Good for lunches but possibly unsafe in the dark.


Disliked:
Location for sightseeing: not good - far from Salvador's historic centre so need to take bus (cheap) or taxi (expensive). Also, dangerous to go out after dark (risk being mugged!) so not good for seaside walks after sunset.

Neighbourhood: not much to do other than beach: few shops or restaurants close by, which is a problem at night if want a change from hotel restaurant (see below).

Hotel restaurant: good, ample breakfasts but lunch/dinner meals very disappointing. Menu items sound exotic but were disappointing, sauces over-sweet and under-flavoured. Would probably be better sticking to traditional Bahian cooking. Not many alternative options at night, given poor security of surrounding area (hotel staff advise against walking around after dark).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, General Manager at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Mr Clarx,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

We hope to be able to serve you again !

Attentively
Renata Proserpio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had been quite careful of what we ate while we traveled but wanted to try palm hearts. I ended up in hospital from mishandled food in their restaurant...not what I expected. Thought you could probably trust a hotel...be careful
Otherwise Renata at the front desk was very helpful and gave us a tour of the compound (gated) including the free business center, pools etc. Most of the other staff didn't speak English but there always seemed to be at least one person on shift who did. The rooms are more like apartments with kitchens, eating areas, sofas as well as a separate bedroom and bath. We faced the ocean and overlooked the pools which was nice. The rooms are a bit older and showing signs of wear but were clean with comfortable beds.
If you are planning to tour around the city be prepared for long cab rides in crazy bumper to bumper traffic. It took at least an hour to get into town or back. Good thing is that the tours will pick you up and return you to the hotel and save you the expensive cab fair. Also, not an area for shopping, the two large malls are closer to the center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa L, Gerente de relações públicas at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2016
We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Catussaba Resort Hotel
#40 of 111 in Salvador
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Brasil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Brasil Hotel

Property: Mar Brasil Hotel
Address: Rua Flamengo Loteamento Jd. Encantamento 44 | Farol de Itapuã, Salvador, State of Bahia 41635-480, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Itapua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#4 Family Hotel in Salvador
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#5 Business Hotel in Salvador
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Brasil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Brasil is a charming hotel located across from Farol de Itapua beach, right among the best beaches in the city and just 10 minutes away from the airport. It is attached to Vinicius de Moraes' House, the place where the poet lived in Bahia. It is the perfect combination between a heavenly place to rest and a strategically located place for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mar Brasil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Brasil Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing