We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar Brasil Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Golden Tulip Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mercure Salvador Boulevard(Salvador)(Great Value!)
$57
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
$89
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Othon Palace(Salvador)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho(Salvador)(Great Value!)
$44
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahiamar Hotel(Salvador)
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Salvador Business & Flat(Salvador)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
553
456
96
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
456
96
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe beach is very nicebossa novanice hotelmorro de sao paulostayed here for nightshistoric centermoquecacomposertaxiairportbeachesstreetneighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went there with my parents in Sep/2012. From the reviews and since it was an award winner I was expecting much more.
The rooms are clean and big but they seem to be a little bit old. The breakfast is good including fruits, cereals, egg, tapioca, etc. The hotel area is also great.
There is free wifi which I could only use at the reception.
If you want to go to Salvador and stay near the beach on a calm area, this hotel is OK. Otherwise, look for a locations near "Farol da Barra", which there are good beaches and is not far from the historic center (Pelourinho, Elevador Lacerda,...).
The taxi from the airport to this hotel was about R$40,00.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrianoavoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Mr Corvolho,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively

Renata Proserpio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for a week or so a few years back. We had three rooms (myself, wife and then toddler son, parents in law and brother-in law and wife). Actually our ground floor room was more like an apartment. We arrived in Salvador and stayed our first night in a dive of a place just around the corner which we had booked in advance (actually an Apart-Hotel which probably could be good, and maybe is now, but was sloppily managed then). This was a few years back so I have no idea why we hadn't found the Mar Brasil in advance - I think the internet age had dawned - anyway that shouldn't be an issue now.

We were there in June (I think) and we felt like the only guests there although we had had to stay in a third hotel nearby for another night while we waited for this one to have the three rooms we needed (that third hotel was much better than the dive we stayed in the first night but just not as nice as the Mar Brasil). Incidentally, June is out of season for Brazilians (Xmas/New Year, "Carnaval", Easter or July, but not August, is high season there). Breakfasts were good being Brazilian pastries, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal, coffee and juice.

It's a fair distance, 30 minutes or more in a taxi, from the Historic City centre. However, there are excellent and famous beaches right on the doorstep (Itapua - immortalised in song too) and if you don't want the city there isn't really any need to go there. However we did, several times, by taxi. Brazil was still cheap then (R$5 or more to a UK £) and getting about by taxi was not a problem logistically or for the budget. The latter is probably not the case now (2012 about R$3.2 to a UK £, however, it was about R$2.6 to a £ not long ago so it's not as "bad" as it has been). For the adventurous +/or confident there are public buses and also, I think, private mini-buses. For the very adventurous and budget conscious there are motorbike taxis. Of course you could hire a car.

Although well outside the city proper the local area is still fairly urban and there are many places to eat - both on the beach during the day and in the evening on the seafront or local streets. We ate out mostly - there is (was?) an excellent and inexpensive (then) but quite chic Italian restaurant nearby. The city has shows, attractions and reputably a vibrant night time economy though I was too old (and married) even then to experience that personally. They say "carnaval" here is more participatory than in Rio. There's a couple of decent football teams too.

For the Hotel I think the pictures tell the story more or less and the rates are still competitive at about £50-£60 a night - though probably much more at high season and particularly at "carnaval" (personally I think "carnaval" over-rated anyway but then I'm old and grumpy as well as married).

I have no idea whether or not they speak English as my wife is Brazilian and even I speak the lingo too. , They probably do, a bit.

Room Tip: Worth getting a ground floor room with direct access to the pool and grounds if you have kids with you. Views are better on upper floors. They charge extra for sea-views, but that's not unusual is it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank androo235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken your time to produce this complete evaluation which offers a complete review of the neighbourhood to the next visitors.

We hope to be able to serve you again!

Attentively

Renata Proserpio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here on our way from Salvador to the airport. They allowed us to checkin early and we had a nice day at the beach and the pool. The rooms were fair but very clean and the restaurant was fine.
The only issue we had was that we were charged for an executive room with ocean views - I don't know what type of room we had but I wouldn't have thought it was executive and it certainly didn't have ocean views! However when you are struggling with the language it is difficult to say that you think you are paying for something you didn't get!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, Gerente geral at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Mrs. Kamema,

Thank you for your evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service. We hope to be able to serve you again and have the opportunity to talk to you personally (in English)!

Attentively,

Renata Proserpio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Liked:
Location for airport: good, just 15 min. by taxi so great for the night before an early flight.

Location for beach: good, just across the road from Itapua beach - a very pretty beach, good for surfing though can be dangerous for swimming.
Rooms spacious and comfortable and good breakfast.

Location for meals: a couple of nice local restaurants nearby, just past the petrol/gasoline station. Good for lunches but possibly unsafe in the dark.


Disliked:
Location for sightseeing: not good - far from Salvador's historic centre so need to take bus (cheap) or taxi (expensive). Also, dangerous to go out after dark (risk being mugged!) so not good for seaside walks after sunset.

Neighbourhood: not much to do other than beach: few shops or restaurants close by, which is a problem at night if want a change from hotel restaurant (see below).

Hotel restaurant: good, ample breakfasts but lunch/dinner meals very disappointing. Menu items sound exotic but were disappointing, sauces over-sweet and under-flavoured. Would probably be better sticking to traditional Bahian cooking. Not many alternative options at night, given poor security of surrounding area (hotel staff advise against walking around after dark).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbrasilhotel, General Manager at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Dear Mr Clarx,

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

We hope to be able to serve you again !

Attentively
Renata Proserpio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had been quite careful of what we ate while we traveled but wanted to try palm hearts. I ended up in hospital from mishandled food in their restaurant...not what I expected. Thought you could probably trust a hotel...be careful
Otherwise Renata at the front desk was very helpful and gave us a tour of the compound (gated) including the free business center, pools etc. Most of the other staff didn't speak English but there always seemed to be at least one person on shift who did. The rooms are more like apartments with kitchens, eating areas, sofas as well as a separate bedroom and bath. We faced the ocean and overlooked the pools which was nice. The rooms are a bit older and showing signs of wear but were clean with comfortable beds.
If you are planning to tour around the city be prepared for long cab rides in crazy bumper to bumper traffic. It took at least an hour to get into town or back. Good thing is that the tours will pick you up and return you to the hotel and save you the expensive cab fair. Also, not an area for shopping, the two large malls are closer to the center.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa L, Gerente de relações públicas at Mar Brasil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

We thank you for having taken your time to fill our evaluation that give us the opportunity to increase our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews