We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but good service and not too posh”
Review of Boi Preto Grill

Boi Preto Grill
Ranked #8 of 8,173 Restaurants in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good service and not too posh”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Bahian people say the best two rodizio-style "churrascarias" are Boi Preto and Fogo no Chão. (Rodizio means all-you-can-eat and prepared for each customer -- in the case of churrasco, meat-cutters come around with different kinds of grilled meat on skewers to your table and cut a slice on the spot.) We went for a sunday lunch at around 3pm. The place was full, but they gave us a waiting number and we were seated in less than 10 minutes. I was expecting a much more stuffy, posh atmosphere, but Boi Preto turned out to be a good restaurant with quite a relaxed atmosphere -- you don't need to dress up.
The food is certainly good. There is a varied buffet with mostly whatever you might want to eat -- from salads, paella, shrimps, smoked salmon, prosciutto, feijoada, to salmon sushi, strawberry/mango sushi, cheese, etc. At the table, I counted up to 16 kinds of meat, and surely there were more. I found that Brazilian people don't really concentrate on the meat alone. They come here to eat whatever they want -- some people were eating more sushi than meat.
All is good (and the air-conditioning is not too cold), but it surely isn't cheap. Rodizio per person, about R$90 plus 10% service charge, making it come up to about R$100 per person minimum. Waiters are attentive (in a good way) and keep on serving you beers until you tell them to stop! Half- size bottles of wine from around R$40. Coffee and dessert not included.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,033
    500
    103
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A real let down”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Apart from the buffet which was good everything else failed. Tired decor. Poor service - needed to ask for items many times over before it came. The beef at the table was dry and tough. Much better options than this is Salvador. The restaurant does not deserve its current rating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKbusinesstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I have ever been to”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the best restaurant I have ever been to. The food, service, ambience etc were superb. I cannot not imagine leaving this place hungry! The selection and quality of the food cannot be faulted. The fixed price did not seem expensive for the type of food available and the meat was of excellent quality - and a never ending supply. The waiters were eager to assist with language problems and readily explained the various cuts on offer. However, I wish I had missed the meat and just had the seafood, it was excellent. Far superior than the branch in Recife, in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great quality”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

All you can eat for fix price, quality of meat and buffet great and very friendly staff. Make sure you are hungry when entering the restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

You cannot visit Bazil without trying the churrascaria. The appetizer table itself was impressive and had alot of great options. Could have been a nice meal itself. The constant barrage of meat is just incredible and the food quality was excellent. Service was exceptional as the waiter was always there to proivde a clean plate or refill your drink. Prices were a bit on expensive side but it was well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simbadusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boi Preto Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boi Preto Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing