We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place in Pelourinho, Salvador”
Review of Hostel Galeria 13

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Galeria 13
Certificate of Excellence
Angers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place in Pelourinho, Salvador”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A perfect place to stay in the Pelourinho area. Staff helpful and friendly, location perfect, free access to internet,... and caipirina for free every day at tea time! Definetely I would recommend you Galeria 13 if you plan to go to Salvador.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmanuel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    153
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
127
216
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location and atmosphere! The staff was really friendly and helpful. Very clean and they have 2 lovely dogs. They own a bar just around the corner that serves great food and caipirinhas!You can enjoy them listening live music on the street. And if you are staying at the hoslet you have a discount.Definitely the perfect choise if you are staying in el salvador.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maru_lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a good time in Salvador at Galeria 13. The staff was very friendly and helpful - they even made sure my little boy could enjoy happy hour with everyone with a virgen caiperina!

The hostel is located in the heart ofthe Pelourinho where you'll find lots of restaurants and nightlife. The Pelourinho is noisy regardless of where you stay. Those looking for a calm and relaxing stay in Salvador should perhaps consider a different part of town.

The 4 of us shared a small privated bath which, because of the small size quickly got wet. However, it was cleaned by the staff everyday. The house is old and colonial. Sound proofing is therefore not great. The staff offered us to stay in the 2nd house of the hostel which could have added more tranquility - a few doors away - but we refused.

Overall, a nice place to stay that travelers to Salvador should consider.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRainville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived at the hostel by taxi, the journey took about 30 minutes from the airport directly to the hostel's front door and cost about 107 $RS. We have since found out that this is the standard rate for airport taxis to the Pelourinho district of Salvador so don't be shocked by the price especially if you have been used to paying a lot less in Brazil. It is cheaper to get a taxi through the hostel and will cost 80 $RS which we did on the return.

The hostel itself is well located in the Pelourinho District, within easy reach of countless bars and restaurants. There are lots of police around, but we never saw any problems during our stay there, however it will give you that feeling of added security which I guess is nice in an unfamiliar place.

In the daytime you can walk from the hostel to the Elevador Lacerda (literally an elevator) which takes you down to the lower part of the town where there are most of the buses, a market and the port. The elevator costs 15 centavos but you may have to wait in line as it can get quite busy especially around lunchtime.

The hostel is nicely designed, with an outdoor seating area; small pool that unfortunately wasn't working when we were there and the Moroccan chill out room. The outdoor area may be a little too small as we struggled on occassion to find somewhere to sit for breakfast and happy hour. The bedroom we had was a double room with a small en-suite. The room was large and clean though one of the towels we were given had a dubious stain on it so we used our own towels. I am sure if we had complained about it they would have changed it for us. At night there was lots of stuff going on in the area around the hostel until the early hours and it could be quite noisy so take ear plugs (if you want somewhere really quiet I wouldn't recommend the Pelourinho District).

The breakfast in the hostel was ok, not the best I had in Brazil but not the worst. Their scrambled eggs are great though so definitely try that. A major plus in the evenings is that you get free caipirinhas during the hostels happy hour.

The staff were really helpful answering all our questions and seem to know the area very well. There is also a notice board which is updated daily with events that are taking place around Salvador. Another plus point is that you get free Wi-Fi and there is a computer available in the reception area.

I would recommend visiting Salvador, but really plan what you are going to do before you arrive. By the end of 3 days we were running out of things to do once we had seen and done the main touristy things and had a few nights out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MancWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We only stayed one night (unfortunately) but we were super happy with everything. Charming room, super clean, nice staff and the best breakfast we had in brazil (after traveling it for four weeks). The best thing at breakfast - you can have it until 12 and you get scrambled eggs made just for you. We would always come again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPopelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Its location is just perfect - a few blocks from the main square, good restaurants & shops. The hostels atmosphere + staff is great, they also serve very good breakfast. We stayed there during the weekend when you hear the music from every corner.
Andreja from SLovenia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anddre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Me and my gf went to salvador just for a day, but we'll keep very good memories of it. Very well located, this hostel worths a lot by its atmosphere. The people from the staff were really nice and polite (thanks Paulo and Wanda!), the facilities are clean and the rooms are confortable. One of the best hostels i've stayed in Brazil.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#7 of 111 in Salvador
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 111 in Salvador
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.3 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#17 of 111 in Salvador
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galeria 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galeria 13

Property: Hostel Galeria 13
Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 294 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Pelourinho, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are the three houses that make up the Galeria 13 experience: one for social travellers, one for those seeking a quieter stay, and TripAdvisor’s top rated Bar Zulu in between them.This unique blend of moods, sights and flavours has rendered us the Best Hostel in Brazil award as voted by HostelWorld members, and a place in Lonely Planet’s finicky section Our Pick along with some flattering words from the traveller’s holy book.No wonder: by staying with us you get tons of freebies, including our obscenely big breakfast until midday, caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Galeria 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing