We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostels I have ever been to”
Review of Hostel Galeria 13

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Galeria 13
Certificate of Excellence
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels I have ever been to”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Located right in the center of Bahia.
I spent there 3 nights with a couple of friends and had a nice experinece. The atmosphere is great and the service too taking into account the affordable price that you pay.
Bedrooms have capacity of 10 people in general but still clean. Breakfast is outstanding as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javi_lu87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    153
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
127
214
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location is great, very friendly and helpful crew, good breakfast. I liked the common areas that makes easier to know people. The lockers were too small, doesn't fit a backpack and the room I was (10 bed) had no key. Btw, I had a good time and I would go back / recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaeljrrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The place where the hostel is located is perfect because is in the center of pelourinho in the safe part of it. The hostel is organized in spaces that make people know each other, so is perfect to lonely traveller or to know people from all around the world.

The only thing we didn´t like was that was not so clean for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had one night in Salvador before heading to Morro De Sao Paulo. This hostel met all of our desires. We ended up booking it on line and thought we needed 2 rooms. When we arrived we found out we could have all stayed in 1 room. There was a double bed and a bunk bed( we are a family of 4) we kept the 2 rooms, but be specific when you call or e-mail. They arranged transport for us from the airport which was helpful. The driver was waiting outside security with a sign. Since we arrived at night and the area is not safe we were limited on where we could walk so we went to the hostel's restaurnat called Zulu which was excellent. Our room was clean, hot water,friendly staff and great breakfast that lasts from 8-12. If we had more time we would have stayed there 2 nights!

Room Tip: I would get a room on the 3rd floor. We were on the 2nd floor right over reception and it was a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

All the staff was nice and helpful, and the location of the hostel in Salvador was just perfect. They offered great activities every day!!! As a constructive suggestion "a femenine touch" with some nice Air Freshener could make the hostel even better!!! Thanks!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great hostel - good atmosphere, very clean, great location and amazing breakfasts. If you are going to stay in a hostel in Salvador stay here - end of. Big bunk beds nice and comfy. You will need to book ahead they are always full. They also own a really nice restaurant round the corner, it offers great veggie options and the portions are huge - plus you get a discount because you stay at the hostel.

One downside there is no kitchen to cook.

You must visit Salvador on a Tuesday the streets are alive with drums and this was a highlight of my month in Brazil.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well actually just a few :) :
The stay in Salvador was one of the best experiences with hostels I have made so far and I made a lot since I was traveling for 4 month ;) The location is simply perfect right in Pelourinho, the old center of Salvador. The bus from the airport stops only a 10 minute walk from the hostel (there you can also catch busses to other parts of the city!). The dorm rooms are big, cool (thank god for ACs) and clean as are all the facilities. I didn't get to use the pool (which is kinda hard to believe because it is so inviting to take a dip on a hot afternoon) because i was only there for 3 days and spend most of my time in the city. The owners of the hostel are really helpful with any question and request and give the best tips where to go and whats going on in town. The atmosphere with many international travelers is super social and the moment you step into the hostel you are surrounded by interesting, awesome people with many stories to hear and share. I immediately joined a really international group of travelers and we took off to see Salvador's nightlife. And not to forget the breakfast! More than you could wish for and since it is till 12 (if I am not mistaken) you definitely get to sleep long enough after a long night ;) Oh and those nights most often start at 5PM when everyone gathers for Caipirinha-Happyhour (free Caipi, best invention since Oxygen)... had nice chats and met a bunch of the nicest people there, i hope to stay in contact for a while :) The few days I was there it never got boring and i enjoyed every moment ;) For young travelers like me on a budged (backpacker) this is definitely the pick in Salvador but really i can recommend the hostel to anyone who likes a social, neat place with a great location and good value for your money. Enjoy!
PS: If you go there say hi to Spartan and Zulu and give them a pet from me!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeelTheFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#6 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galeria 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galeria 13

Property: Hostel Galeria 13
Address: Rua da Ordem Terceira 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Pelourinho, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are the three houses that make up the Galeria 13 experience: one for social travellers, one for those seeking a quieter stay, and TripAdvisor’s top rated Bar Zulu in between them.This unique blend of moods, sights and flavours has rendered us the Best Hostel in Brazil award as voted by HostelWorld members, and a place in Lonely Planet’s finicky section Our Pick along with some flattering words from the traveller’s holy book.No wonder: by staying with us you get tons of freebies, including our obscenely big breakfast until midday, caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Galeria 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing