We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very clean pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde
Ranked #6 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and very clean pousada”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just in the centre of Barra this pousada offers a nice and convenient location to visit Salvador and surroundings. It is very clean and one of the receptionist (Apuana) is very friendly and helpful. I can’t say the same of the others. Wonderful breakfast! The room at first floor are nice, even though too small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0renza_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    89
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
69
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed nine days at Papaya Verde and never got tired of the location or the staff. As a solo female traveler, I never felt unsafe. My room was cozy and always clean. The shower worked well and the internet incredible. I loved the quite location, lovely garden and the shaded balcony with comfy hammocks. There were plenty of restaurants, cafés and beachside eateries to keep me happy. A large shopping mall, cash ATM, bus stops and beaches were easily accessible. The front desk staff helped with explaining bus stops, transport, and made lovely suggestions for outings and even scheduled me an appointment in a nearby beauty salon. The morning breakfast had a tremendous variety of cakes and savory tortes, fresh fruit, cheese and granola. The only thing missing was black tea. I will defiantly stay here again. Great value for the money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a long trip from the US i get there and the room is not ready. Had to wait for hours. The internet did not work in half the pousada, and the owner was extremely rude! When I asked him about the internet and the delay on the room he said I could leave if i didn't like it. truly awful.
the room was so tiny i couldn't even walk from the bed to the small bathroom. the towels and sheets were old and faded. there was not even a blanket in the room! TV didn't work.
The only 2 positive things were: the girls at the reception were very sweet and nice, and the breakfast was great! oh, and they don't take Credit/Debit cards!
I would NOT recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy a hotel/pousada in Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AileenElKadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaPapayaVerde, Proprietário at Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Google Translation
Querida Aileen,

a senhora chegou na nossa casa em torno de 7.30hrs da manha e a nossa Pousada era 100% lotada a noite anterior.
O check-out e ate 12.00hrs, isso quer dizer que os hospedes podem ficar dentro dos quartos ate esse horário. Depois do check-out os quartos ainda precisam ser arrumados. Em caso um quarto não foi alugado no dia anterior ou hospedes saiam mais cedo dos quartos, não tem problemas de fazer um check-in antecipado.
No seu caso infelizmente o quarto estava ocupado ate meio dia. Como a senhora não queria reservar a noite anterior (para poder entrar qualquer horário durante a noite ou já pela manha) a gente tinha que esperar o hospede sair. Quando a senhora ficou muito agitada em frente de outros clientes, o meu sócio ainda ofereceu de devolver o seu dinheiro do deposito, que você não queria aceitar.
No nosso site da Pousada e em cada e-mail e informado que não aceitamos cartão de credito nem cheques e por isso perguntamos um deposito de garantia para reservar um quarto.

Nosso lençóis e de primeira qualidade e as nossas toalhas foram recentemente, de novo, trocados.

Como a nossa Pousada e um prédio antigo com muros muito grossos, o sinal do internet e da TV em alguns quartos esta mais fraco. No seu quarto a TV estava funcionando sim, mas como a gente ainda não instalou TV a cabo (que vai ser feito em breve!) o seu quarto recebeu só 2 canais de boa qualidade. Cobertores estão disponível na recepção.

Cordialmente,

Pousada Papaya Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, nice location, very friendly and helpful staff (but some are hard to communicate with in portuguese). Safe to move around in the area, even at night. Breakfast was the best of all the pousadas we did in Brasil, missed it all through the rest of the trip....

One point that could be better, bathroom in the room could have been a little cleaner, especially the showerhead (and I don't mean the wiring, that is shabby all through Brasil...)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to Salvador to visit a friend, and booked several rooms at Papaya Verde upon his suggestion - we're so thankful that he discovered this little slice of paradise! Quaint little B&B with charming colors and decorations. The rooms are small, bathrooms even smaller... but who needs much time in the room when there's so much to see & do in Salvador?! Staff was friendly and helpful with our every request. Breakfast is certainly one of the highlights, as everything is freshly picked, squeezed or baked! We left Salvador for Boipeba... but then returned to Papaya Verde for one last night before heading to Rio. Would definitely recommend staying here. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WenJenBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived late on a wet night to be met by a warm welcome. This pousada is a friendly unpretentious place in Barra neighbourhood. Breakfast is legendary and with reason as the cook outdoes everyone else with lots of freshly baked cakes and wonderful fresh fruit. Good coffee and a selection of teas as well as cheeses and ham are on offer too. Marco, one of the owners, was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and quiet. If you want a luxury hotel go elsewhere, this is a place with real hospitality and excellent staff for real travellers. Lots of Brazilians as well as Germans were there during our short stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BathBun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Papaya Verde is a great little inn, close to the ocean and nice restaurants in Barra. As previous reviewers already stated, the place is a gem. The rooms are simple, but very clean and comfortable, the breakfast is really good and the staff is very courteous and helpful. I recommend this pousada to anyone that is looking for a good and affordable place to stay in a safe neighborhood in Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WBIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.4 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#26 of 111 in Salvador
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#32 of 111 in Salvador
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Pousada Salvador
Hotel Pousada Salvador
#7 of 154 in Salvador
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada O Ninho
Pousada O Ninho
#12 of 154 in Salvador
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Estrela do Mar
Pousada Estrela do Mar
#9 of 154 in Salvador
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde

Property: Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde
Address: Rua Engenheiro Milton Oliveira 177, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-100, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Barra, one of the best areas of Salvador, where you can find some of the nicest beaches of the city. Just a 3-minute walk to the first beach, 5 minutes to the "harbour of Barra" and located in a quiet and safe neighborhood. A tropical garden with exotic flowers and plants and a variety of song birds give you the impression of staying in a green oasis in the heart of Salvador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing