We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and quiet place.”
Review of La Villa Francaise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villa Francaise
Ranked #15 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
Willebroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good and quiet place.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent a few day with Stéphanie and Nathalie (the very kind owners of the Villa Française) at the end of July 2013. The pousada is not located in the historical center of the city; it is however well located in a popular, but very nice and safe, neighborhood (called Barra) very close to the city beach. A lot of relatively cheap (but nice) restaurants. The historical center is easily reachable by public transport.
The rooms are simple, but very clean and everybody in the pousada is helpful and make a point to help you if you need something. Breakfeasts were perfect.
Mind the fact that some rooms upstairs to do not have large windows (that could bother some persons). Ask maybe the rooms located downstairs. Note that no rooms have special views (the pousada is located in a street surrounded with walls).
We did enjoy our stay here and we can only advice the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
72
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Uma pousada excelente que fica no bairro costeiro de Barra – é um lugar ideal se você quiser passar o tempo na praia (em Salvador mesmo ou na Costa dos Coqueiros) assim como se você quiser conhecer o centro da cidade. Stéphanie e Natalie são muito simpáticas, acolhedoras e multilíngues com um bom conhecimento de Salvador e da Bahia. Além disso, o café da manhã caseiro incluso no preço do quarto é muito gostoso! Elas podem organizar um translado ao/do aeroporto que sai muito menos caro do que a tarifa de um taxi normal – vale a pena com certeza. É dinheiro bem empregado!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne2312013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-près-Céligny
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this very French pousada in a great location in Salvador. Lots of nice restaurants and bars nearby. The place is very quiet though. The room was simple but had enough space for all our luggage and was very clean. The bathroom was really tiny...
Breakfast was good. I think it's a good place for young couples, groups of friends and families staying little time. Natalie is very friendly and if you are a French speaker like us, you'll feel at home!

Room Tip: Send them an email before arriving and tell your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from ten days in Brazil. Our trip started in Salvador, and we were pleased with our stay at La Villa Francaise. Stephanie is a wonderful host who speaks English well and is a wealth of information on the local area. Not only does she provide helpful tips on visiting Salvador, but she loves to share her insights on the local Bahaian culture. The guesthouse itself is very comfortable with clean rooms, plentiful air-conditioning, hot water, and a nice dining area that serves a fine breakfast.

Its location is also superb. The guesthouse sits in Barra, on a quiet street, around the corner from a small bar/restaurant area that is lively and safe. The beach is an easy ten-minute walk as are the bus stops to the Pelourinho and other areas. We spent Sunday night down the street, watching soccer with the locals. It's a great scene.

Stephanie spoke of the glowing review she received from Lonely Planet and how proud she was of her guesthouse. She moved to Salvador from France six years ago with no guarantees, she said, and the positive reviews are validation of their hard work and determination. Her two teenage children help out as well, and it was refreshing to see them take an active role in running the place. Stephanie's pride is well-earned as she's done a great job with the guesthouse. It's a wonderful place to stay. We wished we had spent one more day in Salvador.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenmtnwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The quality and good value of this excellent, well located Pousada was highlighted when I tried to find another Pousada near by for some friends when La Villa Fancaise was full. Nothing in the area even came close! Rooms in La Villa Francaise are spotless, airy and bright; breakfast is very good and the location is excellent - (close to the beach, restaurants and bars in a safe area), - and its really easy to get to the old town by local bus. However what makes this place really special is Natalie and Stephanie who will make you feel like a friend in their home. They will sit you down and explain in detail how to navigate the city and explain what the "must sees" are, as well as give good sound advice about onward travel etc. It may be worth mentioning a particular highlight for me was, they have real soap! Those of you who have travelled a bit in Brazil, may share my joy when you find a properly sized, nicely smelling bar of soap in your bathroom! Heaven! Book ahead, the place fills up quickly for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nathalie & Stephanie, French owners, will do everything to make your stay worth it. They are cheerful and welcoming. We stayed 3 nights and could count on their advice to know what to do in Salvador, and have directions. Rooms are simple but clean. The breakfast is excellent and the location in Barra is peaceful but also very convenient, close to the beaches. I would definitely recommend staying in Barra, going to the Pelourinho is not so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloliv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in La Villa Francaise - can't say enough good things about the friendly and extremely helpful owners - highly recommended. Their French / English speaking ability proved very helpful to non Portuguese speakers!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.4 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#25 of 111 in Salvador
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Novo
Village Novo
#62 of 111 in Salvador
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ondina Apart Hotel
Ondina Apart Hotel
#52 of 111 in Salvador
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#22 of 111 in Salvador
1,461 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#21 of 111 in Salvador
2,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Francaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Francaise

Property: La Villa Francaise
Address: Rua Recife 222 | Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-330, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Villa Francaise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Francaise will welcome you in a typical traditional Brazilian Guesthouse and is very convenient for the main Salvador touristic sites. La Villa Francaise is a family Guesthouse located in the heart of Barra’s area, one of the favorite places for Brazilian nightlife, a lively residential area, with bars, restaurants, and shopping Centers. La Villa Francaise is centrally sited between the beaches of Farol do Barra and Porto do Barra, downtown Salvador. (5 mins. walking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Villa Francaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Francaise Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing