We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Salvador, Bahia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Villa Francaise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villa Francaise
Ranked #12 of 146 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Salvador, Bahia”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in La Villa Francaise - can't say enough good things about the friendly and extremely helpful owners - highly recommended. Their French / English speaking ability proved very helpful to non Portuguese speakers!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
72
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Nathalie and Stephanie are such wonderful hosts, they will make your stay.

The pousada is in the beach suburb, away from the old town and only a short bus ride away. The old town was a bit overwhelming so it was nice to get away from it.

The pousada is in a safe area and close to the supermarket if you would like to cook your own meals in the kitchen. Everything was very clean and the breakfasts were really good.

Its really expensive to get into Salvador from the airport by taxi - all cabs charge a fixed fee of R$105. If you can, get the local bus which cost us R$2.80 - over 20 times cheaper!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blancogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here for carnival and it was perfect. Far enough away so you didn't get any of the noise from the parade, but only a 10 minute walk from the parade route.

The breakasts were fantastic! Fresh juice, coffee, tea, freshly baked cakes and most importantly a toasted sandwich maker!

The rooms were cleaned daily and were spacious. (we were in a private double). The wifi worked fine in our room and the shower had hot water (not that you need it here!). The only downsides were the bad mattress and old pillows and the aircon was incredibly noisy.

There is a communal kitchen and chill out area which was a great place to meet people, although the kitchen was more like a kitchenette, and only had place for one person to cook at one time.

Stephenie, her kids and staff were friendly and very helpful.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a fine clean room for 5 days and was guided by the prof. and helpful owners.
Very good value for the money. Safe area with cozy beach near by and several good restaurants. Nice to be able to make a little food/coffe etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a good value for money place, in a great position. They were very helpful with transport and what to do plus it was very clean.
The rooms are basic and the air con old and noisy making it difficult to sleep.
Its more hostel than anything else and the shower is only a trickle. It's a shame the wi fi is only downstairs as it wouldn't cost that much to extend the wireless range so it reached upstairs.
However we were happy here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in October 2011. They arranged for car pickup for us from the airport (80R), went smoothly. Rooms were clean and had bottled water. We arrived late, and the next day we had a wonderful breakfast, one of the best we had in Brazil. The 2 owners were great, and helped us by going over all the best things to do in town, how to get around and where to eat. One speaks English very well, the other is more comfortable in French, both are very helpful and truly love what they are doing. They did mention that they were planning on selling however, so they may not be running this place for much longer.

The location is very nice. It is safe, close to the beach and near some lively streets great for food and nightlife. Within 2 blocks is the main bus station which has buses to town and the airport.

If you stay here, try to budget one day to hang out on the beach. It's small, but full of vendors selling food and drinks (great grilled cheese, coconuts and caipirinha) and fun people watching.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very nice and colorful pousada. Nathalie and Stephanie are very friendly and helpful. Barra is nice neighborhood to stay, I really recommend it. The beach and nice restaurants are at walking distance. You can easily take a bus or taxi to the historic centre of Salvador.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willemsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.1 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#26 of 111 in Salvador
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#23 of 111 in Salvador
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marazul Hotel
Marazul Hotel
#39 of 111 in Salvador
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#14 of 111 in Salvador
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Francaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Francaise

Property: La Villa Francaise
Address: Rua Recife 222 | Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-330, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Villa Francaise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Francaise will welcome you in a typical traditional Brazilian Guesthouse and is very convenient for the main Salvador touristic sites. La Villa Francaise is a family Guesthouse located in the heart of Barra’s area, one of the favorite places for Brazilian nightlife, a lively residential area, with bars, restaurants, and shopping Centers. La Villa Francaise is centrally sited between the beaches of Farol do Barra and Porto do Barra, downtown Salvador. (5 mins. walking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Villa Francaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Francaise Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing