We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to get relax. Luxurios”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Shalimar Praia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Porto Seguro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We lost our flight and Lan sent us to this hotel. It was really luxurious. The food was very good. A recomendation is having dinner early because late some menues run away. The swimming pool, the gym, the relax area, the staff are amazing.
Location: it is close but not very close. I need to take a bus or a taxi to go to the beaches and downtown. It is in the midle of those places. Very close to the airport. I did not pay because of what I explained before, but it is a little expensive I think (450 $R per night -standard doble room-).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nacholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 720 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel room was ok, but had strong damp smell! I got bitten by mosquitos and got a terrible allergy reaction which left my legs with red spots for at least 15 days, and still hasn't cleared up (around 6 months later) as they left dark marks on my legs. I had stayed in another hotel before moving to Shalimar only because they had 'better' internet wifi connection, but i regret it until today. The breakfast was good, had a variety of things and tasted very nice. After nearly a week in the hotel, in non-peak season (but still costing a LOT of money), we wanted to get a late checkout, but they said we would have to pay FULL price. RIDICULOUS!
Do not recommend it and would not go back there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laiane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very good base for exploring surroundings (within walking distance to restaurants and markets) and / or staying around swimming pool. Hotel is clean and staff is helpfull. It got a bit too busy during breakfast hours as the hotel was full. A good designated jogging/bike lane across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the leisure area seem to be better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machadoduque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My third visit to this hotel which I use due to its location with regard to a base for my business in Bahia. The rooms are of a good size and comfortable. The hotel Breakfast is also fine for the class of hotel.
Staff always helpful very little English but then I should learn Portuguese. Close to the airport with a good swimming pool to unwind after a day at work.The hotel offers good value when booked locally.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back overlook the pool and the front the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimosaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel is ok, I could even live with the cockroaches showing up in the bathrooms once in a while, it's just 3 minutes from the airport by car and within walking distance from the city center, the garden with swimming pool is very nice, BUT: be sure that you book a STANDARD room, NOT a luxury room. Sure, the latters have ocean view, but in this case this turned out to be a strong disadvantage because of the noisy street (the standard rooms with garden view are cheaper and quiter). Unfortunately, we could change the room because the hotel was fully booked. But yes, under the mentioned condition, I would still recommend it (if you don't fear our friend the cockroach, of course).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank boschung76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Hotel is not on the beach but we thought it would be fun to explore city and surronding towns. We reserved for a week long stay but arrived to find the hotel filled with groups of noisy junior high school age children running around the pool and halls night and day, noisy work going at the hotel, intermittent to non-existent in internet service, and to make matters worse so so breakfast and restaurant food. At least room was good sized, but horrible experience was so bad we left days earlier than planned because the management did not care to relocate us to quieter part of hotel and refused to offer a refund despite acknowledging the problems.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PMorganUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel is well located just outside of town across the road from the beach. It is the best option if you want a large resort style hotel while still being able to walk to the markets and restaurants to enjoy the nightlife of the town.

The hotel features a great pool area where ice cold beers are served to you without even having to get out of the water. The rooms are large and comfortable with king size beds (deluxe room) and cable tv. Free wifi internet although this varies in speed.

The food at the pool bar (which can also be delivered to your room at no extra charge) is very good. The prices are very reasonable. A can of Skol is R2.50 The breakfast is adequate with a limited selection but decent quality. The juices are watered down to the point that they have almost no flavour.

The only real negetive is that you should give yourself plenty of time to check out. When we tried to leave their visa card machine wasnt working and we had to run into town to get cash, almost missing our onward connection.

Free car park with 24 hour security.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasoninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Seguro hotels
7.1 mi away
Toko Village
Toko Village
#5 of 98 in Porto Seguro
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Solar do Imperador
Hotel Solar do Imperador
#24 of 98 in Porto Seguro
791 reviews
2.7 mi away
Brisa da Praia Hotel
Brisa da Praia Hotel
#17 of 98 in Porto Seguro
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Quinta do Sol Praia Hotel
Quinta do Sol Praia Hotel
#29 of 98 in Porto Seguro
645 reviews
3.4 mi away
Resort Villaggio Arcobaleno
Resort Villaggio Arcobaleno
#11 of 98 in Porto Seguro
1,135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nauticomar All Inclusive Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shalimar Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shalimar Praia Hotel

Address: Avenida Beira Mar 01 | Praia do Cruzeiro, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45810-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto Seguro
#16 Romantic Hotel in Porto Seguro
Price Range: $84 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Shalimar Praia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Shalimar Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Porto Seguro
Porto Seguro Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing