We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveler rating
392
322
123
40
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
392
322
123
40
30
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 907 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Best value for money in Porto Seguro. You get what you pay for, well bit more. I stayed there - 3 adults and a 6 months 4-9 of December 2017. Bit of a rocky check in (my fault) booked wrong room. Staff was super helpful even it took a moment before I realized that error was mine not theirs - sorry once again guys! Good breakfast, ok pool, nice to be able to go for sauna. Great view of Porto Seguro as the hotel is on the hill. You can walk to old town and city centre or get taxi for 3 euro. We were out all day sightseeing so we really needed only decent place to sleep. Rooms are large. Maybe not superb - few marks on the wall and old furniture but nothing that would really affect your stay. Decent food - again value for money. for less than 10 euro you get a tasty dinner. Staff- fantastic, 5*. Really nice people. Word of advise - all hotels downtown that are by the beach - well there is a road between them and the beach. I wouldn't stay in any other hotel in Porto Seguro if ever back to town.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiliPinheiro, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Solar do Imperador, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Sr. Greg,
Thank you for taking time to evaluate us.
We have a very efficient team ready to attend to all guests with excellence.
Be always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016

I had the chance to briefly stay in this true jewel in Porto Seguro while travelling on business, but I definitely intend to come back with my family! Hidden in its own tropical gardens full of birds a few hundred meters from the airport, overlooking the town and the sea (a 10-minute walk down the hill, safe to do by daylight), the hotel is themed with the Brazilian Empire history, characters and events. It has good free wi-fi, a very mice pool and good breakfast. Staff is very nice and helpful. Aircraft noise is heard but not really disturbing. Prices are quite reasonable and better than many lower options around the area. The only reason I won´t give it a 5-star review is because the Brazilian music played by the pool is a bit too loud and absolutely crappy - but sure enough some foreign guests like it. If you come to this region, do not miss this place in any case!

Room tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the pool because of the crappy and loud music played all day long.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solar D, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Solar do Imperador, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2016

Thank you for your excellent review and we look forward already a new visit.

Solar Emperor Hotel is proud to welcome people so dear to you !

See you later,

Att Naiara Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

The service is awesome and the hotel is very beautiful!!! The pool has such a great view and the bar by the pool is the delicious, all the food in the hotel is delicious starting from the breakfast and in the restaurant "adega". The people there is very nice and always want to help you. The hotel really inspires you it´s so beautiful

Room tip: todas son buenas
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solar D, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Solar do Imperador, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016


Mrs. Tamara , thank you for devoting part of their time in the review .

Your visit and satisfaction are extremely important for us to continue working in order to be closer and satisfying our customers .

We look forward already a revisit .

Att Naiara Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

i really enjoyed my time at this gem of a hotel - it has so much charm and is so different from the many soul-less sea-side hotels in porto.

very close to the airport, but dont be put off, the occasional plane overhead, does not spoil the tranquility.

the swimming pool terrace has fantastic views over porto seguro, jungle and the ocean, but you can still walk downhill into town or 5 minutes by shuttle bus .
porto has many sandy beaches all along the coast or you can take the bolsa (ferry) to arrail d'ajuda or trancoso - there are many good options.

the historic hotel has great character from lots of old dark wood and the beautiful mature gardens are well maintained and make this a tropical retreat. (the owner lives on-site so every detail is carefully considered and well maintained)

the real gem is the "secret" basement wine bar & restaurant. WOW! breathtakingly romantic! this is clearly a "labour of love" as every tiny detail adds to the enjoyment. lots of dark wood, candles, and wine related paraphernalia, it has to be seen to be believed, just wonderful!
the good range of wine is quite unusual in Brasil (mostly cold beer drinkers!) and a nice concise but thoughtful food menu.

the hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, just a lovely place to stay!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed at the Solar do Imperador for four nights. The staff was very friendly and the room we satyed in had a working TV and a nice air conditioner. The towels were changed every two days, the cleanliness of the rooms could improve. We had a very romantic dinner served by Mr. Sid in the cellar of the lords. Marildes ran the breakfast every morning and Maria suggested a pleasant boat trip. Not the best place to stay in Porto Seguro, but a decent place all around. Get a room as far away from the first building (check in). The main gate of hotel is very near to the landing strip of the airport. The pool is in the opposite end (rooms 21 through 27).

Room tip: Get a room as close to the pool as possible.
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCOLLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews