We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel for a 5 star price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

My family and I recently stayed in this hotel. Initial reaction - very picturesque. However, we found the rooms to be out dated, A/C did not work well, we had more bugs in our hotel room than we did the previous week while staying in the Amazon, and the food was average at best. Rooms are not large, but if updated could be nice. The restaurants on the property do not have a great variety of food and is overally priced. In addition, any activity (outside of Tennis - which the courts are below average) has an extra cost. Pool side service is slow, not due to the waiters and waitresses as they are rushing about, but due to having 1 person trying to service an entire area.

People were friendly and the beach and nearby river was beautiful and the water was warm and clean. Town is cute, has lots of restaurants and shops, and the Sea Turtle perserve is in town as well - a bit touristy, but interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

The location of the hotel is great. The hotel is very beautiful. The employees has the typical bahia simpathy. The problem is that everything in the hotel is expensive, drinks, food, internet, spa. And the standard suite is ridiculous for the price you pay. I had to change to the master room.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Its the 3rd time that we go to Praia do Forte Ecoresort and its the 3rd time that we get an AMAZING experience. The hotel is design for people that travel with children, there are strollers available (Yes! the hotel offers strollers so you dont need to take your own in the airplane), they have very professional nannies and a baby kitchen open 24 hours that serves soup twice a day, milk, cereal, biscuits, fruits just anything you need when you are a mother. The Resort is also great for you to relax as a couple, the spa is fantastic!
The rooms are just as described in the hotel website, the Deluxe is a very good option if you are a couple staying with one or two children, not only it has an amazing view but also gives you free access to the spa!
Well, we will go back to Praia do Forte Ecoresort for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erica_fri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

After reading the other reviews, we decided to splurge a little and stay here, rather than at one of the more budget minded places. The room was nice, the staff were nice, it was very pleasant, but it just did not seem to be worth the more than double price of other nice hotels or pousadas closeby. I failed to see what part was the "eco" in the ecoresort.. other than maybe a marketing ploy. The staff were pleasant and helpful, but most of Praia do Forte is right there in front of you and not hard to figure out own your own. Praia do Forte is a nice little beach town to hang out in for a few days. The TAMAR PROJECT was interesting and worth the time. The central pedestrian walkway - Alameda do Sol - was nice, as were the beaches. All in all, I will probably return to Praia do Forte, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingshoes2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This was the last stop on our honeymoon and was intended to be a week of relaxing by the pool and gentle sightseeing. The weather had other ideas! When the locals tell you the weather is not 'normal' you become alarmed...

Despite the almost constant rain we loved this resort. Approximately 1 hr from Salvador and ten minutes walk from the local village you can't ask much more of a resort.

On arrival we were advised they had upgraded us to a master room which was very spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, flat screen tv and well furnished bathroom. The resort is on a large site and there is a certain amount of walking involved, luckily for us under covered walkways! This had the advantage of our room being in a very quite location. The Goa Restaurant was lovely, the poolside bar served lovely cocktails, the evening entertainment was very talented and, on the whole, relaxing. We managed one day by the pool which was lovely looking out on the Atlantic Ocean. The massage in the Spa was lovely and reasonably priced in luxury surroundings.

The hotel arranged a day trip to Salvador with a lovely guide. We walked twice into Praia do Forte which is a nice little village. The turtle sanctuary is well worth a visit.

Be prepared for the fact that this resort is in a rainforest. We saw randomly roaming spider monkeys, iguanas, marsupials and small lizards. You will get fly pasts by the birds, butterflies and hummingbirds. Protect your food and drinks from the spider monkeys - they are extremely cheeky.

Only complaint was that the hotel charge for internet usage - in a 5 star resort!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed a week for our first trip to Brazil. We found the resort beautiful, and thoroughly enjoyed the beach, the food, the (generous) drinks, the peaceful spa and the various activities. You have to walk a good deal getting around the resort, but undet the palm thatched walkways that is enjoyable too. The hotel helped organise trip to Salvador city, golf rounds, and a mini-walk in the rainforest. Walking to the the nearby village is easy and provides lots of dining choice. But not much else to do around there. Taxis to other places are expensive, as distances are a bit long. The starry nights after dinner are incredible!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfingbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

The location is is really beautiful and even the organization of the Hotel (I mean Pool, beach, restaurants, overall service) is OK.

Rooms are very very basic and overall too expensive for the service you get, plus if you are unlike, your room might be 10 min. walking from the restaurant and pool....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapitoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mata de Sao Joao
0.6 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
756 reviews
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
6,446 reviews
14.7 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
411 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sauipe Premium
Sauipe Premium
#1 of 3 in Costa Do Sauipe
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte | Cerqueira Cesar, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range: $388 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for lovers of Brazil ecotourism, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is a 5-star Bahia hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area. Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, weddings, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing