We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an old hotel in good shape,and the best of all for me was the green area with plenty of chairs and umbrelas. Rooms are confortable but some may be far from the central area of pools and restaurants.I stayed 5 nights at the master and it was good enough for a couple.Beach is nice for walking and calm for swiming to both sides . To the left side you can reach the small village with restaurants and shops in a 15 minutes walking.Food is good and you have breakfast and dinner included . Breakfast has everything you need but dinner was only medium quality for me ( water ,juices, beer and soft drinks included only for dinner) . You can have free internet in 4 PCs at the bar but wifi was charged (best fare for 7 days ) . You can have lunch at the hotel with snacks or at the restaurant that I recomend Goa with a goop price and view of the big pool .Other option is walk to the village and try some restaurant. There is a good gym and an expensive and empty spa.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the central area because the hotel has a very wide shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEXRASSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    1,275
    346
    93
    69
See reviews for
1,984
790
55
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knowle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited in May 2013 and stayed for 7 nights after spending 3 nights in Rio. The hotel is beautifully situated in its own grounds which are landscaped to the beach. You are greeted by the customary welcome drink, with a clever twist for those not wanting alcohol, milk actually out of a coconut.

Our room was of a generally good standard. Not particularly large for a family of three (my daughter’s bed was put where the bed side table had been). We had a balcony with a hammock and distant view of the sea, whilst the bathroom was fairly large, there was no bath which was disappointing. One thing to bear in mind is that this place is very tropical and quite humid with it’s fair share of wild life! We literally had monkeys outside the room (they were all around the place but didn’t bother you), iguanas by the infinity pool and some of the insects/creatures were a bit different (chameleons, lizards and large beetles etc). However please don’t let that put you off. For this reason I would recommend an upstairs room (there are only two levels).

In terms of the food this looked and tasted fantastic. There was a different ornate buffet on every evening and there was always a talented acoustic guitarist/singer accompanying the meal. We didn’t realise at first but actually all beer and soft drinks were included, however one reason that we didn’t pick this up was that no one spoke English which did become quite a problem when we had to query things such as the wine etc. The desserts were also varied, elaborate and tasted good so I understand. One thing we hated was that the waitresses emptied all the food scraps in the restaurant on a food trolley like you were at school – horrendous!

At this point I need to disclose that after I had been in the resort for 24 hours I contracted a really nasty stomach bug which I battled with (and lost!) all week. I therefore tried bits of food in between starving myself and drinking bottled water. However I should say that both my wife and my 5 year old daughter were absolutely fine. We did see occasions though where we saw some food sitting around in the heat at lunchtime which did make me wonder if I was ill due to the lack of food hygiene – but clearly I have nothing to base this comment on.

Other negatives on this point would be the lack of concern for health and safety compared to European countries. We couldn’t believe, for example that the monkeys were above us in the open sided thatched restaurant at breakfast and ready to eat a roll or two when people weren’t looking. One amazing thing was that on every table was a note telling you facts about the cute monkeys, but also that if they bit you when you were feeding them you could catch RABIES! Ok maybe not feed the monkeys then!

Another thing that we weren’t happy with was that we saw what could only described as floating froth/scummy water on two of the pools, so again cleanliness wasn’t a strong point in this respect.
We also were not happy that on the last two days of our stay the hotel was totally taken over by what appeared to be a major Heineken worldwide conference. There must have been over 250 delegates, numerous Heineken promotional banners. What was amazing was the one spa area that the previous day had signs around it said ‘silent area’ had now become a bar for the Heineken delegates! How does that work?!

In terms of location, the hotel is just down the road from Praia de Forte. You can take a Tukituki there for just 20 riyals return and it takes just about 5 minutes to get there. There are numerous bars, gift shops and two supermarkets where you can buy water. There are also two pharmacies which came in useful for me!

The Turtle project is also at Praia de Forte you can walk to the town from the hotel but this is likely to take about 30-40 minutes if you feel inclined. We bought a trip through the ‘experience’ team at the hotel and went there on an air conditioned coach for a 45 minute tour. This was one of the highlights for us as we saw some baby turtles literally dug out the sand and placed on the shore to run into the sea. Amazing! We also saw some large adult Turtles in the sea when my wife and daughter were swimming about 30 metres from the shore and again this was an incredible sight.

There wasn’t much entertainment when we went but I think this was a quieter time of year. What was an incredible sight was the number of quite wealthy Brazilian families with their own nannies following them round. The hotel also offered a service whereby you could also put your child with an individual nanny from breakfast until 9pm! They actually had a session called ‘meet the parents’ at 9pm. I am not joking!

Overall I think the hotel is well situated with some tremendous facilities. You are never going to find a true 5 star hotel in Brazil as you would find in say Europe. This is effectively a 3.5 star service hotel with 4/5 star facilities (the view from the beach is like the Caribbean. However on balance I would recommend, but be careful with the food and take a Brazilian phrase book!

Room Tip: Second Floor but ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LordKixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valinhos, SP
Level Contributor
575 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nature all around, nice beach, close to the turtle research center (Projeto Tamar), very spacious rooms, lots of activities including diving and sailing, good food, etc. Just perfect for the whole family if you like to be isolated from the rest of the world,although you can still walk to the small downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get one close the restaurant and lobby, otherwise is can be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aguywhotravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this property, app 1 1/2 hour north of Salvador. It is a safe, decent and cosy place to escape hot weather and reenergise. Small village Praia do Forte is app 1km away and offers good selection of restaurants, bars and small shops.

The property is located in a rather extensive area, so depending where your room is, it may take you some time to walk to spa or tennis courts or fitness.

Also, hotel is liked by families with young children, so if you are looking for rather quiet, undisturbed holiday, it may disappoint in this sense. Food, breakfast and buffet dinners were generous, meal well prepared - no complain on this front.

Hotel is ranked 5* and it probably deserves such standard, but for me it lacked a "wow" effect. Maybe it was also thanks to the fact that staff was rather weak in English (or me weak in Portuguesse) so communication was sometimes an issue - but one should not wonder, since R$ is so strong that Brasil became prohibitive to foreign tourists.

Room Tip: rooms on lower levels with direct entry to the gardens, I liked the ones more secluded from pools an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
414 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 551 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I did not love it and do not look forward ot returning, but it is definitely the best hotel in this area, Polite staff, who need lots of follow up (remote not working over entire stay and multiple calls to change batteries), decent rooms that have seen wear and tear and are lacking full maintenance. Very overpriced, too much, for what you get. Plus can walk to Praia do Forte town, OK food for an all inclusive, good spa, decent gym, good meeting space. King bed is two twins pushed together but unlike Europe, also two box springs. I wound up between the beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pros: if you like the beach it is perfect as you can spend the day with the kids or withou them at the beach that is nice and calm.
The food is also nice and the overall service is good.
The resort is really beautiful and the praia do forte village is a 10 min walk from the hotel. It has the "projeto tamar" attraction that kids will love.

Cons:
the resort has more than 20 years and although some renovations were made it still has a lot to do.
Rooms need some improvment, tennis courts needs to be renewed, the fitness is ok.
If you stay at the cheapest rooms be prepared to walk as they are far from everything.
We stayed at room 1518 and it was very well situated near from everything.
The hotel has a nautical base with surfboards, sup, windsurf, kayaks and dingue but not complimentary.
If you like those sports pay the week fee for about us$ 125\ wk or rent by the hour.
The shows at night vary, some are great and some ridiculous.

Room Tip: Lower level master rooms are very well located ideal with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Large & spacious resort with very nicely decorated rooms. Very quiet location. Service outstanding and the whole resort is in a very good shape and is constantly maintained. Evening Buffet outstanding - Breakfast as well very nice. Nice beach area, 8 pools - umbrellas & beach beds always available. Very relaxing place 10 mins walk from Praia do Forte - a very cosy if a bit touristy village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoliSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mata de Sao Joao
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.1 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Iberostar Bahia
Iberostar Bahia
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,415 reviews
5.0 mi away
Vila Gale Mares
Vila Gale Mares
#1 of 4 in Camacari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte

Property: Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Address: Av. Do Farol,S/N - Praia Do Forte | Cerqueira Cesar, Mata de Sao Joao, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Mata de Sao Joao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mata de Sao Joao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Brazil, to the north of Salvador, Bahia, there is an idyllic place for lovers of Brazil ecotourism, which is both beautiful and luxurious. The Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte is a 5-star Bahia hotel where simple architecture is in harmony with the stunning scenery and the biodiversity of the surrounding area. Here you will find a tropical destination perfect for family holidays, business meetings, weddings, birthdays or a dream honeymoon. Enjoy the extensive range of well-being treatments at the Thalasso SPA and relax among the colourful gardens and natural pools in Vila Praia do Forte. The exclusive cuisine at the resort restaurants promises a culinary journey through exotic flavours blended with touches of the sea and coconuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Hotel Mata De Sao Joao
Praia Do Forte Tivoli Ecoresort
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia Do Forte Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing