We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night is ok”
Review of Hostel Manaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Manaus
Ranked #5 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night is ok”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My girlfriend and I arrived late and stayed in separate dorms - the doubles seem like good value. Prices are good, however the service was poor: email/phone contact was difficult and the portuguese speaking receptionist was unwelcoming. I was shaken awake by staff and asked to move beds. The breakfast is great and the dorms good, however the male dorm is by the busy common room, making rest difficult. Toilets/showers are basic. There are other hotels in the area although we did not explore much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foupieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    34
    20
    18
See reviews for
9
43
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here before going to a jungle lodge. There aren't a lot of options for hostels in Manaus, and we ended up here. It was ok, would not be my first choice if I ever go back to Manaus but the price was right.

The good-When we arrived the international ATMs at the airport were not working so we were not able to get Reals. The hostel was nice enough to let us wait to pay until the next day (they only accept cash). Booking the cab ride through them also worked well, since we did not speak Portuguese it was nice to get this taken care of. Breakfast was included and we enjoyed eating outside. The atmosphere and open air in the center of the hostel is really nice and we ended up having drinks with some of the people staying there for an enjoyable evening. The hostel also sells beer and water for a decent price.

-The bad-We booked private rooms. They put us in rooms larger than we reserved, then tried to charge us the price for the larger room! I strongly recommend bringing the reservations with the amount you should be paying, I am sure this is the only reason we did not have to pay for the larger rooms. It would have significantly increased the cost of our trip (which btw, we would have just gone to a hotel then). Our room was also right next to the lobby area where people were always watching soccer and music videos on TV. Not restful. Also, there are stains on the pillows and mattresses and in general it isn't very clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I spend one nigth before go to my jungle trip. I left my baggage in the locker and no problem.
It's a nice hostel to be a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2010

A nice home base if you are traveling to the Amazon Jungle. I met cool people from around the world. The hostel is near the major attractions of Manaus; including Teatros Amazonas and Mercado Municipal. The hostel guests can be a little noisy at times, but the air conditioned rooms are comfortable. They have a nice continental breakfast every morning, and the host has plenty of useful information. The Amazon Riders tour guide to the Amazon Jungle is just across the street and are very helpful.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tmark1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling!
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

we stayed here one night before going to the jungle and one night after. its a good little hostel and most people are doing that. the kitchen and living area are all open plan with loads of communial areas to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciafromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The biggest problem was the lack of rules for sleeping time. I was in a collective room with 4 other girls that kept talking with the lights on until 1 in the morning. I tried to talk to them, but It didn´t work, so I decided to talk to the receptionist and guest what? I found out that there were no rules for sleeping time and that there was nothing I could do about it... felt really uncomfortable! Organization and breakfast are the lowest points there. Only one bread (sandwich) is allowed and you cannot choose flavors.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The reception in the hostel never really try to help and special the one who came from Pakistan, he is really bad attitude to the guest!! I am very surprised that the owner why don't fire him. The most worst stuff i have ever seen. Also couldn't understerstand such bad service and it was recommended by HI hostel link. Inside the room , there are many bugs and mosquitoes also the cockroach jump to the bed at night!!! Terrible hostel!! Do not stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elcalafate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 46 in Manaus
409 reviews
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 46 in Manaus
1,604 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#3 of 46 in Manaus
96 reviews
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#25 of 46 in Manaus
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Manaus

Property: Hostel Manaus
Address: Rua Lauro Cavalcante No 231 | Proximo a Sorveteria Glacial, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-230, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL MANAUS is in Center of the city. A quiet residential street, set back from the bustle of this thriving Jungle metropolis. Here you will find yourself chatting for hours with fellow travellers after a hearty hostel breakfast in the outdoor dining area. Watch a DVD, or take advantage of our unlimited web access in the spacious lounge. Chill out in a hammock with a good book on our famous roof-top patio with its privileged views of the Palacio Rio Negro. And in the evening, kick back with friends, music and a good Caipirinha from our bar in the hostel beer garden - all without breaking the budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Manaus AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing