We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to improve”
Review of Hostel Manaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Manaus
Ranked #6 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lot to improve”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hostel is very convenient if you go on a trip with Antonio to the Amazon (and you should! - see my other review), because his office is located in this hostel. But the hostel itself has to improve a lot: it's noisy so when you have difficulty sleeping you will hear almost everything around you, the breakfast could be a lot better, and it could be cleaner.
This said, they are also very flexible (we could hang out there waiting for our night flight without a problem, could even sleep on the couch) and some staff members are really helpful (others just ok).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArjanHelmantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    34
    20
    18
See reviews for
9
43
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mancos, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staff was helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Walking distance to Opera House (10-15 minutes), Amazonas Indigenous Museum, and other Centro sights. Roof top terrace/lounging/breakfast area was a nice treat with the full moon! Bus from airport was pretty straight forward, although we did have to wait awhile for the right bus to come by (of course, no fault of hostel) and be sure to tell the "cobrador" (ticket collector) that you're going to Hostel Manaus, since we noticed more than one Glacial Ice Cream shop. Nice stopover for us on our way to Tefe/Mamiraua Reserve. Being vegetarians, we lucked out by stumbling upon a small restaurant with Arabic cuisine (i. e. falafal sandwiches) on the main drag, just down from the Glacial Ice Cream place on the corner (towards the Opera House near the entrance to a hotel). Overall, a comfortable and convenient stopover!

Room Tip: Upstairs private room w/ ac was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hostel has everything you need to prepare for a jungle tour or when you comeback from it.

- Small breakfast included (okay, this is not 5 star but there is enough to get you started);
- You can leave your luggages in a secure locker while you leave for a jungle tour;
- Wi-fi;
- You can book a jungle tour at the office;
- They can organise your taxi or other transportation to the airport, etc.;
- You an buy water, beers, etc. in the fridge at a reasonable price.

Negative:
It is hard to get understood if you don't speak Portuguese;
Dorms are small, but they have a locker for everybody;
The bathroom and shower is a bit far from the room.

In general, it is a good hostel and I recommend it :)

Room Tip: If you can't tolerate the heat, take one with A/C If you need space, take a single or double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyBready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I arrived three afternoon, the keeper barely spoke English, the reserved room was mistaken and bed was occupied. It took a while to find a bed facing rubbish collect outdoor. We can smell rubbish all night and was awaken when people clear rubbish at 6:30. Bed bug bit and roommate sprayed DDT at 3:00. We reported the bug case to Portugal keeper, he tried to ignore us, and asked to catch bug for proof.
Breakfast was set on roof, when it was run out of food or eggs, we got to go back ground floor to get. On the way, someone were sleeping on the balcony floor.

Room Tip: Make sure aie-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral_Bay_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an air conditioned dorm room downstairs, perfect temperature day & night. There is a shared hot/cold shower in the courtyard which I preferred to use altho' took me a few showers to work out how to turn it to cold, which was much more refreshing in the oppressive heat of the city.

Roof top terrace was lovely for breakfast & any spare time. Breakfast also more than adequate; lovely fresh sliced fruits; great coffee; ham & cheese rolls & eggs with a toaster/grill to put it all together; tea & juice.... Oh and did I mention the squeaky clean cotton sheets and pillows!? Best bedlinen I've slept in, during our 5 months in South America! Some Aussies know how to make the small things count!

It was extremely busy (I think full to capacity, almost) during our stay. Met people from world wide & staff were really friendly, helpful & went out of their way - (a special thanks to William) for all the helpful tips for around town.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to any traveler, single or more as a clean, friendly, down to earth home away from home, value for money hostel! We usually prefer to stay in a private room, but had no trouble sharing here (3 nights) & slept like a baby! Thanks to all the staff for such a pleasant hostel experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Hostel Manaus before and after my jungle tour and am positive about the hostel. The dorms are clean, though lack curtains and there were problems with the AC so the room became incredibly hot. Breakfast is quite poor, just breadrolls, fruit, coffee and milk (no tea).

The reason I am still positive is that it's a great hostel to meet people: the common areas are nice, the kitchen is big and the wi-fi connection is strong, which is especially nice after 4 days in the jungle. The staff, though some don't speak English, are really nice and friendly. So with this hostel, it's not so much about the decoration or the food, but mostly about atmosphere and nice people you can meet there.

As a woman travelling alone, I would definetely recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Check the airconditioning before choosing your bed
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

is very expensive, offers breakfast, but if you're not in the top 5 go by you will not find anything, I chose a room with AC, the same day the damage, but I continued to collect the air, when I had to be always appeared in the lobby where you went to live cooking, attention is terrible, do not go to this horrible place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jegutierrez061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#5 of 45 in Manaus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 45 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 45 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#26 of 45 in Manaus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 45 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Manaus

Property: Hostel Manaus
Address: Rua Lauro Cavalcante No 231 | Proximo a Sorveteria Glacial, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-230, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL MANAUS is in Center of the city. A quiet residential street, set back from the bustle of this thriving Jungle metropolis. Here you will find yourself chatting for hours with fellow travellers after a hearty hostel breakfast in the outdoor dining area. Watch a DVD, or take advantage of our unlimited web access in the spacious lounge. Chill out in a hammock with a good book on our famous roof-top patio with its privileged views of the Palacio Rio Negro. And in the evening, kick back with friends, music and a good Caipirinha from our bar in the hostel beer garden - all without breaking the budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Manaus AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing