We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The boy scout experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Simple, no frills accommodation, good guided tours.
This jungel lodge, accessible by boat only, provides just the bare minimum. If you like to wash your hair, bring you own shampoo or do not bother at all, since the shower's water flow is best described as a trickle anyway. You can also buy shampoo at the shop, the, it seesm, only air conditioned room out there.
The cabins are spread out over quite an area and the climate is very humid, so be prepared for long walks to and from the reception and/or restaurant area (both basically open air). At night, they warn you to beware of snakes along your way back to your cabin.
The rooms are not equipped with TV but the excursion program is quite good and interesting.
There is a nightly boat reide to spot caymans (not recommendable to take when the river is high, i., e. June/July), a jungel walk (starts right behind the last cabin), the "meetign of the waters" where the black water of the Rio Negro joins another river to form the Amazon and the two do not merge for anothere 7 miles, the monkey forest where you can watfch wild monkeys (well, they have domesticated the humans a bit to bring them fruits every day), a boat ride to a native place (opportunity to buy local souvenirs...) where they have anacondas and the like, fish for piranhas and where they demosntrate how the caoutchouk used (and still is?) to be colelcted and more.
the good thing about the Rio negro is that there are almost no mosquitoes as the river's wters are too acid for them to reproduce.
Alltogether a simple but memorable esperience. Staff there are very helpful and knowledgeble.
They have a "natural" pool (=river water)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank AhasverSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 625 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have had one of the best trips ever with three night stays at Eco Park Lodge. We didn't expect it was such a lovely place. The hotel itself looked like a jungle. Our room was really cute. It was simple but clean and nicely designed. The air conditioner worked well. Actually we turned off the air conditioner during nights because the weather was not that warm. I saw some people complaining about the water pressure of the shower, no telephone, no TV, but shouldn't you expect to experience a simple and jungle-style life when you are in Amazonas? I would rather like to stay as far away as possible from TV and phones during my holiday in jungles:)
The meals were buffet and were very nice. We had fish, chicken, beef, a lot of vegetables, papaya, watermelon, pineapple... The drinks were not included though. You need to buy drinks at the bar, but the prices were not too bad. The welcome drink we got upon arrival was really nice!
Staff were excellent! The tours were well organized. Our guide Yuri was great! We learned so much from him about the jungle. He also took us in his small canoe in the dark evening to spot alligators. It was very exciting!
Some tips for those of who may want to join in this trip:
1. do not come in the dry season. The water level can be very low in dry season and you have to walk a long distance to the hotel. We were there in May which was still in rain season. We saw some part of jungles standing in the water. It was beautiful! And we could reach the hotel all the way by boat.
2. Bring your own water if you don't want to buy drinks at the bar. There are no shops around, only alligators and monkeys:)
3. Do not expect luxury if you want to stay in a hotel in the jungle. If you are used to five-star hotel, you should choose tropical hotel which is by the city of Manaus. But even this hotel cannot guarantee you perfectness. We stayed there for one night but did not really like it. We found a lot of ants in our bed linen. That was scary....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LuLuLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

As the title says really....

Not much going on at the Eco Park, we found the tours poor bar the tour to the meeting of the waters. One aspect which made the tours poor were the fact we were in a mixed group of nationals who all spoke different languages, so the tour guide can be speaking three or four languages in turn. After a while this can become rather frustrating.

I would personally stay in a nice hotel in Manaus which is only 20 minutes away from the Eco Park and have the luxury to eat when you want etc...

Swimming Pool - are you serious? Wow i wouldnt let me enemy bathe in that....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JHeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was apprehensive about staying at this hotel due to some negative reviews; however, I had one of the best times there out of my 21 days tour of S. America. The cabins are just perfect for a stay in the jungle and SO QUIET - I long to return. A warning - if you don't like camping and nature, you won't like it there. My favorite guide was a long timer Elio, who showered me with attention and I learned so much about the uniqueness of the jungle. Love the people and the great food!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I visited the Eco Lodge for 4 nights as part of our 2 week honeymoon in Brazil. We heard rumors that the river water level was very low, due to an especially dry-dry season... but didn't really think much of it. I suppose we should have put 2 and 2 together, since we knew the only access to our lodge was via canoe.
We got off the plane about 11pm, took a car to the canoe, and were warned by the guide that there would be some hiking due to the low water level. We get off the canoe (which pretty much just crossed the river, and into a pickup truck (which they hotwired)... that drove us about a mile, but we had to hike the rest of the way in, which was about 3 more miles, at midnight, it was a little crazy. We're young and didn't mind the excercise, but I can see how this would pose a problem to the older people staying there, or people with young, whiny children. Upon arrival, we were greeted with welcome drinks and fruit, and taken to our room... which was 2 twin beds, cracks in the floor, and a somewhat scary bathroom. Other than that, we had a great time. We weren't expecting luxuory, as it is the jungle, but maybe a little preperation for the hike.
The resort was clean and cute. The drinks and food were great, the staff was friendly and accomodating. Our tourguide Uri was fabulous... spoke 4 languages, and did a great job on the jungle hike and alligator search. The boatride to the meeting of the waters and hike through native villages was really cool, but I aggree with the other review in that it took way too long, and the plastic chairs got really old. The natural pools were really cool and relaxing, and we loved enjoying our caiparienas in the hammocks.
I would recommend this resort to the middle aged (maybe 21-60) in good health, and looking for a little adventure. Not a good place for older people, as there is a lot of hiking involved. Also not a good place for young children, or even teenagers really... not much for them to do (there are no TV's either). I felt bad for the few kids that were there when we were, as all they did was complain.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've just come back from an Amazon cruise, one night of which was spent in the Ecopark Jungle Lodge. We had actually stayed at this place 10 years before on a previous trip to Brazil, and we were not disappointed this time.

The reception/bar/lounge area and the restaurant was open space, dimly lit and simply furnished, but it creates exactly the right mood in the heart of the rainforest. At night the jungle comes alive with the sounds of the night creatures. The small bungalows consist of a bedroom and bathroom and they too are very basic, but clean and comfortable. It is such a charming contrast from staying at a big city centre hotel with all the amenities. The food was very tasty and was plentiful.

Access to the Ecopark is only by boat and it was so pleasant to be out on the river, day or night, in rustic boats. We packed a lot into our short time there; visited the nearby Monkey Island, where monkeys which have been rescued from traders are rehabilitated before being released back into the wild; we also visited a local indigenous tribe of people. Later on we went piranha fishing (alas, no catches this time!) and caiman spotting. The next morning we were up bright and early for a three-hour rainforest trek, led by our very knowledgeable guide.

All in all, it was an excellent chance to spend some time living the simple life in peace and traquility. A lovely and unusual place to visit and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bollinger_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

The Amazon Eco Park Jungle Lodge was one of the best experiences of our trip to the Amazon. Worth every penny. The lodge is beautiful, comfortable and uber clean. The staff were attentive. I would go back again if I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathleeenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 47 in Manaus
116 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
803 reviews
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#23 of 47 in Manaus
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caesar Business Manaus
#6 of 47 in Manaus
713 reviews
Go Inn Manaus
#11 of 47 in Manaus
1,677 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 47 in Manaus
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge

Address: | Rio Taruma Açu, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range: $113 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a jungle lodge near Manaus in the Amazon, with 64 bungalows, surrounded by pristine rivers and nature. has a private beach, natural swimming pools and Monkey Sanctuary among other features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecopark Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Ecopark Jungle Lodge Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing