We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Accor Hotel Ever - AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Manaus
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst Accor Hotel Ever - AVOID”
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I am an Accor Favourite Guest member so I stay in many Accor Hotels. From Ibis to Sofitel. I've stayed in Accor hotels in over 20 countries and this has got to be the worst Accor hotel I've stayed at. A real disapponitment for the price they charge.

Rooms are dirty (stained furniture, dirty walls, etc), service is terrible (slow, unfriendly and inaccurate). I had to change rooms as the air conditioning in the first room did not work at all (you NEED powerful air conditioning in Manaus). In the new room, it worked sometimes and was as loud as a truck (no temperature controls, going from too hot to too cold on its own). Check-in took over 45min and the room wasn't ready (so we waited another 30min), even though it was 3PM and the room was supposed to be ready.

Telephone, lamp, mirror were all broken. Bed sheets are actually smaller than the bed (yes, they are smaller so you wake up in the middle of the night with basically no sheet under you). Cable TV had poor signal and audio fades out most of the time.

Housekeeping here should have another name: wake-up people. They will make sure everyone wakes up at 8AM with their "silent" way to work.

SUMMARY: I know this might be one of the best hotels in Manaus. But trust me, it's not worth what they charge. They have all the amenities you would expect from this sort of hotel, but none work and staff is just terrible. It is far away from everything (although a $10 cab ride can take you downtown) and although it has the Mercure logo, it's a cheap hotel. You can stay just as "bad" for half the price and avoid the headaches.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear cliente,
thank you very much for your comments and we apologize for all the problems you had during your stay at Mercure Manaus.
We would loke to say that Mercure Manaus is now renovated with all new apartments,new air conditioner system, new Internet system and new cable TV system.
Our restaurant is new with a great breakfast accordin to Accor pattern, and our staff is ready to offer you the best service in Manaus.
You are our guest to come back to Manaus and have another experience at Mercure Manaus.

Best regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    260
    103
    20
    15
See reviews for
82
73
61
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The hotel is clean, nice but with little personality. The rooftop pool is very nice but a little small if there was several people around. Its in a fairly quiet location so getting a taxi to most places is necessary although we ate one night at a nice churrascaria about 3 blocks away (the hotel gave us directions).

  • Liked — It was clean and there was always a taxi available
  • Disliked — Blandness and lack of amenities nearby
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ariston80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear cliente,
thanks for your comments.
We invite you to come back to Manaus and have another experience at our hotel, in our new rooms with kitchen and a great office area, and at our new restaurant with our great new breakfast.

Best regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Stayed for two nights. The room was a good size with desk for work. Bedroom had an OK bed (in comfort terms) but the walls were a tad thin so you could hear from above and below. Also, despite being on the 6th floor and at the side, you could still hear noise of passing traffic from the street. Shower was good, but washbasin had only cold water (so typical of cheaper Brazilan hotels but I didn't expect it here, and it's a pain for us who wet-shave.)
Breakfast was very good. Desk staff were pleasant but check out was slow.
Overall, just average. Fine for a couple of nights but wouyldn't want alonger stay.

  • Liked — Room size, shower
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear client,
thank you for your comments, and now we have a new Mercure with all new rooms and a great staff to receive you again.
We invite you to come back to Manaus and have another experience at Mercure Manaus.

Best regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My family and I (2 adults, 2 children) stayed in 2 rooms at this hotel in July 2008. The front desk was very friendly during check-in except the clerk kept insisting my reservation was in USD when it was actually in Brazilian Reals. I had to show her a copy of the reservation from my e-mail until she was finally convinced. The rooms themselves are very basic, with ceramic tile throughout the unit and a very simple kitchenette. There is no artwork or decoration of any kind hanging on the walls, which I found very surprising. Also, the rooftop pool and workout area were both under renovation for the time I was visiting, with completion expected in mid-August 2008.

Overall, this hotel was simply adequate, but not pleasing, for our 1-night stopover in Manaus before we headed out to a jungle lodge in the Amazon rainforest. I believe this hotel is best for people who won't be spending much time in their room and just need a comfortable, familiar (Mercure brand) place to sleep, such as a business traveler. I would recommend tourists or families with children stay at the Novotel Manaus (another Accor hotel) as their rates are very comparable and they have a zoo and other children's activities.

  • Liked — Free Wifi in room
  • Disliked — Very basic rooms, pool and gym under renovation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear client,
now Mercure Manaus is all new, with a great new room, with kitchen, a great office area, new beds and all the social areas were revitalized.
We have now a new restaurant and a great service waiting for you.
We invite you to come back to Manaus and have another experience at our hotel.

Best regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I spent a week at the Mercure in August 2007. I think it is a very good hotel with excellent service. The small rooftop pool is not bad either. The only issue I had was the hotel's location being away from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brendansfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE M, Manager at Hotel Mercure Manaus, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Mercure Manaus has today all the apartments newly renovated, new events rooms and new restaurante.
We'd like to invite you to have another good experience at Mercure Manaus
Best Regards
Edmar Thomas
General Manager
mercure.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manaus
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 44 in Manaus
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caesar Business Manaus
Caesar Business Manaus
#4 of 44 in Manaus
667 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Manaus
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 44 in Manaus
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Intercity Manaus
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 44 in Manaus
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Tree Premium Manaus
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Manaus
Quality Hotel Manaus
#7 of 44 in Manaus
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Manaus

Property: Hotel Mercure Manaus
Address: Avenida Mario Ypiranga 1000 | Adrianopolis, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69057-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manaus
#5 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mercure Manaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star MERCURE APT MANAUS has 126 apartments with living room, kitchen and suite. Located in the exclusive area of Manaus, it is about 15 minutes from the international airport, the city centre and the industrial district. The hotel offers a sauna, fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercure Manaus AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing