We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!”
Review of Ibis Manaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Manaus
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Staff could not speak english. Although the hotel was in a quite and safe location but it was far from the city centre. The indoor cafe read 24hrs available but 99% time when you asked them for something as basic as a cheese pizza they would come up with some excuse to not make it at that very hour.
The room smelled of cigaret and the lock of the door was also not working. The novotel hotel next door though much expensive was way way better, we preferred eating there than our own hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ourdovetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    165
    103
    23
    18
See reviews for
51
48
56
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BRZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Comparing with the Ibis Hotels from São Paulo City the Manaus one was really good. The breakfast has many different options and for the other meals the menu has a good variety of food and for a acessible price.
We also liked the fact of the parking lot beeing free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Bah, cheap hotel, little reastaurant which doesn't pretent to be called restaurant...
Clean as any Ibis uses to be.
Staff is smiling and showing courtesy as the Brasilian culture want to.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frances4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I stayed at Ibis Hotel well over a year ago, during my south american trip. I had (and still have) a specific cultural interest in Manaus, hence I spent there a whole week, something people usually don't (Manaus is pretty much considered a mere start/arriving point for Amazonas adventures). And I were even keen on paying that bit extra and stay in a nice hotel, the Ibis, that is.

Well, to make a long story short, the hotel is nice only on paper (or on the web). Their rooms are definetely not what you would expect from such a famous brand, although I did not experience any extraordinary problem with humidity, such as in the two previous comments. The restaurant is truly bad, I must give in on that.

Anyway, 24 hours in the hotel were long enough to realize that for those 60 euros I would have definetely been better off elsewhere in town. And spent the rest of the week at excellent Mango guesthouse (30 euros cheaper, moreover...)

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Boydey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This was quite possibly the worst hotel I ever have stayed in, even for the low price - and I have stayed in many dingy youth hostels and hotels in the past! I am actually surprised the IBIS puts it's name on the hotel at all.

We had booked 2 nights non consecutively; either side of a stay in a Jungle lodge so had the joy to experience 2 separate rooms and 2 terrifically stomach churning evening meals.

Each of the 2 rooms was not so much damp as just plain wet. The smell of mould drafted freely down the corridors on both the 2nd and 3rd floors. We never experienced the 1st so I can't fill you in there.

The breakfast was actually ok, standard cake and fruit like most Brazilian hotels. However.....................the restaurant was truly truly awful. We only ate there as my boyfriend was sick at the time and we were unable to make it out into the centre. Saying that there is little around the IBIS to wander out to for eating/drinking - except the Novotel next door.

On one night I ordered a hamburger and chips - not because I like fast-food but because the choice otherwise was a pizza really. I was horrified to discover that the hamburger is actually served in the plastic bag it went in the microwave in! Like one of those 2 minute express burgers you find in the supermarkets? It tasted foul. Why someone can't just grill a burger and put it on a bun is beyond me - especially as it costs £5.

The second time I tried the lasagna. It seems that the kitchen staff have not quite learnt to use the microwave as half of it was piping hot and the other half frozen! I was that hungry i resorted ordering a plastic burger as all the frozen pizzas had sold out!

Don't stay here...just don't. Stay at the Novotel next door. It's only a few pounds more and seems much better!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank Boydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

You would be better off on the floor of the airport than stay at the Ibis in manaus. The rooms smelled of damp, and this was confirmed by the fact that the sheets were damp to the touch. This was from the central air con i think. The food in the hotel is the worst food i think i have ever seen and you would probably get better quality by looking in the bins at the back of the hotel next door, as it was served in the plastic microwave bag this is maybe where it came from.

  • Liked — the ability to leave it
  • Disliked — I paid money to stay there!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lancstrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 46 in Manaus
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
291 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 46 in Manaus
402 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 46 in Manaus
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manaus

Property: Ibis Manaus
Address: Avenida Mandii 4 - B | Distrito Industrial, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69075-140, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manaus
#14 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Manaus 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 km from the centre of Manaus and close to the major tourist attractions, the Ibis Manaus hotel is easily accessible from Eduardo Gomes Airport. The hotel offers 120 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet access. The hotel features a 24 hour bar and acafe with meals available. The Vila Olimpica (Olympic Village) centre, 19 kilometres from the hotel, offers you the Ibis Vitabis programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manaus AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing