We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocara Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocara Hostel
Ranked #12 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Likes:

The atmosphere and the location of the hostel is so nice. A big chill area and TV, WIFI and hammocks and stuff. You can really hang out there! In the rooms you have a lot of space and also the AC is great. Bathroom is also nice

Dislikes:

The owner is a great funny guy and helps you out when you need something. But sometimes the staff gets lazy. In general the hostel was clean but one day in the kitchen was a piece of meat on the floor and antz around. They didnt cleaned it, i don't know if its still there :D One other example is, we gave up our landry and in the morning when we had to leave the stuff was hanging wet in the garden cause of the rain...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joprei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
12
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

great hostel - amazing people and great staff. We only came to Manaus for jungle trip but I'm really glad we chose Ocara hostel for those couple of nights, it was incredibly fun - we had bbq and great parties. Atmosphere is complete chill and relaxed, that's what I expect of a hostel. Thumbs up for the owner!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, have A/C, beds are comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IevaKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hostel has nice location right by the opera house and several travelling agencies so you can organize an Amazon tour quite easily. It's about 10 min walk from the docks where they have an interesting market.
Beds were ok but the kitchen was horrible. There were missing almost every utensil and we had to ask for pots and pans and sometimes a knife and fork which they had a plentiful of in the bigger kitchen which was only used by staff.There were ants everywhere and no matter if we tried to clean after ourselves they were there.
The hostel itself is nice with hammocks, a TV area and a very chill vibe.
I would go back but only if they fixed up that kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask for airconditioning, Manaus is extermely humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berglind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Very basic hostel. Haphazard checking in process with staff that did not appear to know what they were doing and no general info on area or map given, asked for advice on boats on amazon to tabatinga but drew a blank. 
Room had great air con. Room only had 1 plug socket. Staff seemed bit offish and not very welcoming. Breakfast was standard. Shower was cold but humid climate. Wifi ok. Went on tour but changed hostel when we came back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had a soft spot for this place for it's quite off the wall. It's ridiculously laid back in a hammock lolling way. The people who work here are all mates and their mates stop by so it's got an easy, local vibe. But it's not like a chain hostel. It's light touch management so don't expect perky desk clerks and business like functionality. But I think that's what I liked about it. It's vaguely disfunctional in a charming way.

It's the perfect fit for Manaus which is a city which is at one moment manic and the next a deserted village.

I didn't have hot water in the shower which was annoying....but I get cold even in the jungle. Other people were fine with this.

Dorm room was very clean, nice balcony. Stayed in girls only dorm which was great, huge bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoomWithAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostal is close to the center of hystoric town, opera(5min walk), places to eat, bus. To me it felt safe to walk. Free wifi, big TV in common area, free breakfast, hot water in showers, cold AC in bedrooms. I had a private room with share bathroom, bed was hard as a rock with really thin, old sheets. I also spent one night in a 6 beds room, the matress was much better there, with a huge bathroom. The owner Favio was very nice and helpful. It did work ok for me for before and after the jungle trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lggcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a graet time at Ocara: friendly staff - all very helpful with anythingyou need. Spotless rooms and communial areas. There are dorms and private rooms so you can choose plus a nice area to chill with hammocks or have breakfast.

Very close to Teatro Amazonas.

The place is great for budget travellers and is highly recommended - will go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#26 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 44 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#4 of 44 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Go Inn Manaus
#11 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#17 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocara Hostel

Property: Ocara Hostel
Address: Travessa Rotary 72 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-270, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocara Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OCARA means - square or central yard of the tribe The gathering place for the diferentes tribesWe are a new company comprised of a team of peolple from Manaus, rest of Brazil and international people working to make you feel relaxed and part of the Family Ocara !And our Goal is to offer our guests MORE THAN JUST A BED FOR THE NIGHT !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ocara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocara Hostel Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing