We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book through this agency - worst ever!”

Amazon Jungle Tours and River Cruises - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2000 we organize Amazon jungle tours, Amazon river cruises, peacock bass fishing trips, jungle expeditions, bird watching tours , kayak tours, Manaus day tours and more.We have discount on Hotel reservations in Manaus and offer airport transfer.We book your boat tour to all destinations in the Amazon like Santarem, Belem, Porto Velho, Tefe, Tabatinga, Barcelos, Sao Gabriel de Cachoeira and bus ticket to Presidente Figuereido, Boa Vista, Santa Elena, Caracas, Puerto de la Cruz, Isla Margarita.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not book through this agency - worst ever!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

we were not picked up from hotel and did not get to do half the things we were promised and paid for. Jack seems nice to communicate with, but that's where it ends.

Book through someone else, as you will be gravely disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 11nss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    5
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World Cup Disappointment”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had the same experience as most during the World Cup. Good communication several months before, followed by overbooking the day of the tour, offers to sleep in hammocks, cranky customers, delays, followed by confirmation that they had no room for us, and in the end we canceled our planned 3 day/2 night tour (demanded a refund on the spot and got it) and instead opted for a one-day tour, which was perfectly adequate, but not at all what we had planned. (Our hotel thankfully allowed us back for the other couple of nights.) I suspect our experience during the World Cup is not representative of how things go at other times of the year. But we were incredibly disappointed because there's not a whole lot to do in the City of Manaus and we intentionally stayed a few extra days to experience the Amazon jungle (which never happened).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid this and Amazon Backpakers”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Take heed of all the other comments on this post :

Jack and Claudio run both MANAUS BOOKING and the adjoining AMAZON BACKPACKERS.

I strongly suggest you do not touch either as having experienced their "adventures" the trip will be totally disorganised, does not deliver what you have paid for and more importantly, will put you at SERIOUS risk with regard to Health and Safety as shown on our trip where one woman fell out of the boat (Without life jacket) and another male fell off the pontoon.

I wrote the following letter - needless to say no-one bothered to respond :

Dear Jack

I am writing following our Amazon tour last week and a number of issues that arose as a result of what basically appeared to be a total lack of organisation in delivering the tour resulting in far too many people being in the party and number of us subsequently being required to sleep in hammocks out in the jungle due to the lack of available accommodation in the lodges. This meant losing one of our days in travelling by a slow large boat and not arriving at the jungle site till well after dark, raising some serious health and safety concerns for some members of the group who clearly had not previously been briefed on the amended itinerary. As a result, we were not taken to experience the Pink Dolphin's as promised and other activities were curtailed due to the limitations of the tour. The number of people which at one stage amounted to 45 was uncomfortable and did not represent the promise of small group numbers as mentioned in your advertising or our correspondence.

From the outset there were initial problems in travel arrangements which meant we were late leaving, and a concerning lack of co-ordination in moving people between locations, which unlike other tour operators present, there was no-one present from Manaus Booking / Amazon Backpackers to meet and ensure your customers were put on correct buses for onward transport to the boats resulting in further and unacceptable delays.

More disappointing was the fact that clearly being advised about the problems of the tour, you were not around to meet us on our return or apologise for the chaos of the trip. No further accommodation or airport transport was arranged as promised, which was only resolved by us having to speak to Claudio, who we understand actually owns both Manaus Booking and Amazon Backpackers, but who clearly laid all blame at your feet ?

Whilst you may argue that sheer numbers caused the problems, we would argue that this could have been avoided with a professional and co-ordinated approach, particularly knowing the information in advance of us all arriving.

This tour was to be one of the highlights of our visit to Brazil and our experience in dealing with Manaus Booking / Amazon Backpackers left us with some real disappointment in not fulfilling those dreams. Of couse, those activities we did partake in were enjoyable but being required to walk through swamps up to our thighs would have been fine had we been advised in advanced - Some of this was just not thought through !

The obvious over booking clearly put unbearable pressure on both Antonio and Paulo, who did their best to cope in unacceptable conditions and our criticism does not represent any form of complaint against them as individuals. However the circumstances, such as one of the party falling from a canoe into the river and another falling off the pontoon at the lodge (Pousada) did put normal tourists at serious risk and something which you and Claudio should take responsibility for.

I would therefore be obliged if you would consider some form of refund for both myself and my three colleagues which appropriately accounts for the issues which I have raised in the E mail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiser7948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Change the name to Manausoverbooking”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Manaus is a nice city set in the beautiful amazon rainforest. The area is amazing and most of the people are too. I can't say that about Jack from Manausbooking. During the World Cup he never stopped taking reservations even when his accomodations were beyond capacity. They do have nice guides but even they were frustrated by the overbooking and lack of support. The mantra of Manausbooking is "take their money and send them to the jungle". There the poor tourists are faced with crowded conditions, insufficient supplies and no way to complain or do anything except endure the situation.
I would return to the Amazon but NEVER through Manaus Booking or Jack.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank triptraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

DO NOT book with Manaus Booking (also known as Amazon Backpackers). When we arrived we waited for 4 hours for "our room to be cleaned" before being told that they had given away our room. The same thing happened the next day with our jungle tour. What was supposed to be an 8:00 am departure time turned into 12:00 pm, a private a/c room turned into hammocks with mosquito nets in a dorm with 30 others, and 12 activities turned into 2.

It is unfortunate that this company is run by such a scumbag (Jack) because when we did make it to the jungle our guides and the locals were absolutely amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon Jungle Tours and River Cruises - Day Tours also viewed

Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Amazon Jungle Tours and River Cruises - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing