We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jack the Ripper!!!!!”

Amazon Jungle Tours and River Cruises - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2000 we organize Amazon jungle tours, Amazon river cruises, peacock bass fishing trips, jungle expeditions, bird watching tours , kayak tours, Manaus day tours and more.We have discount on Hotel reservations in Manaus and offer airport transfer.We book your boat tour to all destinations in the Amazon like Santarem, Belem, Porto Velho, Tefe, Tabatinga, Barcelos, Sao Gabriel de Cachoeira and bus ticket to Presidente Figuereido, Boa Vista, Santa Elena, Caracas, Puerto de la Cruz, Isla Margarita.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jack the Ripper!!!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY. THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM. We have booked the 4D3N Amazon trip in a private lodge with attached bathroom and a/c. We booked it with Jack in Mid December 2013. On the morning whereby we were supposed to leave for the Amazon, he told us that he had to cancel our trip because the lodge is overbooked. After that, he gave us an option to go for a 2D1N trip and sleep on a hammock. He also mentioned that he will give us the refund for 1) sleeping on a hammock 2) for shortening our trip. He also mentioned that he will arrange accommodation for us in Hotel Rei Arthur for 2 nights after we come back as a compensation. After doing the 2D1N tour at the Amazon, we reached Manaus Booking at 4 plus. Jack was nowhere to be seen and no accommodation has been arranged for us. The staffs told us that he will not be back for the rest of the day. We went to look for Jack the following morning at 10am. He was present and he denied ever telling us that we had to cancel our 4D3N trip and change it to 2D1N. After a few rounds of discussions, he agreed that he will refund us USD$300. However, he did not have enough cash at the moment and told us to come back at 5pm on the same day. I even asked who to look for in the event he wasn't around when we come back at 5pm. He assured us that he will be present at 5pm. When we returned at 4.30pm, the staffs told us that Jack has already left and will not be back for the rest of the day. Jack is obviously a scammer. His outright dishonesty leads me to recommend strongly against using this company.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank YX_Pang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    5
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mostly a scam”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked for jungle tour and hotel and did get one, though not the hotels we booked nor the conditions we prepaid for.

Firstly upon arriving we were picked up at the airport and taken to a really bad hotel (not the one we booked) where the mosquitoes had a feast and the toilet was clogged and stunk up the entire room. The only up side was that it did have an extremely loud AC, although some other guests were not so fortunate.

The next day we were picked up to go to the jungle and in the jungle we stayed for 4 days 3 nights. No private room and shower as outlined, had to stay in incomplete rooms where it was again a feast for the mosquitoes. There wasn't even electricity on the first night, and it was ridiculously hot. No one knew what was going on and the tour guides were overwhelmed because they were not being paid more but had to take care of the people that were overbooked (which is an understatement). More and more people just kept coming in day after day, it was so ridiculous because there was no room whatsoever! The boating equipment was also in poor condition (motors will vibrate off the canoe if you go too fast -- actually one did end up falling off the boat, canoes were leaking, etc). Lastly, the day we left they never sent enough cars so a few cars had 12 people in them even though it was only supposed to take 8.

The only good thing that came out of all this was that we got a really decent room for the last 3 nights in Manaus. The room was recently renovated, though incomplete (missing toilet seat and mirrors). The last 3 nights is why I decided to give it 2 star, even though the rest of the trip was -ve star.

We were also supposed to get a ride back to the airport on last day, which happened but on bad terms. I believe they lied to the cab driver that he was going to get paid but they told us something different when we first made the request. The cab driver (a local) was very nice and didn't charge us for it, but it was disgraceful of the company to do that to someone looking to earn an honest living.

Looking at the other reviews, we got lucky, but could've ended up in a much worse situation!
While Jack was irresponsible and even at one point said "mistakes happen you know" (for turning away other guests who prepaid because he was poorly organized) the tour guides and the locals were truly amazing people.

To be fair it seems that disorganization seems to be the norm in Manaus, but still, I wouldn't ever book again with this company because you would have to be really lucky for everything to work out smoothly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Henny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Scam all over it”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beginning with a late pick up, Jack and Manaus Booking forgot our booking and dispatched a taxi to come pick us up. We left 2 hours late and only saw the meeting of the rivers, we were then brought to a secluded area where locals were brought onto our boat to try and sell items to us. We then went to the most fake village where underage girls without tops on tried dancing with us, the men were all seen wearing adidas shorts and brand name watches after but were still asking for "donations." We did not swim with any dolphins as promised, ate lunch for free but had to pay for drinks including water?!?!?!

Brought to our accommodations by boat, the manager did not know who we were. He was yelling at Jack on the phone in German disputing a money issue. We then met other travellers who were equally screwed over by Manaus Booking. Dinner was very late as the hotel manager had no food for us.

We were supposed to do a nature hike in the morning but did not, a very late breakfast and we went piranha fishing later with no success. After showing the tour guide out itinerary, he claims he had never seen it before. We returned, ate lunch and had to pay for drinks, again. We watched two football matches and then went home very late. Terrible experience, never again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jack the scam artist!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

SCAM!! This company took us, and 63 other tourists for a ride all right! They made close to ten grand off of us. The tour was to start at 830 with some people being picked up at their hotel at 8. First, no one showed to pick them up so they had to catch a cab. We then waited for two hours before they put us In a bus at 10 o'clock . They drove us to the boat dock where they said we would board a big boat. After waiting there for our boat to show up, we all crammed into a smaller boat. They drove us out to the meeting of the rivers where we stopped for maybe five mins. Then they drove about an hour and a half to take us to the lunch place. We were rushed through lunch and back on the boat. The entire time we are not being told anything, we're all just guessing what's happening. After we left the lunch place, we found out we were going back, that was it! A few of us got angry and said we paid for swimming with pink river dolphins, a jungle trek, meeting indigenous tribe. Our guide said he didn't know and after a bit agreed we would go see the dolphins but not to swim, he would drive by and we could take pictures. We were still angry as this was a once in a lifetime tour in the amazon that many of us were looking forward to and had paid a lot of money for. So they drove us in circles on the river, we could all tell this was a sham. They kept us looping around for three hours! Then they took us to where the indigenous tribe was. The tribe said they were done and were not expecting us but agreed to do a dance. Again, we were rushed through there. There was a Brazil game at 4 that day that the tour guides wanted to watch. Suddenly, now that they wanted to watch the game, the boat could go faster so they sped back to the boat launch. We then boarded a bus that was supposed to take us back to hotels or the office and it dropped us a block away. A bunch of us went back to the office to try to get our money back, but as we figured the guy was no where to be found and no one else there was willing to help. In fact, they had a military policeman there and asked him to arrest us! The victims, not the scammers! We were also supposed to get free water on the trip but they charged 2.50 a bottle at first and then it went up to 3.00 a bottle the next time. One of the tourists who was with us videotaped part of us asking for our money back until they told him to shut it off or he would be arrested. He was going to put it on you tube, I hope he did. This company is also paired with other places on the same street. Stay away from "Amazon bookings". The only place on the street that seemed like it wasn't a scam was amazon Eco adventures. The guy we booked with was named Jack and he has very blond hair so he sticks out in Brazil.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank LoriLN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE- DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were so excited about this tour when we booked it as part of our World Cup trip back in February. Sadly, it was a disaster from the start. The company was supposed to pick us up at our hotel at 8am the morning of the tour, and never showed up OR called to say they weren't coming. We had to call them and then walk to the office. When we arrived the office was in a state of chaos, and we didn't end up leaving the city until 11am-- 3 hours later than planned. When we finally arrived at the jungle lodge, we discovered that the trip had been completely overbooked, and all of the rooms at the lodge were already full. We were promised a private room at the lodge with a bathroom- instead we were forced to sleep in a communal tin lodge in uncomfortable hammocks, and were provided with mosquito nets full of holes. In addition to the miserable sleeping arrangements, it turned out the itinerary we were provided with when we booked was a scam. We were promised we would see the Meeting of the Waters, the giant lilly pads, a sunrise bird watching tour, and get to swim with pink dolphins-- we did not get to do any of these. This trip was a complete scam. The people at the central office only care about making money, no matter how awful the trip ends up being for the customers, not to mention the poor guides who had to deal with the furious tourists. This company should be investigated for fraud. DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank giansira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon Jungle Tours and River Cruises - Day Tours also viewed

Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Amazon Jungle Tours and River Cruises - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing