We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is Brazil”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel at least once a year for the past 6 years. My first trip was an adventure to visit the Ariau and the tour guide suggested I stay at the Tropical when I first arrived in Manaus.
I can only compare it to visiting a castle in Europe. You know it has history and time. You are definitely not in the US. The outdoor zoo is fantastic, the restaurant/barbque is great. I enjoyed walking the long, aged hallways at night. The rooms are amazing, especially if you have one overlooking the garden.
The workers are all polite and very helpful. The Ariau has tours of the city and amazon river with great guides. Just call them. They are at the Tropical hotel all the time.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    1,112
    674
    249
    197
See reviews for
952
698
204
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We just came back from a 3 day stay in the Tropical Manaus. I had stayed there back in 1989 and it was the very best Manaus could offer. Back then, it was already showing some signs of wear an tear.
This time, we booked two adjoining rooms, since we are a family of 5.

The hotel still is a majestic building, with its ample wooden staircases, massive handrails, vast hallways, woodwork and tile work galore.
The pool area is very pretty, the restaurants offer a great selection. Top notch breakfast.

There are lots of things for the kids to do, with a mini zoo in the property, kids club, planned activities throughout the day.

The staff is very friendly and the front desk folks speak good English.

The check-in process was a bit convoluted, since they make you fill out a long form for each person in your reservation. Even the kids.

Sadly, the rooms are falling apart. They are not just old, they are decrepit. Their website still says, "Each Tropical Manaus guest room offers a peaceful modern Brazil vacation retreat from a busy day". Peaceful yes. Modern.... nope.

- The bathrooms are falling apart. Great water pressure, but fixtures are rusty, broken.
- Air conditioner was the most ancient piece of equipment I've seen in a long time. Looked like a console radio from the 1920's.
- In-room safe is of the old, old kind, that you have to carry a "special", super heavy key, around with you at all times.
- Carpeting is simply disgusting. In one of the most humid climates on Earth, to have a carpeted room, is already a problem. To have 20 year old carpeting and not vacuum it daily is just revolting. We noticed that the maids only vacuum the carpet in the hallways. They use a hard bristle broom in the rooms.
- The beds were ok. Not terrible, but not great. The bed linens were clean except, of course, the blankets that stay in the closets. Those were unusable. From the looks of them (colors, patterns, etc), they had to be from the eighties at the earliest.
- Internet connection: that was the joke of the trip. It took me 3 different calls, and 45 minutes to get an answer on which username and password to use to go online. Once I got it, it was very, very slow. And it only worked in certain areas of the hotel. For the sake of comparison, I had a 3g modem with me from a Brazilian provider. However, in Manaus, only Edge network was available. Using Edge speeds, I was connected a LOT faster than the hotel's expensive, barely existent connection.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel since it is a one of a kind experience in Manaus. The front desk manager told us that they will be remodeling early 2011. That will make a big difference.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 8 days. Location is just outside the city center but there are city buses and taxis close by. We took the bus to experience the local lifestyle. The rooms are somewhat run down. We changed rooms 3 times! Overall, it was quite comfortable in the end...we had a balcony but since the outside temperature was so hot and humid we welcomed the air conditioning. Internet access in the lobby. The hotel has a pool and 2 pool side bars, The buffet breakfast is excellent with many choices! There are local pubs along the beach access. There is also a zoo attached to the hotel which was quite interesting and fun to see. Shopping in downtown Manaus was very disappointing. Expensive and not much to buy. . There are some shops within the hotel complex....again, nothing exciting to buy. I did 2 tours from the hotel....city tour and the amazon boat tour. Definitely worth going. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel has a spaciousness alongside a slightly faded elegance. The rooms were large and well furnished, but the bathroom decor a little tired. The staff were very helpful and the grounds both in the courtyard and alongside the river are attractive with outdoor swimming pools. The breakfast was really excellent with an extensive buffet and omelettes cooked on request.. The hotel is quite close to the airport, but we were too far outside the city to make it in on a short stay. We had an interesting walk along the promenade and gardens outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret_&_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There is a fabulous little zoo on the premises; we went there a couple of times. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. No carpet in the rooms due to the high humidity there. There is a little restaurant in the hotel and the pool is beautiful. There is a little separate area near the pool where turtles swim around! You can get right up close to them. Iguanas also roam free! Definitely a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyhollow420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

- This was my second time at the Tropical Manaus and I think the hotel has improved from my first trip in 2004.
- We stayed at the hotel before our cruise on the Amazon Clipper. The Tropical is a large resort with its own pier, two pools, two formal restaurants, a bar restaurant, beauty salon and several other amenities. They also had a lot of activites during the day, but since this cut into shopping time - we didn't try any !!
- The service was good and there were staff members at the front desk that spoke very good English. We had one issue with a large spider and two staff actually came to our room to kill the spider with a broom and shovel ... LOL !!
- I insisted that our travel agent book us in a newly renovated room after my last trip. The older rooms have some old colonial furnishings with musty carpet and lots of insects on the floor.
- The zoo has birds, monkeys, a lion etc.. But, in my opinion, this is really at your own risk. The cages are bamboo and don't look very sturdy.
- One improvement from my previous trip are there are more ATMs and they can accept North American cards.
- If you have African or curly hair, I would NOT recommend the salon. You would think in a supposedly multicultural place like Brazil, the stylists for an international hotel would have more training.
- We tried the two formal restaurants, but they seemed to be glorified buffets and not that great. We ended up either at the hotel bar restaurant or a small beachfront restaurant just outside the hotel.
- The staff was extremely helpful in giving us directions. We wanted to really get into the local culture and took the bus downtown and to one of the main malls. Ladies, if you love shoes ... you need to shop in the Amazon !! The staff also warned us against some bus routes that were considered dangerous for tourists. Even with our non existent Portuguese we managed to get around as a local.
- The first time I came to this hotel I questionned it's rating, but this time I would say it lived up to the description.
- The internet was reasonably priced and you can a card with a certain amount of time. If the heat is getting to you... the internet office is the coldest place in the resort.
- My only complaint is several elevators were not working. This wasn't an issue most of the time, since we used the stairs, but when checking out we seemed to walk around for 15 mins trying to find an elevator that actually worked in this HUGE complex.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLtravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel is perfect for the experienced traveler. You must keep an open mind when visiting this hotel. If you have traveled extensively you will find this hotel comprabale to many older international hotels. Yes, it is an older hotel and probably had its "day" at one time. However, the rooms were clean and the food was outstanding. The hotel offered many activities throughout the day for all to enjoy. The onsite zoo was amazing. The biologist who cares for the animals spent an afternoon with us explaining the animals of the jungle and helping us to find the animals on our own during our walks around the hotel grounds. We spent four days here before our cruise into the jungle and would stay here again. I have paid similar to more money for rooms in the past in other countries that were just as comfortable with less amenities. We felt extremely safe and really liked having the onsite shops which saved us a lot of money in snacks. One must keep in mind.......this is the jungle. It is hot and humid. Mold grows in warm moist environments. Expect to feel damp all the time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#22 of 46 in Manaus
206 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 46 in Manaus
780 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#5 of 46 in Manaus
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 46 in Manaus
104 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
306 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 46 in Manaus
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Property: Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Address: Avenida Coronel Teixeira 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 3*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing