We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Despite some flaws still a very good option in Manaus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Manaus
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Despite some flaws still a very good option in Manaus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Tropical has an air of nostalgia and glamour that it is still there. The rooms we got were spacious and antique in a nice kind of way, breakfast was very good, infrastructure very large with nice swimming pools. The hotel is clearly making an effort to return to its past glories but there are still management issues to address - reception is very burocratic and lacks supervision, it took us a lot of time to check in - and some of services are not well taken care of (e.g. the towel boot in the very nice swimming pool did not always had towels to provide to guests!!). The price is excellent for what the hotel offers and overall I believe it is still the best option in Manaus for those visiting the forest, fishing or simply getting to know the city. With some investment in infrastructure and management shake up it could turn up to be a star hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room that have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr(s). Southtraveller_12,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    1,082
    657
    238
    186
See reviews for
919
679
202
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here one night, and found the hotel just beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. I would say the hotel had plenty of character and charm. The mattresses were very hard though.
The breakfast was incredible! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr(s). Dora085,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fantastico hotel...ao lado do rio..com lindas paisagens....mini Zoo interno, lojinhas para comprar...excelente café e bar ao lado da Recepçao...piscina fantastica com ondas...
Não tenho realmente do que reclamar do hotel.
O que acho ainda meio caro é o WIFI...

Very nice hotel....close to the river...beautiful places around the hotel...mini zoo inside the hotel area...small stores you can buy beverages, electronics, clothes, jewels....very good coffe area/bar close to the reception desk...the pool is fantastic with waves...
very good hotel..
i think it´s a bit expensive to use WIFI...but it´s ok...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. kenio,

Muito obrigado por seus comentários gentis. Estamos na busca constante de aprimorar os nossos serviços, desta forma, o retorno de nossos hóspedes é importante para melhoria de nossa qualidade.

Esperamos em breve, ter a oportunidade em recebê-lo novamente em nosso Hotel.

Atenciosamente,
Antonio Maglione
Gerente Geral
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We found this to be a large, sprawling hotel, which was popular with male fishing tours. Although the rooms were large and had all the usual modern facilities, it lacked any character or charm. We eventually found the swimming pool after going past hundreds of rooms and needing to go the opposite way to the hotel sign for the pool. It was very disappointing in terms of size, shape and location amongst an expanse of concrete.

The main dining room was closed in the evening and tables were set up in a room that looked like a conference room and had a loud cafe like atmosphere. As such we chose the grill restaurant, which had a quieter atmosphere and provided a good buffet type meal. Breakfast was also buffet style but it was very extensive and had a good variety.

We felt that we did not have much choice with evening meals as the hotel is on the outskirts of Manaus and there is little to walk to in the neighbourhood. OK for a fishing trip but not if you want to see the historic centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Mr. MKTR,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel used to be the best in the city when I first visited it 10 or 12 years ago and when this hotel chain still belonged to the late Varig Group (now bankrupt). While my room at this recente visit was perfectly functional (hot water from the very first second you turn on the shower, powerful air-conditioning system) and clean, I think there is some room for modernization. The TVs are still not upgraded to flatscreens and the viewing quality was terrible. Some of the attractions of the hotel that I enjoyed during my last trip, 10 years ago, like the private zoo with species of the local wildlife were de-activated.

Currently the restaurant options in this hotel are somewhat limted due to renovation works at the restaurant next to the pool.This leaves as only dinner option the buffet dinner (R$ 54,00 per person) at the Tucano Restaurant where they serve breakfast in the morning.

The choices at the breakfast buffet were resonable, with some exotic regional options from the tropical forest.

The location at the Ponte Negra Beach is great.

If you are the kind of tourist who wants to bring protitutes to your room this is not the place of you. While sitting in the lobby bar, we observed several female visitors having their entrance denied by security agentes. However there seems to be scheme of offical hotel hookers hanging around in the lobby bar who are allowed to access the rooms.

Observation for the management: when we wanted to charge our drinks at the lobby bar to our room, the waiter tried to convince us to pay in cash, offering discounts. This is a strong singn that the hotel is being robbed by bar employees. Indirectly this is bad for the hotel guests, because management will have to increase prices to keep the business profitable.

When you check out, it is recommendable to have a close look at the items that are charged to your room. In my bill I found several items that I never used. I am not sure if they are trying to overcharge you intentionally or if it was just accidental incompetence.

Room Tip: My room was close to the pool. Due to the huge geographical size of this hotel, the walking distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day fishing trip to the Amazon. We stayed in the hotel both sides of the trip. The rooms were very clean and quiet. You have to remember you are in the middle of the Amazon for expectations. I would stay again.
One thing for people to consider when flying into Manaus. Coming down you can carry small fishing rods etc on the plane. On the return, I was advised that my 26 inch cardboard tube was "forbidden" and had to get back into the check in line again to check my small carryon.
Additionally, the TSA agent took all my Mach 3 safety razor refills and razor, my 2 ounce contact lens solution, 1.5 ounce toothpast. I think its like Vietnam where they confiscate things they want personally...just a "heads up"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Painlessone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

A sprawling hotel (600 rooms covering only 3 floors?) on the outskirts of Manaus. Looks like a place popular with tour groups and airline staff on lay-over. A little worn around the edges, but the rooms are large with high ceilings, shower and bath, decent beds, and good air conditioning. The halls are almost long enough for a good jog (no kidding.) Food is OK -- breakfast features local ingredients. Service is slow and with some exception impersonal and matter-of-fact. As a transit point (we were coming to and going from an Amazon adventure), the hotel is fine -- a sea plane lands almost at your door. Offers a small zoo with animals in quarters that are too confined... a little off-putting. Must have been an amazing place when it was young....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#23 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 44 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#4 of 44 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#5 of 44 in Manaus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 44 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Go Inn Manaus
#11 of 44 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Property: Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Address: Avenida Coronel Teixeira 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manaus
#7 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing