We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is full of Charm and History”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Since we took a tour of the city of Manaus before arriving at the hotel, we were thankful to see that it was secure and nice. The Tropical Hotel was the start to our Amazon adventure.

We loved the woodwork throughout the hotel and the history that was contained within, so we spent a large amount of time just walking the hallways. Definitely an older resort, but the room was clean and staff accomodating. We ate dinner, which my husband said was the best gnokes (sp?) he has ever eaten. Breakfast had a nice variety, and again the staff was nice and helpful.

If you like to venture, the grounds are extensive, with turtles and birds to watch, and it is a quick walk to the river and the beach. The pool area is large and inviting if you want to spend the day in the sun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,089)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 3,089 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Tropical Hotel is the perfect spot to launch a variety of Amazon adventures. About 20 minutes from downtown, the Tropical is an older resort property filled with charm. The grounds are extensive and it is a quick walk to the river and the beach. The rooms are a bit dated, but not bad. Beds were comfortable, water pressure was perfect and there was plenty of hot water. While it rained most of the time we were there, the pool area in the center court yeard was huge and well maintained.

We had breakfast and lunch at the tropical twice. The breakfast buffet featured many local fruits and breads, thoroughly enjoyable. For lunch, we stuck to ordering off the menu. However, they had an extensive buffet of hot and cold foods. As tempting as it was, there was simply too many options and the price of about USD $31 was a bit more than we wanted to spend. A Tropical Burger hit the spot!

The one area that definitely needs updating is the wall safe. We spent two nights in two different rooms and neither safe was operable. One was not even attached to the wall.

If you were to rate this on the U.S. scale, I would give it 3.5 stars, more than adequate for most people but not true luxury.

Room Tip: Make sure to request non-smoking if you want it! Also, some rooms are quite a walk from the lobby...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very cool hotel. Great location right on the Rio Negro. This hotel is huge and even has its own zoo with Jaguar, Mackaws, Caiman, Capybara etc. Food is ok, nothing to write home about. Has a great lobby bar, pool area, pool tables, and shops. The only real negative thing I can say about the hotel is the nightclub they have attached. DO NOT get a room numbered between 3000-3100. It will be adjacent to the night club and where they have "carnivales" outside. The first night I stayed there it was a Saturday and the music started at 11pm and didnt stop until 430am. I slept very little, if at all. I thought it might just have been a one time thing, but my second night at the hotel the following saturday, I realized the loud music was more common than I thought. Overall, a damn decent hotel for "Paris of the Jungle."

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuhnflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Hotel should have more attention to its service (front desk) and its rooms. Looks that in the past the hotel was really good, but today the room is old with old things like TV and cash safe. On the other hand, the location is great, just in front of Rio Negro, so, I recommend if you will go out to see the places like Anavilhanas and "water meeting". The bed is ok, so you can sleep as well. I did not spend my time in the hotel, we went out every day. The most beatifull things (river, forest, animals) are out of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a new area
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crisy0shi0ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Let's just get a few things straight to begin with. The rooms are fine, the check-in okay, the caipirinhas in the restaurant very good ( not so good in the lobby bar), and the breakfast plentiful.
The building itself is in the grand style and the hotel was probably "the place" when built, it is huge and vast coridoors radiate in all directions across the 3 floors, and herein is the problem, the signage is worse than inadequate, it is downright misleading. Follow it at your peril. Consequently you will spend considerable time walking along endless identical coridoors trying to find yoyr destination. This lunacy also affects the staff. Wanting to check e-mails I was directed (wrongly) by the cashier to the internet room , where after a 15 minute search I found that access required a voucher that could only be obtained from the cashier. So back I went and having duly got said voucher returned to the internet room to discover that the internet was not working. Returning to the cashier for a refund I explained the situation only to be told that he was aware of the problem which had existed for the previous 8 hours. Madness.
It's not a bad hotel, and if you are cruising or fishing you may not have a choice , but be prepared .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TEDDINGTON35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very nice location, but this once elegant hotel has been sorely neglected. The first surprise came at the front desk: "Is the tap water, in the room, safe to drink?" The reply was "No." The only potable water is that which you have to buy, either from the room mini-bar fridge, from the lobby bar, or from the convenience store a short walk from the hotel. There is also bottled water available at the exercise facility, for a price. Upon arriving at our room we turned the A/C on and discovered later that it was not functioning. The maintenance department was called and the problem was resolved 2.5 hours later, at 10:00 p.m.
On the plus side, the morning breakfast buffet (included) was very comprehensive with Americanized selections and we enjoyed the on site zoo. If returning to Manaus we would opt for different accommodations.

Room Tip: At this hotel, the rooms that we saw appeared adequate in size for two people. The mattress was acce...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A spectacular site, location, Brazilian colonial architecture right outside Manaus.
Everything else in this hotel is a disgrace. Bathrooms are old, outdated and ugly, rooms are old, staff is horrible, not trained and badly managed. Restaurants are just a buffet and the food is also horrible.
Got sick they were going o send the nurse of the site. Two hours later that the nurse does not show up I call back and she was gone for the day. They referred me to a private clinic that would not take credit cards.... Just cash.....
A place to visit but NOT to stay.

Room Tip: Be a pilot or a flight attendant as they take a long time choosing their rooms while everyone is sta...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Wyndham Garden Manaus
#23 of 46 in Manaus
221 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 46 in Manaus
793 reviews
Caesar Business Manaus
#5 of 46 in Manaus
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#4 of 46 in Manaus
108 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 46 in Manaus
313 reviews
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 46 in Manaus
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Avenida Coronel Teixeira 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: $55 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 3*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing