We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must see attraction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parque Ecologico Januari

Parque Ecologico Januari
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Meeting of the Waters and Janauari Lake Tour
Ranked #16 of 155 things to do in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to this 9000-acre park is an Amazon-like experience, with dry and flooded forests and lowlands, and numerous examples of giant water lilies measuring as much as seven feet in diameter.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Must see attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I saw and explored the lake in a canoe while traveling with Amazon Clipper Cruise aboard the Premium river boat. I enjoyed seeing the flora and fauna of the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eagle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    122
    37
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Januari lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice to take a boat ride on the lake and see various birds. We had the most annoying tour guide, who kept mumbling to himself and was not projecting his voice. The boat ride into the inner parts of the Amazon was "meh". We had a better trip in the "flooded forest" in a canoe ride. They stop by a caboclos place to see the 3 toed sloth and a Boa.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie3416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Vitoria-regia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took a private tour with Amazon Explorers. Very expensive, but safe and worth it. Meeting of the waters, Lake January, Native village, diving with BOTOS and lunch at Pousada Jacaré. We left from Tropical Hotel pier at 8 am sharp and returned at arround 4 pm. A long speed boat trip, with a local guide and the most extraordinary boatman - Sr. Bida. He took us through some amazing igarapés, turned off the engine so we could hear the forest! great. We didn´t dive - only looked at the Botos beeing fed. Saw some vitorias-regias. Took photos with the Tatuyos - indians and ate a very honest lunch. Had to wait at the restaurant for a tropical storm to pass before returning to Manaus but even that was a thrill. The boat did "flap" a lot. Only acept tours certified by EMBRATUR - help protect our environement. Do not go for the cheap non certified ones!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BrasilOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Bring repellent when you go to this place if you dont want to be bitten alive by mosquito. It is a stunning and beautiful. A bit dissapointed that I did not see many animals, only 1 sloth and couple of birds

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cipta_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Lillies and monkeys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited the lake during our Amazon River cruises, and whilst we were a little disappointed that we didn't see a greater variety of birds and animals, the highlight was a large family of Capuchin monkeys on the elevated board walk close to the lake where the lilies are found.
Visiting in January enables a better viewing experience that near the end of the rain season in June when much of this area is under water.
There is a covered area near where the boats dock selling what we found to be expensive tourist items.
There is also a large restaurant that on the occasions we were there was not open.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnpsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Ecologico Januari also viewed

 

Been to Parque Ecologico Januari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing