We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel”
Review of Big Hostel Brasil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Hostel Brasil
Ranked #9 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Dorm rooms are cramped, with little space for backpacks. Rooms have a/c but only until around 8am, then it's turned off and the rooms get really hot. There are no lockers in the dorms, only near reception. No breakfast included (strange for Brazil). Upstairs shared shower is hot, but downstairs are cold only. The staff are friendly and helpful. Downstairs common area is quite nice but wifi doesn't reach there. 10 min walk to the opera house and square.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a good hostel with good location and reasonable price. I stayed there for ten days. The owners are a big family of one father, one mother, and three children operating the hostel together. They are genuinely very friendly and sincere persons. I really had good time. The hygiene is very good, floors are very clean and everything are in good care of. MUITAS MULHERES BONITAS!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank YuFei008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hosts are like the parents and the guests the lucky sons. The friendliest environment one could imagine in Manaus. Plenty of rooms with A/C, silent neighborhood, and... 5 min away from downtown (by walking). Only guests are allowed in, which avoids parties and makes it the perfect place for resting. Downstairs there is a common refrigerator and kitchen, along with hammocks and a backyard with fruit trees which attract birds. I feel safe and ready to face the jungle :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betagamizado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hostel is clean and well maintained overall. The owners and staffs are really friendly to talk to and helpful. I was greeted by the owner's son when i arrived in midnight. The bedrooms are equipped with air-conditions. In a hot and humid weather of Manaus, this's good relief for your sleep.

This hostel is not located at the main street. Going to the Opera House is about 15min walk but it's still easy to find.

The only drawback here is it's close to the river or sewer (not sure exactly what this is). with high heat and temperature, you'll get smells from there. there're a lot of mosquitos around. it would be good if they use any mosquito repellent devices around the building. couldn't find en electrical outlet on the wall inside my room to charge my camera. no tower hangers inside the bathroom is another drawback.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This Hostel in Manaus, Brazil is one of the best I stayed in. The family who runs this Hostel is super nice and helpful. They used to have only bunk bed rooms but they are currently bulding new two bed and family bedrooms. Me and my boyfriend got one of these freshly reovated rooms with bathroom en-suite. Everything is clean and the garden is great to relax. I highly recommend a stay in this Hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mara_muh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

You really do feel very welcome at this hostel. Luis in particular went out of his way to ensure our stay was comfortable. We'd booked a double room and received a 4 bed dorm as a result of their current renovation project. This was fine. It was very spacious and comfortable in an atmospheric old brick style room. The air conditioning was a welcome feature however you need to ask staff to make any adjustments for you. Staff there let us use a locker and held our luggage whilst we took a tour into the Amazon.

Breakfast is basic enough with some tapioca, coffee and bread on offer. The hostel is close to a great local pizza restaurant (staff can advise) and is a short enough walk into the main part of town.

As expected in this climate there is a lot of rain so ensure you have adequate time to dry clothing if you decide to do washing. We had to use the air conditioner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved this hostel, all the reception staff are really friendly and helpful, Freda, her husband and their son are all great too! Really make you feel at home.
They are in the process of renovating the downstairs rooms, making a bigger kitchen, and also double rooms with ensuites!
We thought the breakfast was good - tapiocas, fruit, coffee, fresh juice, toasted sandwiches.
Louis, the receptionist booked us on a great day trip, exploring the amazon so definitely ask about this tour.
We did book a double room through booking.com but received an email almost immediately saying that they had no double beds, this was a little disappointing but we decided to stay anyway as we had heard great things.
We also organised an airport transfer which was easy and stress free.
All the other positives make up for the little hiccup of the beds.
We didn't feel entirely safe walking around too late at night, but i guess thats the same all over Brazil!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Local Hostel Manaus
Local Hostel Manaus
#1 of 192 in Manaus
299 reviews
Hanuman Hostel
#7 of 192 in Manaus
13 reviews
City Center
Hostel Manaus
Hostel Manaus
#4 of 192 in Manaus
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Seringal Hotel
#1 of 42 in Manaus
103 reviews
Hotel Roma
#74 of 192 in Manaus
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel Brasil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel Brasil

Address: Avenida 7 de Setembro 1655 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-120, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range: $12 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern world forces us to move major shares of energy in search for survival and improvement of our lives.The increasing in responsibilities while leisure moments and true peace of mind become scarce.given this, tourism has become indispensable.Traveling and "turning off" currently has been indetified as a powerful antidote against stress, anxiety and even against depression.but it is just not enough to travel, physically be absent from routine environment, it is necessary relaxation; nothing is worth the charm of known places if one is not accompanied by leisure and complete good physical and mental rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Hostel Brasil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hostel Brasil Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing