We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Manaus, Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After our standard priced (BRL50, no bargaining) taxi from Manaus airport we arrived at this little oasis of good taste for a two-night stay before heading into the jungle. We booked easily by Internet a couple of months before: desk staff were attentive and helpful during all phases of our stay. There is no lift so hiking our heavy cases up the narrow stairs to our second floor front room was hard going. I had read that the bedrooms were small so we booked a suite. Even so, very little space in the room and we had to open our cases on the bed, but once we got sorted these could be stowed out of the way. Good supply of toiletries, towels, bathrobes etc, with a great shower. I didn't mind the glassed-in bathroom area after a while but you might want more privacy. Bed was large and fine, clean crisp sheets, adjustable air conditioning, easy sleeping. Strong odor of air freshener about the place but not unpleasant. A bit of street noise as this street connects two avenues, and there are bars and eateries across the street with live music. Outside areas upstairs gave great views of the Amazonas Theatre, and Cardiology Institute building. Lounging area downstairs was a good getaway when we needed some space. Breakfast was excellent with toast, jam, honey, fruits, good coffee, ham, fresh cheese, and eggs, although the small eating area is crowded if you're a late riser. In all, despite the small rooms, you can find space here, particularly on the rooftop with loungers and benches to watch the sunset. We thought it was great and that the designer had made the most of the small spaces available which were carefully and tastefully decorated. Location was good, only a kilometer or so from center of old town area.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with own bathroom as rooms are small. Rooms facing the street are noisy on weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maracoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just wanted to echo what others have said, the hotel is in an excellent location. It's a few steps from the Teatro Amazonas, the old Opera house in the middle of the Amazon. It's 2 min walk up the street from Gero Tours, a well reviewed Amazon tour company here in TripAdvisor.
The hotel is very clean and modern. It looked like lots of the amenities were new. It has a living room on the ground floor you can hang out in and also a wonderful rooftop terrace with lots of comfy furniture, and even a bar and grill area (no drinks for sale, but we brought our own and put them in the little fridge). It has amazing views of the Opera house and since we stayed there on Dec 25, we got to hear their Christmas concert and see all the fireworks.

A warning, the rooms are VERY small. We stayed in a two-bedroom and they were bunk beds. The room has a little space to go in an out and that's it. Fortunately you can put luggage in a little closet under the bunk beds, but still, it's pretty cramped. We only stayed one night and spent most of the day wandering around town, so in the end it wasn't a big deal. We also had a communal bathroom on our floor. There were 2 bathrooms with toilet and shower for 4 rooms, so up to about 8 people worst case. We were 4 friends and the only ones staying on that floor that day so no big deal either.

The A/C and Wifi were both good quality. The price is worth it for the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Odd boutique hotel with very small but functional rooms.. This hotel is literally beside the Teatro and very well located. the staff was very helpful.. breakfast was great and we slept so well. Best choice in Manaus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlhrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks good English. They give tips on where you can go for diner and which streets you should not go after sundown.

The rooms are well decorated, bright, very clean and recently built/renovated. The bathroom with excellent shower was very much appreciated after our stay in the Amazon forest. Make sure you bring earplugs, as you might experience some noise from the street (as everywhere else in Brazil).

The breakfast buffet is good with fresh fruits and good pastry, but unfortunately there were no fresh juices.

The view from the roof terrace is splendid: the Opera. I think there is no better place to make a picture of the opera in Manaus than this hotel!

Compared to the other hotels I saw in Manaus, this one was really the best value for money! We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room (maybe at the back of the hotel?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in Casa Teatro for a whole week while I was working in Manaus. This boutique hotel is very good but have some flaws that can make some people very unsatisfied.
The good things: The location is great, in the city center almost in the corner of the square where the Teatro Amazonas is and close to some restaurants and shops; The price is good compared to the hotels in Manaus (I paid 140 reais for a single room with bathroom); The atmosphere is great, well decorated; the rooms and the hotel are very clean and organized; The breakfast was good; The tv has some international channels like CNN, BBC, Le Monde, etc. and the wi fi internet is good; There are good air conditioning in the rooms; The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The bad things: The rooms are small and some don't have windows, but the rooms with windows are very noisy because there are some bars on the street with live music. So, in the end I prefered to stay in a room without windows.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, before and after a jungle trip. The rooms are small but the aircon is strong, it is brand new and immaculate with good bathrooms. There are several sitting areas including a rooftop terrace with views of the opera house. It has all been decorated with artworks and ornaments from around the world as well as beautiful day beds and couches with cushions (this is usually not done well in Brazil!) the biggest plus for us is that we had an 1130pm overnight flight and the manager offered for us to stay in our room without even asking!

Overall an excellent place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazCincu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever been to. Location is perfect (they even have a rooftop terrace overlooking the Teatro Amazonas). Breakfast is great. Staff is very friendly. They put so much thought in every detail. This place is a masterpiece of interior design. Rooms are a bit small, but still provide plenty of storage.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aconrad2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#15 of 47 in Manaus
440 reviews
City Center
Hotel Villa Amazonia
Hotel Villa Amazonia
#3 of 47 in Manaus
129 reviews
Go Inn Manaus
#10 of 47 in Manaus
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Intercity Manaus
#4 of 47 in Manaus
821 reviews
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#26 of 47 in Manaus
98 reviews
Cidade Nova
Chez Les Rois
Chez Les Rois
#19 of 47 in Manaus
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro

Address: Rua 10 de Julho No 632, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range: $36 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Casa Teatro Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing