We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boat trip to Rio Negro with Lopeix”

Arquipelago de Anavilhanas
Ranked #4 of 157 things to do in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful boat trip to Rio Negro with Lopeix”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were little bit scared of booking boat trip to Anavilhanas in the internet. Going in the jungle with family, lot of insects, spiders and piranhas ?. Forget all that ! This is experience you'll never forget. We where having wonderful time in Rio Negro for three days. Boat was great, food was excellent and our guide knew every species we met. Swimming in the river, walking in the rainforest, hearing the frogs in the dark, and understanding the diversity of species living in the area was amazing. Most ecxiting was spotting the alligators in the dark. Scary indeed. Special thanks to our hosts ! Could not been better, just enough action with time to relax also. Highly recommeded ! Obrigado Jorgi Miguel Gil Alegre and all the Lo Peix crew.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jyri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    90
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best things I've seen in my life”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Anavilhanass lodge and archipelago . Wonderful nature, good guides , good to get to know the jungle . Very good stuff there. Splendid lodge, very clean no spiders and snakes at the lodge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank KarinS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was one of the most amazing places I have ever been to in Brazil. I ventured into the Archipelago with the Amazon Clipper Cruises aboard the Premium river boat (see my review of the boat in "The Amazon"). I visited the area up close in a canoe to see the flora and fauna.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank eagle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip to Amazonas”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the meet of the Rivers, this is something not to be missed. Also the Pink Dolphins are beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful and mostly inaccessible national park”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

There isn't a lot of information on the archipelago on the web. Wikipedia writes the following: Anavilhanas Ecological Station is an ecological station in Brazil in the state of Amazonas. The Anavilhanas archipelago includes hundreds of islands in the Rio Negro. An area of 350,000 hectares with a perimeter of 380 km has been put forward by the Brazilian government as a tentative World Heritage Site since 1998. This comprises 100,000 hectares of islands and canals within the Rio Negro and a further 260,000 hectares of riverside forest.

We were able to explore a small part of the archipelago in July 2013 (the "dry" season) by staying at the wonderful Anavilhanas Jungle Lodge (see separate review). In addition to providing upscale (luxury) lodging they organize day-long activities on the river. The national park is on the Rio Negro whose low pH (acidity) keeps mosquitoes away but also reduces the amount of wildlife. Nonetheless, we saw gray and pink dolphins, three-toed sloths, monkeys, pirañas, tarantulas, etc.

It is just a beautiful area, dense jungle, beautiful birds and animals, and biodiversity that is remarkable. It was a once in a lifetime visit to this extraordinary place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelsFarAndWisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arquipelago de Anavilhanas also viewed

 
Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Arquipelago de Anavilhanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing