We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fortal

Hotel Fortal
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fortal
Ranked #20 of 39 Manaus B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good value for the cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here one night before our jungle excursion and taking a slow ferry from the port. It is close to the port and somewhat close to the center. The room was basic, but the air conditioning was awesome, and the internet worked very well. Nothing fancy, but the staff was very kind, and the room was great for the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IHeise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel last December for one night, before going to a jungle tour.
We were two families having booked two triple rooms; one room had no window at all, while the other had a little window trough which a lot of noise was coming from some nightclub close to the hotel.
The A/C was working, but very noisy, so we almost couldn't sleep all night.
The receptionist cannot speak ANY word of English; all the communications were via Google translate...
The breakfast was modest, but OK.
The whole area seems to be very unsafe after dark; if you plan to go out, take a taxi!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms in this hotel that I can reccomend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manaus hotels

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you are staying at this hotel you should speak Portuguese. We stayed at this hotel and no one in the staff could speak or understand English. We had lots of misunderstandings and problems getting information about the city. The rooms and beds are very small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompanilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel a littlebit weird.
Very cheap price and ok for one night.
Close to the opera but nothing else.
If more than 2 ppl, recommand somewhere else.
We were 3 and it was one single bed and one bunk bed (which the one on top was directly in the A/C). I don't think I would've stayed there longer.
Breakfest is ok, considering you are in the middle of the amazon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrée-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

A quite recently opened hotel downtown Manaus just 10 min walk from the Opera house. Officially 3 stars, but more a 2 star option. Friendly service, medium size clean rooms. Wi-fi, aircon, LCD-TV. A bit weird design concept and paints strips all over... breakfast is ok. Good value for money, Would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
#26 of 44 in Manaus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Hotel Sao Paulo
#5 of 39 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Hotel Farol da Barra
#2 of 39 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seringal Hotel
#1 of 39 in Manaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
City Center
Local Hostel Manaus
Local Hostel Manaus
#2 of 179 in Manaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortal

Property: Hotel Fortal
Address: Rua da Instalacao 212, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-200, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Manaus
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fortal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fortal Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing