We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”
Review of Amazon Backpackers

Amazon Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Amazon Backpackers with over 22 years experience shows you the Amazon like no one, we do what everybody does but no one does what we do.We organize 1 to 45 days expeditions, jungle tours, boat trips, survival training, tree climbing, visit of Indigenous communities. We operate in the Juma reserve, Tupana reserve, Mamiraura Reserve and Jau Natioal Park.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well worth the experience. I did the 5 day and 4 night package and spent three of my five days camping in the jungle with the other two in the riverside lodge. The lodge was comfortable and simple and do not expect a 5 star luxury experience, there are other options offered for those seeking those kinds of accommodations. Marcelo, our tour guide, was phenomenal; a very cheerful and intelligent man, always willing to go on an adventure. I went during the height of the quiet season, so the hostel and the entire area was empty, it was a very intimate and personal time. For 5 days, we payed about 380 dollars each, with everything, but alcohol, included (food, water, transportation and accommodation) Claudio is a fantastic owner and a great guy! I HIGHLY recommend this company if you are seeking an adventure in the amazon. Well worth the price!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinayak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    67
    17
    20
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerman, Iran
1 review
“4 days amazon tour with amazon backpackers”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friends and I(16 people) did the 4 day 3 night Amazon tour with amazon backpackers tour. We research several companies as most do, but from the customer service and insightful knowledge claudio and elmo and mageno provided pre-trip it was a no brainier that we made the best decision to choose Amazon backpackers Tours. This was just the start, thay was waiting for us at the airport with a sign and made the trip a breeze.elmo showed us around city of manaus. they showed up early the morning our tour started which is almost unheard of when in central or south America. elmo is a true professional all around and this job is his biggest passion (you can tell from the excitement in explaining all the wonderful things about his native land. He showed us sloths, monkeys, cayman, tarantulas, iguanas, went piranha fishing, spear fishing, saw pink dolphins, sunsets/sunrises, camped a night in the jungle and everything comes from the jungle. Words can't explain the adventure and hospitality Elmo and claudio and mageno bring to a trip.we had great time with them.amazonbackpackers tour is amazinggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ali m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We had a good time, but others' may not have...”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went for 5 days 4 nights on a boat for 6 people. When we arrived we were informed that the boat did not have enough rooms to accommodate us as the email communication had promised. Nevertheless, we continued and the trip was good. Our guide was knowledgable, but did take us for a sleep in the jungle one night advising us that there weren't many mosquitos... my 100+ bites proved otherwise. We went during the rainy season, which wasn't rainy, but limits the amount of wildlife you'll see. The itinerary provided by this company looked great, but comprised of similar activities - most of which were trying to spot elusive wildlife. For the most part, we were able to chill on the boat and swim in the river as much as we liked, and that was fine for us. However, if we had been a group that was looking for more activity, we may have been disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
“Amazon tour with Amazon Backpackers”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I am pleased to recommend Claudio, and all the guys who work for Amazon Backpackers. We had an unforgettable tour and lovely experience with Claudio. The professional and capable guides made a force to showed us the best of the wild life( animals, plants) and the way of surviving in the jungle. We were 3 days and we needed more definitely . I want to point out that we get everything that we agreed, food, water, transport, guides useful information and help about accommodation in Manus as well as free transport from airport. To sum up.. We felt Amazon in the best way.. THANK YOU Claudio.. We recommend the agency for everyone who want to expire the Amazon .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DajanaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, null, Serbia
1 review
“Amazon tour”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Amazon backpackers provided us a great tour to Amazon. The trip to there (about 100 km from Manaus) is really something special. It is a wild place, just like you expect to see. There you will get everything you need, great tours, swimming in the river, bout rides where you can see Macaos and other wild birds. Unfortunately, you cannot see a jaguar, but there is a lot of dolphins. They are wild and it is not possible to come close to them (like they show you can see at the photos, that is some special place where they feed them...).You can sleep in the forest, which I would definitely recommend for all nature lovers. Guides are really excellent, they will how you everything there is to be shown: trees, fruits, poison frogs, they will catch a caiman, show you how to fish piranas (it is really easy), explain where anaconda can be seen, explain you the ecosystem,...
I would definitely recommend them for the tour. And try to get a good price, it is really possible.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon Backpackers also viewed

 
Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Amazon Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing