We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a local in Manaos”
Review of Canto Da Peixada

Canto Da Peixada
Ranked #58 of 3,289 Restaurants in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feel like a local in Manaos”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Our host at the guesthouse recommended we go to this place for dinner. He even wrote down which dishes he suggests we try.

After a disapointing tour of the Amazon we needed some comfort to restore our faith in Manaos and this place did mot disappoint. The beer is served ice cold, the food is flavorful and the fish is beautifully cooked. Go for the grilled fish rather than fried.

This place my have a simple appearance but it's surprisingly nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirageva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    67
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed alfresco fish specialty institution”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at a resort 3 hours outside of Manaus, and had to spend half a day in a rather bland Manaus before we catch the flight at 4pm back to Sao Paulo. After seeing the manatees at the park and the meeting of the waters, this fish restaurant was a perfect place for a relaxing lunch of great fish dishes and beer chilled in ice buckets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owhatfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“local seafood dishes”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Corner fish restaurant found in Praca 14 has plenty of locals enjoying reasonably priced seafood dishes. They have wood curvings of manatee, Pirarucu, peacock sea bass and other fresh fishes all over the walls and has a whole big Tambaqui in the freezer.

The biggest fresh water fishes found only in the Amazon – Pirarucu and Tambaqui – has white chewy meat are prepared many different ways.

Not a 5 star or Michelin rated restaurant. Has plastic chairs but is Clean, with excellent and Even if waiters do not speak English they gave friendly service. I think prices are reasonable. Has inside and outside seating. Accepts credit card.

No service charge in the final bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, El Salvador
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good local folclore restaurant!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hey, your in Manaus, middle of now where, but food is excellent specially fish, Tambaqui Ribs and Pirarucu Milanese are excellent!! Good place to eat if you want to get a feel of the fish culture!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BePacMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fine dining in mediocre Manaus”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Manaus must have a great PR firm. One would assume that this is a tropical paradise, from what is written in travel guides. Far from the truth. If you are considering visiting here, I recommend reading candid reviews of restaurants and hotels before ever investing a dime because the customer service here is among the worst I've ever experienced, and I've visited more than 35 countries. That being said, the dinner was pretty good, if you can forgive prices which would equal or surpass many other countries-and certainly other cities in Brazil, then go for it. I did have a fish stew here that was amazing, and if you are a foodie passing through Manaus, then come by. I would never, however, recommend coming to this city based on food alone. The loud traffic, inattentive service, and other headaches make it easy to skip...but the fish stew was delicious. If you like sitting in plastic chairs and watching cars run red lights while your waiter ignores his only table, you've found the perfect place to have an incredible, authentic fish stew.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuttersFort2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canto Da Peixada also viewed

Manaus, Amazon River
Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Canto Da Peixada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing