We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #75 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing service, great hosts”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Initially I was a little sceptical about booking at the Colonial as I would have preferred something a little more remote and quiet but I luckily decided on this place at the last minute.
If the price does not entice u the service, the cleanliness and the AMAZING breakfast should.
Also if u are coming into Manaus by boat it is just 5 minutes from the port and less than 60 seconds from the bus stop that will take u to the airport, saving u a good deal of much needed cash.
Do yourself a favour and listen to Auntie K.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellin_blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    11
    7
    12
See reviews for
9
29
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Pros: Very friendly and willing family hotel. Very cheap compared to other accommodation in Brasil. Very good value for money.

Cons: Nobody speaks English. Noisy street.

Room Tip: Ask room further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JirkaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Had a great staying in this hotels clean rooms and great staff. They were very helpful getting me a good price ticket for a travel to Santarem by boat. Also very helpful with arranging taxi and transport to and from airport. The location is more or less downtown, close to about everything!

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I highly recommend Hotel Colonial for the accommodation it provides and more importantly for the kindness and helpfulness of the owner, Celio, as well as all the staff. My adult daughter and I stayed in the hotel a night before going and two nights after returning from a lodge in the Amazon. The double rooms we had were very clean and a good size; the beds were a bit hard but comfortable; the air conditioning good; the fridge well stocked with cheap beer, soft drinks and water, the breakfast fairly basic but tasty and the hotel is clse to all the attractions and transport. But it was the kindness, generosity, honesty and helpfulness of Celio that really impressed us. We left our passports and all our cards and money with Celio when we went to the lodge which initially concerned me but was un-necessarily as they were totally safe in Celio's care. When we returned from the lodge, Celio appeared at the dock to take us to the hotel because he had been personally concerned about us because we did not speak Portuguese, which turned out to be lucky because the tour operator who was to take us from the dock to the hotel did not turn up. Celio even stayed around to help another group who were also expecting for the tour operator to turn up to take them to the airport. On our last day when the tour operator had promised to take us for a quick look at the Meeting of the Waters before taking us to the airport, it was Celio and his wife who ended up taking us as well as on a side trip to 'fish' for piracuru (which was great fun). As another guest at the hotel told me, Celio will take you around to see different places in Manaus for petrol money and will help you organise other things (this would probably be more easy if you speak Portuguese as Celio does not speak English although we managed to get by with him). We were very happy with the hotel and impressed with Celio as a person, and it is his integrity and sense of personal responsibility which makes him provide the best service to his guests that he can.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front near the reception are the largest, but I preferred the other room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you are in a budget, this place is a very good option. Comparing to prices in other places in Manaus, it is almost cheap. The building was renewed and everything works fine. Plus, the owner is very nice and ready to help you a lot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabebritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

arrived in Manaus without a booking and walked into dozens of rubbish places and finally found this gem. old colonial building with rooms that were not too expensive. the owner personally drove us around to see manaus (we paid for it of course) but loved every moment. the coffee shop where breakfast is served is very old fashioned and i loved sitting indoors watching the street outside. the place is walking distance from the town centre (teatro amazonas, etc) and it does a great breakfast as well.

i would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehostelcrowd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Nice famlily run hotel in the best loction in the center of town, nearby everything, very clean and totally valid the price per night with TV and wireless internet included. What makes the really big difference is the family that cares about every guest, absolutely friendly and helping with information and trips, superconfidential which is the most important coming to a new place. Totally recomending it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaede5215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
City Center
Local Hostel Manaus
Local Hostel Manaus
#2 of 179 in Manaus
269 reviews
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Manaus
#1 of 44 in Manaus
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Rua Quintino Bocaiuva Nr 462, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69005-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel in the center of Manaus in historic building. All rooms with a/c, frigobar, cable TV and wirelsss Internet access. Free breakfast with tropical juices and regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing