We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It took several weeks for a reply”

Amazon Mystery Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Specialists in adventure tourism Amazon Mystery Tours is able to bring you the most unique places in the Amazon rainforest. Kayaking, Adventure sports, forest trails, nocturnal, sport fishing, canopy tours are some of our specialties are also a good company in their holdings in Manaus as historical tours, meeting of the waters, interaction with dolphins and other options. Amazon Mystery Tours - beyond the beaten trail.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
401 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“It took several weeks for a reply”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I wanted to take this tour and contacted them with two separate emails separated by 2 weeks and did not receive a reply several weeks after my last email. Too bad i really wanted to do this trip after talking to previous owner several years ago. Just too slow, so have patience if u are trying to book.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anybody has done this tour with the new administration?”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have read very good reviews about this company but it looks that Rinaldo, the great guide/manager everybody talks about, is no longer with them.
I have emailed and called them several times to the contact info in their website but nobody responds.
It would be very helpful to know if anybody has done this tour with Luiz or Erikes or if there are other cool Amazon tours that get "deep into the jungle".
Thanks!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Magical Mystery Tour”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Terrific paddling on the Urubu, agree with all the glowing reviews of those who got onto the river. Too bad for the Georgetown person who tried to bargain for a lower rate - you missed a great trip. We considered the fancy Amazon cruise, then switched to a river boat, and then figured in for a dime, in for a dollar, and so reached out to Rinaldo. Right call.

Head's up: it is basic camping. The only running water is the river and the waterfalls, and bathroom facilities consist of a shovel and a spot anywhere off the trail. No A/C, campfires, or wifi. Bedroom is a hammock, mosquito net and tarp. We paddled a couple hours each morning and another couple after lunch, so it's a bit of work. And there's a reason they call it a rain forest. On the other side: this is a black water river, so no mosquitoes; Rinaldo and his crew set up and take down camp, cook all the meals, and pour all the drinks; and we paddled downstream, with a current that moved along, with only one real set of rapids that we portaged.

Pretty much guaranteed an amazing trip. Urubu is undeveloped. Save for a very few clearings, it's four days of jungle. We saw more macaws than people. Really quiet, except for the birds and whatever else was out there making all that noise from dusk through dawn. Rinaldo is a fantastic host, full of stories. Junior and David cooked up a storm, and played some mean dominoes at night.

Highlights:

climbing in and around the waterfalls, and crawling through a very active bat cave, all on the same hike;

toasting the day's events during our very extended happy hours;

waking up in the middle of the night to all sorts of sounds around our camp; and

kicking back at Rinaldo's place before out flight to Salvador.

On all counts, a terrific outing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great way to learn about the Amazon”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

From our first contact by email we have had excellent communication with Rinaldo. He responded promptly and let us know when he would be out on trips and unable to reply. A Skype to telephone call enabled us to ask all the questions we needed to make our decision to kayak on the Urubu.
All the transport arrangements fell into place without a hitch from arrival at the airport near midnight to drop off six days later.
The kayaking adventure was all we expected it to be and more. Rinaldo was a mine of information about the environment and culture of the region and most particularly about the medicinal and practical uses of the plants. A bracelet of tree bark, manufactured as we walked through the forest, is a small and valued souvenir.
There was abundant birdlife along the river, but as mentioned by previous reviewers the animals tend to stay away from the river, though we did see bats, cayman, Amazon otters and tortoises.
Luis, the cook and Joshua, the boat driver made up the rest of the team. All worked well together and communicated with us in English.
We cannot speak highly enough about the wonderful food that was provided. Feasts of fish from the river were the highlight; the menu was varied and plentiful.
We recommend Amazon Mystery Tours to anyone who would like an unpretentious experience of the Amazon region with a knowledgable and experienced team.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CSDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What can it be except another 5 stars!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Well it seems like 5 stars is the only thing you can actually give this tour (if you have actually taken it). Rinaldo and the team are just the perfect guides to a magical tributary of the Amazon.

The trip is just perfect for getting a small slice of Amazon wilderness - please remember that true wilderness means that you will only get glimpses of birds, animals, caymans etc. Thankfully in this part of the world the animals still have no need to share their space with you so they will be off pretty much as soon as you arrive. If you can accept that you will be gifted some awe inspiring glimpses of much natural beauty.

What really sets the team apart for me and my wife was the care that they took with our dietary requirements. The prepared a fantastic range of meals free from gluten, soy and lactose and took great care to generally look after our every need.

Is it expensive? Sure, but how often will you kayak without almost seeing another human being in a pristine part of the world and still be greeted by a fantastic meal, a ice cold caiprihinia and comfy hammock each and every night.

Great job guys!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bvfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazon Mystery Tours also viewed

Manaus, Amazon River
Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Amazon Mystery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing