We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and Sound”
Review of Chez Les Rois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chez Les Rois
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for but one night. The hotel had us picked up at the airport. Upon our arrival, we could not ask for more. The room was huge, beds very comfortable, renovated bathroom, and AC. The pension is not by any means a five star but it is beyond when one considers how welcoming and attentive the staff and owner is. Breakfast was served around inner courtyard pool. A 10 minute walk away and you are at a modern shopping centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 194 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

This Pousada (B&B) is a great place to stay - friendly service, good rooms and a nice little swimming pool. The breakfast was also tasty and the atmosphere is nice and quiet. The latter, however, is because of its non-central location in Manaus. Most people only come to Manaus to quickly move on on a jungle trip. This is what we did, which in practice meant we only had a few hours to really explore Manaus. Because the Pousada is sort of far from the sights, you have to take a taxi, which with the crazy traffic could take some time - though it's rarely expensive. It therefore becomes a tradeoff between nice and quiet surroundings and getting to conveniently see the Manaus sights before moving on. We definitely didn't feel like we were missing out, but that is because Manaus doesn't really have that much on offer. However, it's worth considering when picking your accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This small quirky hotel is a nice haven in the marvelous, sometimes manic Manaus. A large bustling center of crumbling roads that weave through the city just as the rivers of the Amazon do. The jewel in the crown being Teatro Amazonas.

The hotel has a secure entrance and very helpful staff, who speak some English. It certainly helps to speak a little Portuguese in Manaus, especially for jumping in and out of taxis, which getting to Teatro Amazonas and the main square is definitely required.
The hotel being 10 - 15 minutes’ drive from the square and only around 20 reals. The location of hotel is a little isolated, but don't let that put you off. Rooms are good, décor ornate and with lots of chill out areas and a lovely private pool.

Breakfast is decent and the accommodation generally clean and tidy. No faults to be found at all. They have Wi-Fi and a PC for those wanting internet access. At my time of staying this wasn't working, but staffs were only glad to help and let me use their office computer for checking mail and flight details.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tolmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Make no mistake, if you are looking for a 5 star hotel chain this might not be for you. HOWEVER, we were extremely happy with our choice. The rooms are simple but they are clean and it has everything you need ( nice hot showers, AC, fridge and even TV). Our room also had a big balcony where we could eat or play cards. There is a nice pool and great breakfast.
It is about a 20 reals cab ride down to the theatre district but again we didn't mind this. The neighborhood is much safer and quieter and you are a very short walk to lots of restaurants and shops.
In addition the staff were very helpful, they started breakfast early for us, ordered us a pizza and took care of our bags when we went to the amazon lodge. I would recommend chez le rois to anyone going to Manaus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CirquedeGervais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very dodgy area
No sign out front
Small room
Dirty old bathroom
Threadbare sheets
Lovely people - fell over backwards trying to look after us.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlbrunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Comfortable rooms with air conditioning and hot shower, also a fridge. Great breakfast spread, which is included. Walking distance to buffets, bakeries, and a shopping mall. The staff was so helpful and friendly. TV with 99 channels (some in English) for those who are so inclined.

Room Tip: I had two rooms in my two stays here. Room 6 was especially nice, with extra cupboard space and a co...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

When we arrived, there was no one who spoke English. Whilst we did not think this would be a problem, when we needed something such as the airconditioning to be fixed, it became an issue. We stayed two nights, and although there was finally cool air coming through, the unit was very loud.
The bed was not comfortable and we did not feel the rooms were clean.
Breakfast was average, but we could not wait to leave.
We only chose this hotel because of Tripadvisor, and it was the first time the website had let us down (big time).

Room Tip: Look for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ameliashiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 47 in Manaus
331 reviews
City Center
Hotel Saint Paul
Hotel Saint Paul
#15 of 47 in Manaus
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Krystal Hotel Manaus
#29 of 47 in Manaus
46 reviews
Ibis Manaus
#16 of 47 in Manaus
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Les Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Les Rois

Address: Rua Perola Negra, Quadra G, N 01, Bairro Nossa Sra. das Gracas | Em frente ao Cemom na rua Acre, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69053-741, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Cidade Nova
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: $23 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Les Rois 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apto Individual (SGL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Duplo (DBL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Triplo (TRL) - R$ 110,00 Apto Quádruplo - R$ 110,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chez Les Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Les Rois Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing