We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averagely hot, humid and not so well kept”
Review of Hotel Saint Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Manaus
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Easy access to the Theatre and the other "must sees" and that is all about it. Exsept for free Internett. Manaus is no place for those seeking good restaurants. But nice to have been there. The city is like all in the tropics, not so clean, a bit smelly, but rather charing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 431 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ugly and basic but well located and OK for a stopover

LOCATION:
Good for central Manaus; on a quiet road two blocks from Opera House and 5-10 minutes from what restaurants there are in the centre.

ROOMS:
Basic and old but comfortable enough and air conditioned.
Supposedly an apartment room but other than a sink in the main room and cups and saucers (but no kettle) I'm not sure how this adds anything.
Free wifi although slow.
Security safe in room.
Warning - old fashioned wall sockets designed so UK plug adaptors may well not fit...you may not be able to recharge or use electrical devices.

SERVICE:
Staff very quiet if polite and made no effort to welcome or make any kind of conversation in spite of being able to speak English. Not terribly helpful; could not provide a city map or a plug adapter (see "rooms") which I would imagine is a common problem for visitors.

FACILITIES:
Restaurant serving cooked decent enough if basic lunch and dinner, but generally unappetising buffet breakfast. Not sure how clean this is all kept as quite a few little flies around which put me off the buffet.
Fitness room and pool.
Very old elevators.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael D, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We appreciate your time to write this review to share your opinion with our travelers!

As you said, the location of the hotel offers many conveniences and I am happy to know that they were helpful to you!

We apologize for wifi problem and would like to inform you that we are increasing our internet link to ensure free access to our network in all areas for our guests. About the UK plug adaptors, I already informed hotel manager and they will be available soon.

We are also grateful for the willingness to contribute with your opinion ...

Your opinion is very important and will help us to improve our services and achieve an excellence of service.

We hope to welcome you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Bathrooms were dirty and breakfast it was surprisingly poor. No yogurt, not fresh cereals and workers aren´t verysatisfied to work there. It seems that this hotel needs a change in management and refrurbish some rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capixaba_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice hotel in a good location; you can easily walk everywhere. The lift is very slow, maybe 10 mins wait. We asked about the pool when we checked in and were confidently told it was open to 10 pm, bizarrely considering what the desk said when we went down the pool was empty and looked as if it had been empty for some time. Breakfast was poor with two staff working like mad to try and clear tables and bring food out with their supervisor doing nothing! The result was very poor service, you ended up clearing your own table and everything ran out not just the food but plates, cups, and cutlery.

Room Tip: 1st floor so you don't have to use the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hlovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Four of us arrived late on a warm night. It was dark, late, and hot; and we were a little off our game. Our rooms were exactly as ordered: one double with twin beds and one double with a queen bed. They were on the smallish side. We could not get the AC to work, and the halls were very warm. When we realized that the key cards had to be placed in the eletrical slot to make the AC work, we were good to go (duh)!

The restrooms were not air conditioned except for the air that came in through the doors and the outside air that came in through the restroom window that really did not close very well. The beds were comfortable, and we slept well for the first night in a foreign country. I was awakened by a rooster crowing. The sound was not deadened very much by the open window in the restroom.

The breakfast was fine. I have trouble raving about the complimentary breakfast anywhere. We were gone by 8:30 a.m. heading to a jungle lodge, so we spent a total of about 8 1/2 hours in the St Paul Manaus. All in all, it was a good price for an average place to lay our weary heads, and we had no serious complaints. For those reasons, I would recommend it. We were supposedly close to the Opera House which everyone encouraged us to go see. But we did not have the time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoylefromJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael D, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Firstly, I want to thank you for choosen and evaluated our hotel. All the staff were informed about your comments. Your information about how to turn on the air conditioning were exposed to housekeeping and maintenance and this really help us to make an information display about how to use the key card and be sure that will be changed as soon as possible. When you return to Manaus be sure to check Opera House and the near places, and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are things new and other old in this hotel. when we arrived there is only a/c in the reception, not in corridors, was really hot until you arrive at your room and can put on the a/c. In the first room the a/c was not working properly. Not all the staff speak english, but all was kindly and change our room without problems. The second rooms had a bood a/c split, but the safe was not working. We did not ask for another change. The breakfast has lots of choice, 3 of then warm, but the juices were really bad taste. Rooms were big. There are only 2 elevators, may be too little for such a big hotel. Location good, near the town center, Escarola pizzeria highly recommended (lunch "al peso" and night menu).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parejaconbotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaSouza, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Dear guest,
We are pleased that we will make contact!
Thank you for sharing with thousands of other travelers your experiences with us.
Thank you for evaluating your opinion is very important to us!
We hope to welcome you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a difficult review to write as we stayed here both before and after our jungle trip and one stay was very good (probably four stars) the other awful (probably not even one star). When we arrived with a flight in the middle of the night on a Saturday we found it very easy to get a fixed price taxi (R$ 58) to the hotel and check in was quick and easy. We got a nice room (see pictures attached) and the hotel is only a few blocks away from the opera house which was one of the reasons we choose this hotel. It seemed safe to walk around but please be aware that everything is closed on Sundays and it therefore gets a bit quiet and you need to be a bit more careful where you go. We were told by a local to e.g. not walk down to the docks.

When we came back from our jungle trip on a Friday we checked in and didn’t have any problems until we got back from dinner. As soon as we got out of the lift we could hear incredibly loud music from a disco next door and in our room it was even louder. I know you can sometimes get a bit of noise but this was like being in the disco! And it seems like the higher up you are the worse it gets. The music continued until 2 am and it was so loud it was impossible to sleep (even with earplugs). The music will be slightly lower if you can get a room on the lower floors but you might then get some traffic noise from the road as the windows keeps absolutely no noise out.

I would recommend this hotel if you arrive with one of the flights in the middle of the night and are only staying that night or if you stay Sunday – Wednesday as I understand that the disco is only open late Thursday – Saturday (this could be wrong!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael D, Gerente at Hotel Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012
Google Translation

Prezada Sra, Muito obrigado por separar parte do sue tempo para escrever sobre sua experiência conosco. Buscamos conhecer nossos hóspedes para proporcionar experiências especiais e ficamos muito felizes que a senhora apreciou nosso atendimento e localização.

Sobre o problema ocorrido, este foi um fato pontual, e lamentamos por este inconveniente. Não há nas proximidades do hotel bares ou discotecas e em conversa com o Gerente do hotel o mesmo não estava ciente do ocorrido.

Continue contando conosco, compartilhando de ressalvas, sugestões, críticas ou elogios. Nosso maior interesse é atendemos nossos hóspedes e sempre buscarmos melhorias, superando todas as expectativas.

Agradecemos por sua recomendação aos demais viajantes!

Esperamos recebê-lo novamente aqui no Saint Paul, e continuarmos a satisfazê-lo com nosso caloroso atendimento e reconhecida hospitalidade.

Rafael Degelo
Gerente de Marketing
Manaus Hotéis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manaus hotels
Go Inn Manaus
#11 of 47 in Manaus
1,675 reviews
Intercity Manaus
#3 of 47 in Manaus
803 reviews
Novotel Manaus
#2 of 47 in Manaus
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus
#24 of 47 in Manaus
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul

Address: Avenida Ramos Ferreira 1115, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020-080, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range: $40 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint Paul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Paul Hotel is located 500 meters from the Teatro Amazonas, a leading postcards of Manaus. The rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, lounge, kitchen, balcony, telephone and minibar. As a guest of Saint Paul Apart Hotel enjoy spacious swimming pool, sauna and well-equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Manaus
Hotel Saint Paul Manaus, AM, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing