We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”
Review of Porto Bello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Bello Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Trebinje B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a lovely hotel, in a quiet location within the walls of the old town, just a few steps from numerous bars and restaurants, and the lively town square.The hotel itself is a lovely old building and the rooms are very well appointed and very clean. It also has free car parking in the narrow street outside. The food is excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.
Trebinje is not on the main tourist routes however it is only 25 miles from Dubrovnik airport and within easy reach of Mostar.Prices are also cheaper than in Croatia
Just a word of warning! We d ecided to fill our car up on the way out of town as petrol was
cheaper and we were well and truly ripped off.We were charged 70 Bosnian Marks(about £35)to half fill the car, a Skoda. There was no information on the receipt i.e how many litres, price per litre, and when asked the garage said that it wasn't possible to tell us!.The exact 70 made us suspicious but the language barrier made it difficult to argue. A couple of days later we filled up again, same amount, same advertised price per litre and it cost 43 Bosnian Marks so we were fiddled out of £12-£14. So be warned.....It's a red garage on the left hand side of the road on the way out of town towards Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: I would imagine that they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD's Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We didnt stay the night at this Hotel, but i wish we had! Location was amazing!!! And surrounded by the Old Town walls would have made it peaceful at night (Our Hotel was in the Centre and we didnt get one wink due to noise!).
But we ate Dinner here.... AND OMG! If i was sent to the Electric Chair tomorrow, this would be my last meal. It was HEAVEN! I had plain old Chevapis (Little Sausages made from Beef and Lamb, Bosnia is known for them!) and a Sopska Salad (Diced Cucumber, Tomato and Young Creamy Feta) and boy, ill tell you, hands down best ive eaten!
Ive eaten in 12 different countries (many in this area as well) and this food was to die for! The restaurant was clean, beautifully decorated with a little Courtyard and the service was wonderful!

We will defiantly be back again! And again, and again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomih3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Hotel Porto Bello in Trebinje is a revelation. Having travelled in the former Yugoslavia every year since 2000, I've come across a fair few hotels, apartments and B+Bs of varying price and quality, but this place was certainly the best value place I've ever come across in this part of the world. Situated inside the walls of the pretty old town, it's ideally situated for exploring this small but perfectly formed town in Eastern Herzegovina. For 50 Euros per night, we got a large, newly-refurbished room with three single beds, cable TV, air con and an immaculate en suite bathroom. The standard of the fixtures and fittings was very good and the level of comfort was excellent for the price.
The best part by far, however, was the downstairs restaurant. Decorated simply with traditional stone walls, it was a cool and comfortable place to dine, and we certainly dined in style over the two evenings that we stayed here. The quality of the food was, quite simply, outstanding. I have never had a better steak with pepper sauce (first night) and the Wiener Schnitzel (second night) was freshly prepared and melt-in-the-mouth perfect. The chips were made from, wait for it, actual fresh potatoes (!) and the salad was fresh and dressed to perfection. For two persons, including wine, the bill averaged 22 Euros for each of the two meals we had. An absolute bargain and my mouth is watering for that steak all over again.
Breakfast included a choice of freshly cooked ham and eggs or omelettes (no sorry-looking buffet - hooray) or the usual continental option with fluffy bread and wake-you-up strong espresso (none of the typical weak Balkan dishwater masquerading as tea/coffee here...)
The standard and friendliness of service were both exceptional and even when the language barrier posed minor problems with communication, the patience of the staff with us feeble non-Serbo-Croat speakers was heartening. For anybody travelling in this area on a budget, you won't find better than the Hotel Porto Bello in my opinion.

Location, Service, Food, Atmosphere - all superb for this price range.

Trebinje is a wonderful little town - crammed with history, beautifully well-kept and friendly with lovely bars and lively nightlife. (Be warned that you can hear music until late into the night wherever you are in the Old Town, but our windows provided enough sound insulation that it didn't cause too much disturbance.)

The ease of access to Dubrovnik, either by bus from the nearby bus station or by hire car, also means that staying here is a really viable alternative to the now sadly overpriced Croatia. (It took us 25 mins to get to the border crossing in our hire car where there was no queue and a further 25 mins on the other side to reach the airport - the city would have taken 10-15 mins less.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed in Trebinje for one night whilst touring Croatia, Montenegro and Bosnia. We came across the Portobello hotel and restaurant and decided to have a meal there. We ate outside at the back where there is a small courtyard. All the food was locally produced, free range and amazing value for money. The owner was absolutely charming and spoke good english. Whilst we didn't stay at the hotel (we had already checked into another hotel but would have definitely stayed at Portobello if we had known it existed), the rooms looked well appointed with modern bathrooms. The prices for the rooms are incredibly good value. Trebinje is not a tourist destination but well worh a visit and less then 20km from Dubrovnik. We spent a lovely evening in the town where there are numerous bars. If you're in the area pay it a visit for a cheap evening out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank generalandmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trebinje hotels
8.5 mi away
Hotel Platani
Hotel Platani
#2 of 6 in Trebinje
101 reviews
9.2 mi away
Guest House Minex
Guest House Minex
#5 of 11 in Trebinje
3 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Red Door Hostel
The Red Door Hostel
#1 of 16 in Trebinje
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#5 of 6 in Trebinje
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments For Friends
Apartments For Friends
#5 of 16 in Trebinje
3 reviews
8.1 mi away
Jazina Club
Jazina Club
#3 of 11 in Trebinje
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bello Hotel

Property: Porto Bello Hotel
Address: Stari grad bb, Trebinje 89101, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Republika Srpska > Trebinje
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trebinje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Bello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Porto Bello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing